We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crossing Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cesena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,205 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,073 helpful votes
“good place”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

this "hostel" is located not far from the entry oint of the tongariro crossing. huge rooms, clean bathrooms, good kitchen to prepare soemthing before and after the crossing (if u still have the power). very recomended

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    25
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
24
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I've probably been blessed with having stayed in great backpackers, this was not one of them. The service was okay, internet was $5 for 50MB which is steep but we discovered common for the area. We were charged for linen and then had to make the beds ourselves in a room that contained just one socket. The shared room's layout suggest it was twin beds but was infact a squeeky bunk.

The wooden interior was very cool and warming. This was going to be my favourite thing in the hostel until we ventured into the impressive games room. It took a good while to work out how to use the tv but we got there. Whilst watching a couple went into a cupboard and disappeared narnia style. Turns out there's a hidden cinema in there, very cool!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpinston Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

A great lodge surrounded by real New Zealand nature with no fakeness or outrageous prices, just good people in a real and friendly environment. It's no Hilton but the people and the company are nothing but 100% real New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed for one night january 2012 - the calender doesn't go back that far and wanted to do this then! Anyway, We found the place easy to find and were warmly greeted by Bryan when we arrived who promptly took us outside for some paintball. We found the seclution of the place to be wonderful and really added to the whole experience of staying out in the National park. The layout is such that all rooms / areas are joined together and exploration of where everything is is fun. The games room is awesome and the secret cinema is a quirkly aspect of this place. The rooms are basic but comfortable - but you don't spend much time in there anyway. We were picked up early in the morning for the Tongarairo Crossing walk and this service was reliable. Would recommend this place to anyone wanting an 'off the beaten track' experience and doesn't mind semi- roughing it a bit. It is warm, fun and has a very social relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmCooper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We only stayed for two nights but had an awesome time here and would stay again in the future.

The games room was our favourite part stocked with all sorts to keep us entertained. It was a great social environment and the hidden cinema was awesome. Plenty of cozy couches around the fire that was continually roaring to keep us nice and toasty. Plenty of bathroom facilities. The hot tub was a nice touch. Huge ktichen with plenty of dining space. Our room was great, no noise at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becca898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We spent three weeks in New Zealand and this was by far one of the best hostels we’ve stayed in. Why?
The unique structure of the hostel!
The facilities available: The tv and games room, secret cinema, hot tub, kitchen, outdoor grounds.
Location: So close to the Tongariro Crossing – with reliable pick up services!
Value for Money: Stayed two nights in a dorm with transport to and from the Tongariro Crossing for under NZ$70 each.
Hospitality: Bryan was just a legend, having a chat with my boyfriend and I in the evening and the mornings of our stay – made us feel really at home!
A big thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dingledangle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Bryan thanks for a great time - what a legend. The crossing is fantastic place to stay. We stayed here for two nights when we came to do the Tongariro crossing and we just loved the place from the extensive tv, games and pool room to the secret cinema! We had a really comfortable sleep on both nights and made good use of the kitchen which was always clean and had everything we needed. We would recommend the Crossing to anyone!!!

Bryan you are CLASS. Good luck with the Lonley Planet, the Crossing should be on for sure!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph30000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
7.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,587 reviews
8.1 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
12.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
261 reviews
3.8 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
504 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tongariro Holiday Park
Tongariro Holiday Park
#7 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossing Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossing Backpackers

Property: The Crossing Backpackers
Address: Erua Road East, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Tongariro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crossing Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have quality budget accommodation with a variety of room types to suit family, friends and individuals alike. We offer free bus or train pick up from National Park Village. We also have a spacious TV lounge, pool table, a DVD room, dining & outdoor areas, fully equipped kitchen facilities with free tea and coffee, Wi-Fi guest internet, laundry facilities and a spa pool. Great rates and summer package deals for accommodation and Tongariro crossing transport are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Crossing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing