We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Caravan in convenient, beautiful and peaceful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glen-River Caravan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castlebay, Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
randv596
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Caravan in convenient, beautiful and peaceful position”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely caravan with all facilities which is very convenient for the ferry. Catherine very welcoming and helpful. We walked to the top of Heaval from the van without moving the car. Highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali_D_Lak...
Lake District. UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow! THE Place to Stay in Barra”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My friend and I have just returned from staying six night's in this wonderful caravan in 'Beautiful Barra'. What a fabulous location, at the top of the Glen road, just on the outskirts of Castlebay. The caravan was extremely well equipped, and very spacious and comfortable. It was absolutely spotless. There was a lovely decked seating area outside the caravan, and a shed for outdoor gear, bikes etc. Catherine and Iain, the owners, who live next door, were so very welcoming. Lovely people, who were there for you, if needed, but were not imposing. Fabulous couple. The caravan is at the foot of Mount Heuval, in a great location, surrounded by wildlife, with great views down towards the beaches of the island of Vatersay. What a lovely time we had staying here, and exploring the beautiful island of Barra.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
j0hnswan
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Caravan and Location”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The caravan was spotless and well prepared and possessed all the necessary utensils and appliances. Fantastic location with great view and location and wonderfully quiet and peaceful.

Great parking lovely decking area and will be brilliant to sit out in good weather.

The owners were very thoughtful and helpful and at the same time gave you space to enjoy your holiday.

Great caravan and location on a wonderful island would recommend to anyone looking to holiday in Barra.

John Swan
Larbert

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2018
Thank you so much John for a great review.
Regards
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v18mck
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect, it has it all.”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had only booked for a few nights but we will be back. The location is ideal, it's a small walk to town, it's so peaceful and easy to find. The decking/ outdoor area was great. We had a few drinks outside in the sunshine, in the peace and quiet watching the wildlife. The caravan itself had everything you could need, all the basics/toilet roll, towels etc. The kitchen is really well equipped with every utensil you may ever need. TV and Wifi great. We didn't have a car but there was plenty of room to park. Catherine the owner was very friendly, she said if we needed anything just to chap her door, as there was no point, for example, buying a whole bottle of cooking oil when we may only need a tiny amount. We really appreciated this. Although the owner lived next door we never saw them once, All in all this is a great place for easy access to town and the island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucko2604...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. I would echo the views of the other reviewers, the caravan is immaculately clean, Catherine has thought of everything! There is even a washing machine and tumble drier for use, and for those who like it Wifi too. The view is stunning, the location is brilliant and Catherine and Iain and very friendly and welcoming, happy to help, but not at all intrusive. I would highly recommend it, and hope it will be available for our next visit to beautiful Barra!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing