We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If visting Waitomo with kids,dont miss this place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If visting Waitomo with kids,dont miss this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed in November in the self-contained chalet- couple with a 3-year old.Travelled from Taupo,stopped at Te Kuiti to get provisions for dinner,had booked a Spellbound Glowworm tour for 10 am the next day.The acomodation is a little run down,faded carpets,heating not sufficient other than in the bedroom,not enough space for putting the luggage,separate hot and cold water taps in bathroom-all in all,definitely not a fancy place.Then why the 4 stars?The setting is fantastic with great views and farmland all around.The bed was comfy and we had a great night's sleep,the kitchen was more than adequate and the fridge well-stocked (milk,bread and lots of spreads),breakfast was delivered to the cottage,the ostrich egg omelette was good (not unmissable though),the hostess was lovely and very friendly,but most of all,my son totally enjoyed the animals in the farm,the one place in the trip he still remembers,3 months on.The mini-pony ride,petting the ostrich Victoria,feeding the guinea pigs,sheep and pigs,seeing Llamas,alpacas,emus with babies etc etc.So,at the reasonable rates charged, it was more than ok for a 1-night stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kithu_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waitomobigbird, Manager at Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for your review. Nice to have you and your family stay. We are finding many families are making return visits - especially for the "memorable moments" the children enjoy with the animals - a unique experience unlike the normal farmparks.
Yes, the upgrade is organised, the painter is booked and the new carpet is here and will be laid in a couple of weeks.
We have recently installed new underfloor insulation and 2 oil heaters and 1 fan heater are supplied.
Cheers Ann & Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    31
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
46
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

More based on a coincidence I ended up at Big Bird B&B, while staying at the Waitomo caves. The place is nicely located some 8km from the caves in vast farmlands. The rooms, I had the chalet, are spacious and feature en suite facilities.
The breakfast was very nice with home made bread and, on request, ostrich omelette.
The B&B is currently refurbished, so it will have even more en suite facilities.
Anne the owner gave me a tour around the farm and showed me the Emus, Ostriches, Highlands, donkeys, cows etc. A really nice place to stay, especially for children as all animals are tame.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluec65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

In january 2012 during our north island round trip we stayed 3 nights at Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast. Our two children (9 and 6 years old) were delighted to stay there. Indeed the bed and breakfast is located in a farm where you can stay in different equiped bungalows. Our bungalow wasn't very clean. Everything in the accomodation was outdated. The wall to wall carpet was almost dirty and the shower and the toilet were not pleasant places. However the sheets were clean (wich is the most important thing). The owner and his wife are friendly but the lady tries to sell you her husband cave visit saying you that the other caves of the area don't worth it (which is absolutly wrong). The cave operated by her husband is interesting only for glow worms. The cave itself don't worth it but when you get out of it at the beginning of the night you can see thousands of glow worms in the vegetation around the 17 m steep stairs getting down the cave. It's like seeing the Milky way. I think this cave is very good only for glow warms and is better than "glow worms waitomo" wich is nothing else than a tourisy factory. The Big Bird Bed & Breakfast has got lot of farm animals such as ostriches, Kuni-Kuni (polynesian pigs), different types of cows, goats, guinea pigs, alpacas, emeus, dogs, etc. Children are very fascinated by animals. Moreover, every afternoon, the owner is happy to show her farm and animals to children and parents. The visit is free and very interesting. You can walk next to the ostriches and stroke irish cows. If necessary you can use the owner washing machine wich is located outside their house. But after you must hang out washing and NZ'S weather is made of frequent showers. One of the disadvantage of this place is that the accomodation is not far from the main road so that you can ear trucks driving in the night. But the noise is bearable and trucks are not so many and don't drive during all night.
If you want to see a beautiful cave with stalactites and stalagmites don't miss Aranui cave. Close to Aranui cave starts the beautiful free Ruakuri track (Ruakuri scenic reserve) where you can see classic limestone outcrops, caves, tunnels and beautiful native forests. It is also a place of strong cultural and spiritual significance to Maori. At night you may see glow worms and ear enchanted bird songs. If you want to see a show, go at Woodlyn Park to see the Billy Black Kiwi culture show. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tavanamanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinasmum, Owner at Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
We appreciate your comments and enjoyed having your family to stay.
In future, we will take more care when communicating to people, when English is the 2nd language, so as not to be misunderstood. Because of the hugely positive feedback, we do always recommend the night Footwhistle Glow-worm Cave tour. We are careful to give all other options and prices. Often families are budget conscious and we suggest only 1 glow-worm cave will satisfy most people (this is correct). The Aranui Cave has no glow-worms, but
has spectacular formations.
Upgrading the Accommodation was necessary and has been a priority this year. Bungalow now has new queen bed, new duvees and drapes. In Feb 2012 carpets were professionally
shampooed and cleaned. Other major renovation work is imminent now that we are in the off-season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Our stay at the Waitomo Big Bird Bed and Breakfast was wonderful! Two couples... we each had our own room. The next morning we enjoyed it when our host took us to visit the animals. The ostriches came across the back field to welcome us. We petted miniature horses, goats, pigs, alpacas and more.
An excellent B&B for young families... but we four adults enjoyed it too!

(We note another review from March 2012 comments on quality/cleanliness of this B&B. We can tell you from personal experience that we certainly would have noticed if this was an issue... and state firmly that it WAS NOT! The place was spic and span.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was one of the best b&bs we stayed in while in New Zealand, there were two units one sleeping four people and one sleeping up to eight. We were in the bigger unit it was clean and basic but had its own small kitchen with cooker and fridge. The animals on the farm were great and the kids loved them the owners had no problem with you going into the fields at any time to see them.
In the morning we had breakfast in the owners house which was good we had the choice of fruit cereal and toast we paid extra to have an ostrich omelette the owners husband had to drill the egg which he done in front of us all.
Over all this is a great place to stay and great value for money.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilbudgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our room in the farmstay was large and comfortable with a huge comfy bed! The decor is dated (like staying at your grandmas) but it adds to its charm of the place. We took the farm tour with the lovely Ann who is clearly dedicated to her animals each of which we introduced to, the most memorable being Caroline the ostrich, who was intent on being very involved in the tour - a true personality. The rest of our family stayed in the two bedroom self contained bungalow which was basic but comfortable, the bedding and towels were lovely & clean though the room itself could have done with a bit more attention. It was certainly the most fun place we've stayed on our trip!

Room Tip: The self contained bungalow is a good option for families, if you're a couple go with the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We chose this accommodation because we didn't want to pay a fortune. The older kids thought the bungalow was great and was just as good as some more expensive places we had stayed in. It had everything we needed (we don't really need a good TV on holiday). The beds were really comfy. As others have said, it isn't luxury accommodation, it's a working farm where the owners clearly love what they do. They are very busy with everything they have to do but don't hesitate to make their guests feel welcome and like nothing is too much effort. We woke late after a bit of a hell night with an injured 2 year old but didn't get kicked out at 10am like most other places. Breakfast was brought to us just after 10 as we didn't open our curtains till then! We were offered a farm tour and didn't end up leaving until after 12. (which probably put Ann and Ross out of time for everything else they had to do) Our two year old forgot all about his injuries on the tour and loved all the animals.
If you're on a budget and want a comfortable place to stay then this is great. If you want luxury then find somewhere else (and pay for it).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
4.5 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.5 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.8 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.3 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 Waitomo Caves Road | Rd 7, Otorohanga 3977, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Big Bird B&B & Petting Farm is an "Animal-Lovers Paradise" with over 50 pettable animals of 13 varieties. Our theme is Large Birds & Miniature animals and we have a fibreglass Giant 4.3mtr extinct Moa Mascot and "Charlie" the tiny Miniature Bull who will likely be the "World's Smallest Bull in Sept 17 when he is 2yrs old. We have self-contained cottages and Farmstay rooms in the homestead and welcome all size groups. Prices are $55 per adult, $25 child (5-12yrs), $20 (1-4yrs) and $30 teens. (Mini-horse rides for under 30kg) Self-contained $10 extra. Bungalow (sleeps 6) Chalet (3) Studio (3) Cabin (3-4) Homestead (Queen/ensuite + single) (Family queen + 2 singles) Twin 2 singles. Prices include: Continental breakfast, Free Ostrich/Emu & Miniature animal tour, FREE WIFI. Parking. We welcome guests to a working farm/home environment with a family atmosphere. Latest pics Facebook or website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing