We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I want to go back.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Havannah Blue

Kayaking for the whole family
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kayaking for the whole family
Master bedroom with a view Glorious sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Kayaking for the whole family
Master bedroom with a view
Glorious sunsets
Breakfast on the deck
Happy locals
Front yard friends
Tropical gardens
Calm and crystal clear waters
Our island sunset
Dining view across the bay to three islands
Diving out front
Perfect family setting
Pristine snorkeling with beach access
Curious fish everywhere!
All your friends are here.
Free kayaks for adults and children
Your own beach
Never too young to enjoy the reef!
Lelepa Island beach
Keep those cameras handy
Children enjoying the end of another beautiful day
Local parking lot
Nearby wreck dive
Local commute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Havannah, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael B
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to go back.”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of six including two couples and a father and son who stayed at Havannah Blue for 12 days in September 2015. Everything went perfectly for us and the house is a dream. The house is very well appointed with everything we needed right down to the ever changing view to be had from the dining table on the balcony with every meal and nap on the daybed, and hanging out with a beer, and playing games, and reading and.....you get the idea! We particularly enjoyed that it was not a resort set up which allowed us to become friendly with the neighbours right next door who also allowed us to adopt their cat for the duration of our stay. The snorkelling on the reef which is just at the bottom of the garden on the absolute waterfront was an amazing experience. Everyone was so helpful and Hans' instructions on getting to the house were absolutely spot on. There we were in the middle of the night, driving on the opposite side of the road in a new country to us, and we arrived with out a hitch! Dudley took the boys out very early one morning fishing and they all caught fish which was perfect for a father/son adventure. Dudley also took us all over to Lelepa Island where we were able to drop off the box of books, footys etc to the school which went down a treat with the kids. The smiles on their faces and their laughter was wonderful to see. He also took us on a walk up an extremely steep slope to visit a special cave where he explained the history of it and the rock carvings. We made friends with the staff at the Wahoo Bar where they have terrific food and plenty of Tusker. A big tankyu tu maas to Hans & Bronwyn, Dudley & Nelson, Daisy, George, Christian, Olive, all the kids at Lelepa school & Starlin for making our trip the most enjoyable ever. We are already starting to plan when we can all come back again.
September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire experience!
Liked least: I didn't like leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Thank you Mike for your kind words. You and your group enthusiastically took on the whole Havannah Blue experience. Your communications during and after your holiday were greatly appreciated and you will be pleased to know that we now have weekly garbage collections.
The children and staff at the Lelepa school remember you fondly, and we were all glad to hear that you are recovering well after your health scare. You are welcome to add any photos to your review.
Hans and Bronwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie F
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Bliss”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This three bedroom house suited us perfectly. We have 3 children (2 teenagers) - there was plenty of space for us all. We spent much time on the sun-lounges and day bed in the open kitchen/dining area, but also had evening beers in the beach hut closer to the water where we could watch the local life carry on around us. The snorkelling straight off the back garden was wonderful, kyaking was fun and there are a few good restuarants nearby (although you have to plan when shopping for supplies). We did kyak one day to the local store - but you wouldn't want to do this daily. We all had a wonderful relaxing holiday.
This is not really the pace for those who like to shop - it is a very quiet area - but easy enough to get into Port Vila if you feel the need. We didn't have a car, so had to be a bit more organised with food

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open kitchen/dining area and direct access to the sea/snorkelling
Liked least: Lack of coffee plunger (this has now been addressed!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
We are so glad that you all enjoyed yourself, although kayaking to the shop must have been challenging. Most guests kayak as far as the Wahoo Bar and then stop for a well deserved cold beer and some fresh seafood, so we recommend reaching the shop by the local bus that stops out front.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maree w
North Bourke, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing unique peaceful family holiday in paradise.”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Havannah Blue was truly amazing,perfect for our family, fishing daily with Dudley the tour guide. Snorkelling on the carol reef daily, breathtaking. We saw whales, dugongs and dolphins. Lelepa island on a tour, local markets outside your front gate. Friday nights the beach bar fireworks amazing. I would certainly recommend to stay at Havannah Blue for your perfect family getaway. We cannot wait to go again next year. thank you

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review and score. We are happy to hear that you will be returning.
Hans and Bronwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah d
Palm Beach, Australia
1 review
“Peaceful, Beautiful, Havannah Blue”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our second holiday at Havannah Blue, and we arrived two weeks after TC Pam, after being advised that the house had survived and all services were operational (thanks to the solar power system). There was substantial damage in Port Vila and many other villages, but the clean up and rebuilding was well underway. Trees had been uprooted in many areas, branches torn off or just had been stripped of leaves. We found that regrowth was quick, and the green was noticeably returning over the week of our stay.
Havannah Blue had indeed survived with only some minor roof damage to the carport, and some seawall damage that was under repair by the time we left.
This area was truly spared the worst of Pam, and it was great to see familiar smiling faces from the local people that had endured a once-in-a-lifetime event!
More amazing was the condition of the reef out the front, as we had heard of serious damage to the reef in other areas. There were some pieces of broken coral in the shallower area, but basically it was still pristine, and if anything, there was more fish than ever!
The local island, fishing and dive tours were ready to go, but sadly, most visitors had already cancelled, though Dudley provided us his usual day trip service on his banana boat for some fishing and snorkeling. Groceries and meat were plentiful in Vila, but sadly the vegetable and fruit markets were not running yet, so we bought imported fruit at the supermarket.
We spent our time snorkeling and kayaking and enjoying those awesome sunsets and are so glad that we did not have to cancel. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony, relaxing watching the sun going down
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind words Mike, and we really appreciate that you enjoyed your holiday so soon after Cyclone Pam. Many resorts were damaged and guest cancellations were common. I only wish the fishing had been better for you, but they must have cancelled their trips as well! The reports from later guests show that the fishing has returned to its best, with some remarkable fish being caught with Dudley and the Lelepa boys.
Hans and Bronwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimRide2R...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most incredible and scenic place I have ever had the pleasure of staying in”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The setting is unsurpassed. Situated on a bay with water that has a visibility like no place I have ever visited this paradise getaway is ideal for a break to get back to nature in its most beautiful form.

The relationship with all of the locals was something to be cherished as they were so keen to go out of their way to ensure we felt welcome and at home.

This really is paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
Thank you Tim. We are lucky to have some lovely locals in the area, and while they respect the privacy of the guests, I know that most of us truly enjoy the interaction at the nearby Lelepa Landing or kava bar.
Cheers, Hans
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo L
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy what the sea has to offer!”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Havannah Blue in April of this year. We were worried at first that it was a bit remote and far from Vila, but this turned out to be one of its strengths. It was wonderfully quiet, close to great diving at Hat Island and around Lelepa Island and had good snorkelling (and even some diving) right off the back. We found this area to be more sheltered from wind and waves and the reef more accessible compared to where we previously stayed on Devils Point Rd. We hired a small car and went shopping and got air fills in Vila, toured the less visited side of Efate and tried a couple of local restaurants. The house is cosy with two bathrooms – the best part is the deck, where we could sip our chilled wine and watch the sun set and the stars come out. We’ll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, sunsets, snorkelling, access to dive operators and locations
Liked least: Bedrooms a bit small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your review, and interesting to read your comparison with Devils Point Rd properties, as this was one of the prime reasons we purchased in Havannah Harbour. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to having you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing