We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Al Maha and had a wonderful overall experience, from arrival everything was perfect from the standard of service to the accommodation made even more perfect when just myself and my guide rode through the dunes to watch the sun rise from beautiful pure bred Arab horses.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokkihazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

It was a delight to read you went for an early morning horse ride through the vast desert landscape of the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve; indeed this must have been quite a breathtaking experience! Thank you for highlighting how pleased you were with the service from our ambassadors and the interior of our suites.

We do hope to welcome you back in Al Maha in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    81
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
123
915
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had just landed in Dub ai after staying on the coast in Oman and couldn't wait to get to Al Maha as we had been planning this trip for over 9 months. When we arrived we were greeted at the front of the resort the staff came out to greet us as if we were relatives who had finally arrived for a visit. The welcoming was warm and genuine, not pretentious as you would expect, but they were genuinley happy that we had come to visit. Fast forward to lunch, 5* cuisine at every turn, never disappointed no matter what was ordered at what time of day, the chefs are world class and presented this to us at every meal sitting, breakfast/lunch and dinner.

Our accommodation was breathtaking with views to the Arabian desert and the ever shy wildlife that roam freely throughout the resort. The animals are protected and respected by all. The bathroom was as big as the sleeping/living room and the plentiful amenities are Bulgari, amazing.

The staff are the warmest and most professional I have met through all of my years of travelling, huge congratulations to management for creating a wonderful working environment for their staff that shines through when they are customer/client faced. Special mention to all the staff in the restaurant and houskeeping, nothing was too much trouble and they maintained smiles on their faces, even when things got manic.

To Gerhard and his team who look after the wildlife and the activities around them. Outstanding is the only word that can aptly describe this aspect of the resort. They ensured that our 16year old son had the maximum experience with the wildlife at each session, I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Overall Al Maha, thank you for making our long awaitind arrival and stay better than we could have hoped for, we will be back and will tell as many people as we can of the work you guys do.

Room Tip: We stayed in suites 28 & 29, great views over the desert but close enought to walk to the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Team Al Maha would like to thank you very much for writing this extensive and positive review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

It was a delight to read your comments to get a good insight how your experience at Al Maha has been and we are so pleased this long planned trip was as good as you had hoped for. We read you appreciated the welcome you received upon arrival as well as the quality of our cuisine throughout the entire stay.

Your compliments of the care provided to you by our ambassadors has been shared with the departments; especially your delight with the housekeeping, restaurant and field guide ambassadors. We are also very pleased your son had a great time with us.

We do hope to welcome you all back to Al Maha in the foreseeable future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Loved the stay at this terrific Resort. In terms of ambience, service, rooms, cleanliness, food this resort was worth living for few days. For those who love the nature - one might enjoy, chirping of birds etc. Guys, visit to believe it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your visit to Al Maha.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed the nature, birds and wildlife at the conservation reserve as well as the service from our ambassadors and the quality of the cuisine.

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We just returned from a trip to Dubai, and stayed 2 nights at the Al-Maha Desert Resort. Stayed in a standard Bedouin Suite, very near the main building. It was excellent. The setting is perfect - very secluded. This place has it all: beautiful views and wildlife, great service, terrific food, nice rooms, and many great activities to suit a variety of interests. Every staff member was friendly and eager to help if we needed anything. Pricey, but worth it, even if you can only go for a couple nights. Also worth noting: the beds are the BIGGEST beds I've ever seen in my life (like the size of a King and a half), and they were sooooo comfortable. Also, they have a lovely gift shop with many nice things. We didn't buy anything, and then went to the city and we regretted not buying some of the items from Al Maha, as we did not see them in the city shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your two night’s stay with us, mentioning so many aspects that contributed to your overall satisfaction. We learn that you were particularly pleased with the custom made king-size beds, the service from our ambassadors, the quality of the food in Al Diwaan and the various activities that we provide.

It is a pity to read you did not manage to find similar gifts in Dubai as we had in our gallery. Should you remember and want anything sent via courier to your home, than we are more than happy to assist you.

We do hope that your travels will bring you back to Al Maha in the foreseeable future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This resort is the perfection.The staff take care of you from the first moment,the food is delicious and first quality,the spa treatments so relaxing.We are planning our next visit in 2014,time to save some money...yes it costs a little bit but worth all the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet-R2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read how delighted you have been with your stay and that you are considering returning in 2014. Thank you for highlighting your satisfaction with regards to the spa treatments, the quality of our cuisine and the service delivered by our ambassadors.

We hope you manage to return to Al Maha as it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us once more.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay at Al Maha which was absolutely fantastic.
The food, location, staff & accommodation are all exceptional, we enjoyed lunch on our own private deck with beautiful birds and animals around us it was bliss. We chose to have breakfast & dinner in the restaurant and the staff could not do enough for you, the food was to die for.
It was without doubt the best 3 days ever, will hopefully return next year for 4 or 5 days.
Thank you to all staff who made our stay so perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happydaysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write about your recent stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

Your kind words are very much appreciated and Team Al Maha is greatly encouraged by your comments. It is always a pleasure to read how the service culture we strive to create is also noticed by our guests. We are glad to learn that your stay provided you an experience you will remember for many years to come, enjoying the quality of our cuisine in particular.

We hope to be of service to you again in the not too distant future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you once more.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is our favourite place on this earth . I would defy anyone to find fault on any level with the Al-Maha .location,staff, food and accommodation are second to none . Just wish we could afford to go every year . But I guess it would not be so special if we could !
First visit we only stayed 2 nights , second time 4 nights which is perfect if mixing with a stay in the city. Unfortunately on our last visit I was recovering from severe food poisoning from our stay in the city a few days earlier so I could not enjoy the experience and food to the full , that upset me more than actually being ill ,as I knew what I was missing out on !!!
We are hoping to return in 2014 as I can't think of anywhere else I would rather be . Perfection .

Room Tip: Depends on whether you prefer the morning or afternoon sun . Just let them know as you do seem to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for your time and kind review on Tripadvisor with regards to your third visit in Al Maha.

Team Al Maha feels very proud to read how highly you speak of our resort, the service from our ambassadors and the quality of our cuisine. We strive to maintain our high level of service consistently and we are happy to see this has been achieved throughout your various stays. It is a great pity to read you arrived at our resort a bit unwell from previous days, and feeling that you missed out on the great food served in our restaurant. Indeed we do hope your plans for 2014 to visit us again will go ahead to catch up on the culinary offerings from Chef David and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murqquab
50.8 mi away
Ayla Bawadi Hotel
Ayla Bawadi Hotel
#5 of 14 in Al Ain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Residence Abu Dhabi
24.9 mi away
Arabian Ranches Golf Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Maha Hotel
Al Maha Hotel
#3 of 293 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Beach Resort
Barracuda Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Property: Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelbag and Southall Travel so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing