We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5/5!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Gardabaer, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alex L
1 review
“5/5!!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This very stylish, modern apartment is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The number 1 bus service into Reykjavík is only a 10 minute walk away, this also stops at BSI bus terminal which is the main hub of Reykjavík excursions making this an ideal location for exploring Iceland.

The apartment itself is surrounded by lava fields with views of the mountains very picturesque!! We thought the hot tub was a great addition after a long day exploring it was very relaxing!

Hilde and Axel were very accommodating and knowledgeable, making us feel welcome and at ease, genuinely lovely people!

This apartment really is a hidden gem we will defonetly be returning!

Thanks again for all your hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2018
Thank you :) Nice to get to know you and a pleasure having you :) Always welcome back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Thursday to Monday break”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My 4th visit to this excellent apartment although my son and his partner had their first visit to Iceland and with the apartment I very close to pubs, restaurants so I never saw too much of them ( mainly in the hot tub ) or had to worry about them. I cannot recommend this apartment or Hilde and Axel with their knowledge of Iceland highly enough. I found myself and Isarr ( Hilde and Axel's son ) on the same wavelength :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Hehe :) Great having you with us again John :) Hope your son dont miss the hot tub too much, if so...please hurry back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany M
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book it!”
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had the trip of a lifetime, and staying here made it so much more!! Everything you need is there, and the hot tub is amazing! Before we left for Iceland, any question, no matter how trivial, the owners answered graciously...kind of like having our own personal travel guide. Perfectly located!! Saw the lights right over the apartment

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Thank you Bethany! It was a real pleasure having you, always welcome back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego P
1 review
“The perfect experience”
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A wonderful apartment near the center or Reykjavik with everything at hand. The house was perfect and we (me and 6 friends) really had no issues at all. Hilde and Axel had been really kind, helping us with every sort of thing particularly with the travel planning and other stuff (like a crack in the windshield of our car, thank you again!).

10/10 recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you for staying with us Diego :) Really nice having you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelinA...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic base camp to explore Iceland from!”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a wonderful location just outside of Reykjavik, This stylish two bedroom walk out is nicely furnished right down to the appliances. Comfortable beds and seating in the living room along with a great entertainment system and selection of in house movies for the enjoyment of the time zone challenged travelers. Hilde and Axel knew we were arriving after midnight, as so many flights into and out of Iceland do and pre stocked the fridge with enough food to hold us over until the next morning. At which time we were able to walk the two hundred meters to the local grocery store. There are a number of bus stops equally close by if you are using public transportation. After a long day of exploring we came home to a hot tub filed with geothermal water right from the hose. The home is nestled at the end of a quiet street with easy access to the Hwy 1 loop around the island or a quick jaunt into the city for dinner. There are lots of restaurants nearby and only five minutes to the waterfront. The owners allowed us to borrow a cooler for our long day trips. The few minutes of down time we had were punctuated by interaction with the pet raven and kitty cats roaming about.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Dear David, it was a real pleasure having you stay with us :) Always welcome back :)....the raven sends his regards ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey E
1 review
“Excellent location in Iceland”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location to use for day trips to explore Iceland. Hilde and Axel went above and beyond and helped us with all of our needs. Would highly recommend staying at this VRBO.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you Stacey! Great having you staying with us, we really enjoyed having you, always welcome back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica I
1 review
“Recommended!”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had an amazing trip to Iceland. The apartment was a little cramped once we added our luggage but the hosts were top notch which made the trip wonderful. Thanks Hilde and Axel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you Erica, it was great having you :) We are thinking of removing the gym for our next guests, i think that will resolve the space issue, thank you for your feed back, you are always welcome back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing