We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodations, friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Five Towns Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Five Towns Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Basic accommodations, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Five Towns offers clean, basic accommodations and friendly service close to JFK. There is always something available as a snack, but breakfast is limited to cereal, bagels, and pastry. There are several fast food outlets adjacent and better, sit-down restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room away from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerobubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    41
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
29
17
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here during a class reunion. The place was really clean and and comfortable except for the plastic sheet in the mattress cover which is easily moved aside. Coffee and pastries available 24 hrs and real bagels in the morning for breakfast. The staff was welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe01983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
333 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I ended up here for one night after my flight was cancelled and the airline arranged a voucher for this hotel. After letting them know I was at the airport and needed to head their way, their van came by after a half hour or so to pick me and some other stranded folks up. It was a quick ride to the hotel, which is on a busy road in area with a few restaurants. There's a Burger King right next door, too.

The hotel is no-frills, but it had the basics - a clean shower, clean bed, etc. I didn't sleep well here, but I'm not sure if it was the bed or just my nerves being wrecked from the airport stress. A few things were not up to par - for example, my door's peephole had a cigarette stuffed into it, so you couldn't look through. And I heard several people on my hall mention that their door locks didn't work. My room was very humid, as well, though the AC kept it cool.

However, everyone on the staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. There was a little breakfast bar with some cereal and juice - enough to get you started in the morning. And the van service to and from the airport was efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is clean, the beds are quite comfortable, the staff is friendly and efficient. It's not fancy or luxurious, but certainly adequate. The breakfast is minimal: cereal, patry, bagels, coffee. We noticed several airline crews among the guests

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehr1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Had read some negative reviews and already formed my own opinion on this property before stepping foot inside. Well, I do have to say I formed the wrong opinion. This is a nice property and I would definitely stay here again. It is a no frills place. The desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. They didnt put on a fake personality like a lot of properties do. They even assisted in getting my special size vehicle parked in a safe place. It appears that several airline crews stay here as well. I was in the airline business and I know when it comes to choosing hotels for their crews, airlines wont choose a crappy hotel.

The room was excellent for me. It seemed everything was new. The bed was comfy, the shower was nice, TV was perfect for me. And there are several eating choices around the hotel. And they also have a shuttle.

Luckily for me, my company picked up the tab. The only downfall I see is the price of this hotel. A little overpriced, but I guess that is expected for an airport property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Thanks for all the love and support you gave my sister zina and her 2 little kids (from sweden), the five towns inn staff especially TERRI were the kindest most compassionate people I ever came across! ,, my sister want me to tell you this since her English is not that good"the staff of five towns inn especially TERRI really show me and proof to me " American people are the BEST", her daughter Valentina is in good health now she is back home in Sweden and we zina, dani, Valentina want to say "God bless America"
Thanks five towns inn staff and Terri!!!
Best wishes
Dina rich (zina's sister)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Recent improvements did not include better mattresses, or better towels, furniture, etc., in the rooms. The mattresses they offer are extremely poor quality and the towels are small and barely absorbent enough to dry you off. For the price they charge, the rooms should not be an issue. The improvements were esthetics only and not comfort.

The location is questionable and noisy. Safety is an issue if you venture out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street. Don't walk alone at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, Manager at The Five Towns Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
VMO9 - I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We appreciate feedback both good and bad as it helps us improve our operation. I do wish your review would have been a little more objective: The way your review is written it sounds like we renovated the entire hotel but saved the old mattresses. It would been more appropriate to write that you, as a matter of personal preference, found the mattress uncomfortable rather than it was extremely poor quality. The mattresses are manufactured by Sealy, are high quality, and less than a year old. Some guests prefer a firm mattress - other soft - we try to find a middle ground.
From a safety standpoint the hotel's location is far superior to anything in the immediate proximity of JFK Airport where you literally cannot leave the hotel. We are located in Long Island - not Queens - in walking distance of stores and restaurants. Plus our van drivers are always willing to transport our guest to the many shops and restaurants near the hotel day or night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lawrence hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area
3.8 mi away
Courtyard New York Jfk Airport
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN JFK Airport Hotel
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Towns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Towns Inn

Property: The Five Towns Inn
Address: 655 Rockaway Tpke, Lawrence, NY 11559-1029 (Formerly Five Towns Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Five Towns Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Towns Motor Inn is located in Lawrence, New York, on Long Island's south shore. Despite its suburban location the hotel is less ten minutes away from John F. Kennedy Airport (2.5M) and a half hour away from LaGuardia Airport (10M) The town of Lawrence boasts numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is also surrounded by many points of interest, including recreational parks, shopping malls, movie theaters, entertainment venues, and beautiful beaches. The Lawrence train station is a safe and convenient way to experience all that nearby Manhattan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Five Towns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Five Towns Hotel Lawrence
The 5 Towns Inn
Five Towns Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing