We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good package”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went there with a reasonably priced package that included two nights, the drive to the beginning and from the end of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, a lunch pack and the evening meal on the day of the crossing, & the breakfasts. Everything was smoothly organized, with good explanations and advice from the manager, who is nice (and handed us a useful extra backpack for the crossing!). All the meals were good. The fireplace in the main room is pleasant. The rooms are very simple but practical, and the shared bathroom and toilets very clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNDALLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thank you 905lynb, we have been running the Tongariro Freedom Package for over 12 years and with the feedback we get from our guests we feel we have every thing covered to enjoy your hike on the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. We are a small family and enjoy meeting people for all over the world who come to enjoy our National Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    155
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
72
283
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Adventure Lodge & Motel and had a good experience overall.

The lady at the reception was to the point, but very helpful in confirming our tour with the Adrift Outdoor Guided Adventures company and relaying other information to us. She generously helped us out of a pinch with our laundry and things turned pretty hilarious before we left due to an unexpected photo shoot with a Gollum bust from the office! Needless to say, the place had a great atmosphere.

The car could be parked right in front of our room, which was very handy. The room itself was spacious and clean. The interior seemed slightly worn and outdated, but the bed was very comfortable. The only downside to the room were the thin walls - we could listen almost word for word to a couple next door.. watching The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King! As fans, we never mind hearing that, but it did postpone an early sleep. In the mornings, we enjoyed tasty, large breakfasts.

Long story short: great value for a decent price at a terrific location, right in the center of National Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraDCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were staying with our son and initially planned to stay and do the whole Freedom package, but the weather was looking doubtful for our planned days, so we decided to take a risk and do it in a day as the weather was looking fantastic the following day (about a 3 hr drive from sons place). Booked our shuttle service though Adventure Lodge and since we would be getting up at 3am and driving so far, decided to also organise lunch through them. This was the best decision, the lunch was fabulous and kept us going the entire day. Don't think a sandwich has ever tasted so good! The chocolate bar was a nice little kick that I saved for the downhill! Transport was efficient and on time. Even though we didn't get to stay, loved the look of the place (we did use the toilet facilities and they were spotless, the common area with fire looked inviting), would definitely stay here if we come back and do it again. Emails from Lorraine were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Adventure Lodge. We did the Tongariro Freedom Package, which is a great deal if you're planning to do the crossing. The rooms are clean and the food is delicious and plentiful! The manager, Jason, was extremely helpful and took great care of us. We lucked out and had a beautiful day to complete the crossing, then returned to the Adventure Lodge for a steak dinner and soak in the spa--it was perfect! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here in April, the weather on the crossing was slightly dodgy, but I found it great fun all the same.I was really impressed with what a great value 2 day package it was, our rooms were immaculate, the food excellent,Jason the manager couldn't have been nicer. It was also my first motel with plunger coffee provided in the rooms but maybe I've led a sheltered life...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelmary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Adventure Lodge is a laid back hotel in a little village. Upon check in, we were explained the walk we were going to do the next day in some detail which was very useful. We were also provided local info such as supermarket and restaurants. The room was big enough to spread out, comfy and well equipped. On the first evening, we walked to the Station Cafe for dinner, which we'd recommend. The next morning, our breakfast was plentiful, and we had a packed lunch for the Tongariro Crossing. We were driven to the starting point, and picked up hours later at the finish. The dinner in the evening was very delicious and enjoyable. All in all, we enjoyed our two nights here and would recommend it, especially if doing the walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobella_D_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We unfortunately got to a late start for the crossing due to bad weather around when the cyclone was coming through. We decided to do the hike anyways (even though we were starting around 11am) and we checked our bags at the motel.

We hiked to the red crater and that's when the weather got crappy at the top. We couldn't see anything anymore after a while and everyone that was coming from the other direction said you couldn't even see the emerald pools or anything, so we decided that we'd end our hike there and turn back. :(

Overall we hiked about 6 hours and thought it was still worth it even if we couldn't get to the pools.

**Ps. The weather on the bottom/beginning of the hike is TOTALLY different then the weather on the top. So be prepared! We were sweating at the bottom and then at the top, freezing!

The actual room was very nice. Reminded me of a nice cabin. Plenty of space. Decent bathroom. The breakfast that was included was good. Full hot breakfast. The owners son (who is now taking over) was extremely nice and even helped with making the breakfast. No complaints. We were tired from the hike, so this is just what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
8.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge & Motel

Property: Adventure Lodge & Motel
Address: 21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tongariro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Lodge & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Gillian and John welcome you to their lodge and motel in National Park Village. We cater for families, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds or Twin share, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, electric blankets, Sky TV in lodge and all units, drying room, Internet and wireless access available, large open fire, Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adventure Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Lodge And Motel
Adventure Hotel Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing