We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing country setting, beautiful views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing country setting, beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed in the Chalet with my adult son for two nights. It was the perfect setting to recover from jet lag. Anne & Ross were very welcoming. Anne recommended dining places in every price range and numerous activities. The farm tour was a delight. It was quite an experience to see ostrich & emu up close. Breakfast was delivered at a time that was convenient for us. We also enjoyed meeting the other family that was staying at the B & B.

Room Tip: One-of-a-kind experience for children. The animals were tame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamajujubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    31
    11
    3
    10
See reviews for
46
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a fantastic family stay at Big Bird. Anne looked after us superbly with plenty of breakfast and an ostrich omelette!! The farm tour was so interesting, getting up close with all the animals - have you ever seen what's underneath an ostrich wing? Remember to take your gumboots.
We stayed in the bungalow, heaps of room for us 5 plus a couple more kids if you have a big family. Room was not flash but very comfortable - that's exactly what we were after. The rates are very reasonable for what you get.
We even picked up an empty ostrich egg to take home, a great souvenir for the kids to remember their stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Was a great place to stay for a couple of nights with kids while visiting Waitomo as we were or I imagine for a night while calling through. Anne was great with the kids and all the tame and miniature animals wonderful. My son loved riding the miniature horse and both kids loved Pip the dog. I liked the tame ostrich. We stayed in self contained bungalow which was clean and tidy. Not flash but all you need was there. Anne cooked us a lovely breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend it for an escape from city. The caves were great too and just down road. Only not so great thing was close to main road so not quite as tranquil as you might except for country break but more than made up for by other elements and well placed near caves and Otrahonga town. Also recommend the cafe/bar on the corner in town for great meal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWHITTENHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The animal tour is great for kids - they can feed austriches, bulls, donkeys and many more animals. There is also a very friendly dog. It's close to the caves. The owners are friendly and talkative.

The family room is small and very dated, and you hear the traffic noise from the nearby main street (plus from the other rooms). Breakfast is average.

Overall: good fun outside for the kids, but accomodation is not great value, especially compared to other BB's we had in NZ. The separate cabins looked newer/nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I love this place -- it has such a nicer vibe than staying in a hotel. The hostess Ann was really friendly, and we had a wonderful time touring the farm with the ostriches and different miniature animals. We stayed in a room in the main house, and I really appreciated the use of the kitchen to make dinner. Breakfast was yummy and family-style -- the ostrich omelette didn't taste much different than a regular omlette but it was nicely prepared and yummy; I recommend trying it. I definitely look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleymonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for one night to visit the waitomo caves on the drive down to Wellington. Having read the previous reviews we were looking forward to staying in this b&b but unfortunately it didn't live up to our expectations. We booked into the "budget option" room for $75 per night (breakfast extra $5) which was basically a small spare room the owners have in their house. It had 3 single beds but barely any space to move around or store luggage. It was also very out dated and cluttered. On the plus side our private bathroom was very clean. The hosts were very friendly and talkative, and the location is a 5-10 min drive to the caves. The added tour around the farm was also a fun and different experience. Overall, I would recommend not staying in the budget option, but perhaps exploring the separate units which might be nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a lovely time at Big Bird! We stayed two nights and our 2yr old son loved being able to see the animals any time! He became instant friends with the family dog Pipi! The family are lovely and provide plenty of great recommendations about tours and restraunts etc. They also do a lovely continental breakfast!
The animals are great and there are so many varieties!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
4.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Farmstay
Waitomo Farmstay
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
5.5 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
0.2 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 Waitomo Caves Road | Rd 7, Otorohanga 3977, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Big Bird B&B & Petting Farm is an "Animal-Lovers Paradise" with over 50 pettable animals of 13 varieties. Our theme is Large Birds & Miniature animals and we have a fibreglass Giant 4.3mtr extinct Moa Mascot and "Charlie" the tiny Miniature Bull who will likely be the "World's Smallest Bull in Sept 17 when he is 2yrs old. We have self-contained cottages and Farmstay rooms in the homestead and welcome all size groups. Prices are $55 per adult, $25 child (5-12yrs), $20 (1-4yrs) and $30 teens. (Mini-horse rides for under 30kg) Self-contained $10 extra. Bungalow (sleeps 6) Chalet (3) Studio (3) Cabin (3-4) Homestead (Queen/ensuite + single) (Family queen + 2 singles) Twin 2 singles. Prices include: Continental breakfast, Free Ostrich/Emu & Miniature animal tour, FREE WIFI. Parking. We welcome guests to a working farm/home environment with a family atmosphere. Latest pics Facebook or website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing