We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Glen River Caravan”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glen-River Caravan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castlebay, Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lindrew20...
Johnstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Glen River Caravan”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just returned from 3 night stay in Barra. Our hosts Catherine & Ian gave us a lovely warm, friendly welcome & were so hospitable throughout our stay, but were not invasive & left us to enjoy our time there. The caravan was immaculate & had everything we needed & more. Situated at the top of the glen with incredible views overlooking the whole island & only 5 minutes from restaurants & bars. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzzySuth
Alness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay on Barra in the perfect place!”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Having arrived on Barra we were met with a warm welcome from Catherine and Iain. A spotless caravan which was fully kitted out with everything you could think of or might need. We enjoyed sitting out on the decking taking in the local scene. We saw 2 golden eagles from the decking, a truly memorable stay on the Island.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randv596
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Caravan in convenient, beautiful and peaceful position”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely caravan with all facilities which is very convenient for the ferry. Catherine very welcoming and helpful. We walked to the top of Heaval from the van without moving the car. Highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali_D_Lak...
Lake District. UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! THE Place to Stay in Barra”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My friend and I have just returned from staying six night's in this wonderful caravan in 'Beautiful Barra'. What a fabulous location, at the top of the Glen road, just on the outskirts of Castlebay. The caravan was extremely well equipped, and very spacious and comfortable. It was absolutely spotless. There was a lovely decked seating area outside the caravan, and a shed for outdoor gear, bikes etc. Catherine and Iain, the owners, who live next door, were so very welcoming. Lovely people, who were there for you, if needed, but were not imposing. Fabulous couple. The caravan is at the foot of Mount Heuval, in a great location, surrounded by wildlife, with great views down towards the beaches of the island of Vatersay. What a lovely time we had staying here, and exploring the beautiful island of Barra.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
j0hnswan
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Caravan and Location”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The caravan was spotless and well prepared and possessed all the necessary utensils and appliances. Fantastic location with great view and location and wonderfully quiet and peaceful.

Great parking lovely decking area and will be brilliant to sit out in good weather.

The owners were very thoughtful and helpful and at the same time gave you space to enjoy your holiday.

Great caravan and location on a wonderful island would recommend to anyone looking to holiday in Barra.

John Swan
Larbert

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2018
Thank you so much John for a great review.
Regards
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing