We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So delightfully charming we didn't want to leave!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otorohanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Otorohanga B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“So delightfully charming we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

From the moment we arrived Ann and Ross were so welcoming, my 8 year old daughter was in heaven playing with the sweetest kittens, meeting all the farm animals and having an interactive guided tour. The accommodation is cosy and homely, a true farm experience. In the morning my daughter didn't even want to leave and go to the caves. We are defiantly going to come back again and again. If you are looking for absolute enjoyment for your kids, some relaxing time out for yourself, or a great rural kiwi experience this is your place, the hosts will go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and well looked after. The only problem was that we only stayed one night.... 3 would have been wonderful!

Room Tip: We had booked to be in a chalet, but were able to change to being in the house, it was nice and warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkizr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    31
    12
    3
    11
See reviews for
47
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the reviews and pictures we were looking forward to staying at Big Bird, on arrival our room was not ready. Hosts were very friendly, but the accommodation was AWFUL, everything was dirty, didn't even want to get into the dirty bed, such a disappointment as we don't get away often. Definitely do NOT recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodiekimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waitomobigbird, Owner at Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Accommodation Missmatch! Normally, the room would be available at mid-day, but due to a weeks stormy, wet, damp & cold weather and the full house for the Easter period; plus extra families enjoying the Petting Farm - 2pm was reasonable.
We can assure you every room has clean linen, fresh towels and duvees, carpet & drapes are cleaned regularly. Both the people who stayed before and after left super-positive comments in the guest book. In fact, the other people staying on the same day enthusiastically enjoyed the farm and animals and 2 days in a row, families came back after checkout in the afternoon for more animal time saying "What a great place - We'll be back!" Planned upgrades will add value to accommodation beginning next week with painting & new carpet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a charming place. Sincerely wish that we could have stayed much longer. We only stayed one night but it seemed like longer because we were so relaxed.
Our children were so happy here. My little girl cried when we had to leave. She spent her whole time following Anne around, helping her feed all the animals. All the animals on the farm are completely charming but Pippy the dog was exceptional, she looked after our children better than we did.

This is a wonderful place to stay, we rented the bungalow which had plenty of room and was clean and we'll appointed. Anne and Ross were so lovely and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. They arranged activities and recommended lovely places to eat.

Anne's homemade breakfast was delicious, the ostrich omelette wasn't available because it's the wrong time of year for the birds to lay but Anne's homemade bread made up for it.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough, it is not 5 star accommodation, it is a charming, working farm where you are treated like one of the family.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmc2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I am sorry but I can not recommend this accommodation. The hygiene standards are below average. They rent out every single room available, which means shared facilities are not that clean nor available at all times! but these are not my main criticism!!!
Being a Kiwi, we are used to being honest. They advertise "ostrich omelette" as a breakfast option on their website. Having never tried that, we were really looking forward to give it a try. During our pre-stay correspondence with the owner, I mentioned at least 3 times that we would want to have ostrich omelette breakfast and if it is possible. every time she confirmed that we will have it. When we got there she easily mentioned that her birds have not laid eggs in a long time!!!!!! I was so frustrated with her dishonesty!!!!! Please do not trust these guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waitomobigbird, Owner at Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Sorry Ehsan the last Ostrich Egg in the fridge would have normally been good for 3-4 weeks, however when drilled was just past it's best before date. The Omelette was intended, no deception present, but I failed to communicate the circumstances as the morning was humming with a full house and your "deal-breaker" overlooked! Yes, when busy, the backpacker room is offered for those who don't mind a cheaper option, which means the kitchen/dining rooms are available to the 3 homestead rooms, accommodating as many needs as possible in a "family environment"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We, a couple from Denmark, had a wonderful stay with Ann and Ross in Feb 2014. Ann showed us the entire farm with a lot of interesting animals and then Ross took us on an exciting hike. Afterwards we had a lovely dinner. At 9 pm Ross had a surprise for us. He took us into some great "Glow worms" caves - great experience. We had a lovely room and got a nice breakfast. Thanks to Ann and Ross for a nice and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArneClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

If you are on route to the caves with children this is the B&B for you. Ann , your host will go out of her way to introduce you to her family of animals. If you have a young family then I would recommend the Big Bird motel although it should be quoted as a farm stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenzoCGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our waitomo adventure and was totally worthwile. Ann and ross are wonderful hosts and can give great advices on what to do. Its a farmstay so keep that in mind. If you dont book an outside cabin you will be staying at their house(great experience) the rooms are cozy and warm and with your own bathroom. The animals are fantastic, ostriches, lamas, pigs, emus, cats, dogs, sheeps, goats, donkeys and more!! For us it was amazing, and the price with breakfast included is great for nz prices. We recommend it and would definitly return if we can.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NeoAngelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
3.2 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
237 reviews
4.0 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waitomo Farmstay
Waitomo Farmstay
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
508 reviews
3.7 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Redwood Lodge
Redwood Lodge
#2 of 4 in Otorohanga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waitomo Big Bird Bed & Breakfast
Address: 17 Waitomo Caves Road | Rd 7, Otorohanga 3977, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otorohanga
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo Big Bird B&B & Petting Farm is an "Animal-Lovers Paradise" with over 50 pettable animals of 13 varieties. Our theme is Large Birds & Miniature animals and we have a fibreglass Giant 4.3mtr extinct Moa Mascot and "Charlie" the tiny Miniature Bull who will likely be the "World's Smallest Bull in Sept 17 when he is 2yrs old. We have self-contained cottages and Farmstay rooms in the homestead and welcome all size groups. Prices are $55 per adult, $25 child (5-12yrs), $20 (1-4yrs) and $30 teens. (Mini-horse rides for under 30kg) Self-contained $10 extra. Bungalow (sleeps 6) Chalet (3) Studio (3) Cabin (3-4) Homestead (Queen/ensuite + single) (Family queen + 2 singles) Twin 2 singles. Prices include: Continental breakfast, Free Ostrich/Emu & Miniature animal tour, FREE WIFI. Parking. We welcome guests to a working farm/home environment with a family atmosphere. Latest pics Facebook or website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing