We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for one night on Friday (13/06/2014). We stayed in the Maple room and it was amazing. It's easy to see why this is rated number one B&B in Derbyshire. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel very welcome. Dan is a top bloke and has thought of everything in the immaculately presented rooms.
Breakfast was great and the value is obvious. My wife and I have stayed in many B&B's over the last 20 years and this was by far the best. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Owner at Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks so much Jason. Great to have you to stay and look forward to your next visit. Cheers for the review. Take care. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
104
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a great find!

A tranquil haven tucked away in the rolling Derbyshire country-side, yet handy for both Derby and Nottingham. You arrive through the lodge’s own hay meadows to greeted by Dan and two equally friendly dogs.

First impressions are borne out by the experience. The lodge was once farm buildings with four stylish guest rooms in converted stables which look onto a landscaped seating area; on the other side of the house is an attractive informal garden with two ponds.

The room was spotless with a very comfortable king-sized bed. The bathroom comes with exotic toiletries; the deep bath (shower with two heads over) is luxurious but perhaps less suitable for anyone who is not agile.

A kitchenette includes a very useful microwave if you don’t fancy the pub in the village (a pleasant 15 to 20 minutes’ walk away along a lane through the fields). Ground coffee, various teas, fresh milk and cakes are provided in the room on arrival.

You could make your own breakfast too, but you would miss out on treats such as fresh fruit salad and blueberry pancakes.

Hayeswood Lodge so well established that it’s hard to believe that this is only Dan and Katie’s second season. They will surely go from strength to strength. A minor observation is that, unless you leave the door open, the only ventilation comes from a small window in the bedroom and a skylight in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Owner at Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for that lovely review. Really happy that you noticed all the detail that we've spent time creating. We really enjoyed your company and found your industry knowledge extremely useful. Thanks for sharing. You'll be pleased to know that we have now swapped to our summer weight duvets. Sorry it wasn't in time for the hot and humid w/e you visited. Hope to see you again. Kind regards. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

At the end of the drive between buttercup fields, you arrive in a remote, idyllic spot to Dan and Katie's easy welcome. You could not ask for more - the immaculate room with a very good bed, the chance of a real bath with bubbles, a kitchenette with all the equipment you could need, breakfast in a pleasant room in the main house, when the best fruit salad ever is served (along with everything else, you understand), a garden rich in plants and pools to wander in, and the delightful attention of your hosts. Hayeswood Lodge proved to be the perfect base from which to explore the whole of Derbyshire - up to the High Peak and the Snake Pass, along the Derwent to great houses and mills, and west across to Dove Dale and the border with Staffordshire. A place to return to, often ! Thank you, Katie and Dan. Christabel and Francis

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Owner at Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much Christabel & Francis. It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay and we're so glad that you took some time to enjoy Derbyshire's finest offerings. We're particularly pleased that you managed to spend so much time in the garden (weeding). The perfect guests you might say!! Take care. Dan & Katie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have never stayed in the rooms. However, myself and my co-directors have had our last 6 board meetings at Hayeswood Lodge. The environment is great for creativity and Dan and Katie provide excellent food and refreshments. We have already booked out 7th board meeting because the location has a positive impact on our bottom line.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Owner at Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks very much for the review Mart. So glad Hayeswood Lodge provides a positive, creative & tranquil environment for you and your colleagues. We enjoy having you here. See you soon. Thanks. Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I'll keep it short and sweet. I wish we had had another night here at Hayeswood Lodge. We were in the area for a short break and decided to go a night early as I had come across this beautiful B & B. We are SO pleased we did as it was such a fantastic start to our trip. The room was amazing and you really have everything you need. We decided to head to a shop, buy lots of food and eat it back there that evening, as the kitchenette meant we had everything we needed, plates, cutlery, toaster, you name it.

The welcome arrival of Mimi and Moose the dogs was fab and you really feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, the fresh lemon muffins were such a lovely touch too not to mention delicious! We were very impressed and feel like if we are ever in the area in the future we will make sure to come and stay as we enjoyed ourselves so much. Highly recommended!

Breakfast was fab. No complaints here. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Owner at Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We're delighted that everything hit the mark for you. Lovely to host you and I hope the rest of your break was a success. Thanks so much for your review. It's helped us reach the top spot in Derbyshire!! Take care. Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful weekend stay for my Husbands 40th Birthday. I had balloons delivered which Dan put in our room for our arrival, nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful location only 20 minutes from Derby yet could be miles from anywhere, so quiet except for the morning chorus. The kitchenette idea is inspired (no more guilty takeaways in your car!) Planning our next visit as I type...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Owner at Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We were flattered that you chose to stay with us for this special occasion. Lovely for us to be involved. Your review is much appreciated. Thanks. See you next time. Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a lovely place to spend a few days, My son and I stayed here earlier in April 14 and really enjoyed our stay. It was very welcoming and the service was excellent. The room was spotless and breakfast was so good. We would loved to have stayed longer. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen28r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, Owner at Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks so much for the review Jen. Most generous. I hope your day was successful and that we'll see you both again sometime. Kind regards. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley Common
0.7 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
1.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.4 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
12.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hayeswood Lodge Common Lane, Stanley Common, Ilkeston DE7 6GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ilkeston > Stanley Common
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hayeswood Lodge Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing