We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were really excited about going to Al Maha prior to our arrival and everything about this resort surpassed our expectations! It is awesome! We spent 6 nights at the Al Maha.
We were welcomed by Maria and Gerhard when we arrived and looked after so well by every employee that we met thereafter. The staff are a credit to Al Maha and seem to be genuinely enthusiastic about working there. They always took time out to speak to you and check that you were enjoying your stay as they hoped you would. The staff were amazing at every turn, from room service, through to housekeeping and all those who worked tirelessly in the bar and restaurant, they were polite, happy and extremely efficient. The staff were discrete and generally tried to service your room whenever you were out and about. We also made use of the buggy drivers who collected us from our suite and dropped us off whenever required, which made getting around much easier in the heat.

The food was amazing. We ate once at the restaurant for breakfast and every night for our evening meal. The rest of time we ordered room service. The scrambled eggs at breakfast are the best I have tasted anywhere in the world. My wife loved the fruit platters and fresh fruit juice that we had almost every day. The choice for lunch is excellent and eating outside on your decking beside your own pool, so relaxing. The service was amazing every time the staff delivered to our room. The evening meals were also exquisite, the quality superb and the menu is varied and interesting. The Sri Lankan curry in particular was delicious. We ate so well throughout our whole stay and thoroughly enjoyed every single meal. The beer and wine selection is also very good. Some people have said that the drinks are pricey, but we thought that they weren't much more expensive than UK city centre prices in the upmarket establishments.

We also enjoyed several of the Al Maha activities. The wildlife drive is really interesting and also gives you a good feel for the dune driving if you intend to book that. Gerhard was a very well informed guide who also proved to be a top class driver when we ventured into the large dunes the following day. The dune drive was an amazing experience and the views from the highest dune at 200 metres above sea level are unique. The landscape is beautiful and unique.
We also enjoyed the Falconry display and took part in the camel ride, which my wife loved, however, I was glad to 'touch down' camel style, when we got back to the resort! Even if you don't fancy the camel ride you can take a car out to the desert at the same time as the camels, to watch the sunset from a unique viewpoint, whilst enjoying a glass of fizz, which like everything else, was an awesome experience.

We only used the spa facilities once, however, they were also very nice. A large outdoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and an ice pool as well as a huge array of treatments are available for guests.

One of the best bits about staying here though has to be the privacy. Each suite has its own temperature controlled, infinity, plunge pool or swimming pool and you are not overlooked by anybody! Well that is other than the gazelles and birds that wonder so close. It is extremely relaxing reading in the pool, whilst looking out over the desert at the wildlife.

It is hard to put into words how special Al Maha actually is, you really need to stay there and enjoy the 'experience'. We would recommend Al Maha to anyone and will definitely go back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are really appreciative that you have given us so much of your time to share your experience with readers on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

It was a delight to read your detailed explanation n how you perceived your six night’s stay with us and we learn you were particularly surpassed by your expectations with regards to the service provided to you by our ambassadors. Your appreciation about their discreteness and attentive care has been shared with all our departments.

With regards to the culinary offerings in Al Maha, we are happy to read you enjoyed the food in the restaurant as well as on the private deck of your suite. It is also very nice to hear the Sri Lankan curry was a success!

Your special mention to our field guide Gerhard has been shared with him and we are grateful that our activities gave you unique experiences as well as informative information. Lastly we can see from your review that you and your wife really did relax, enjoyed and fully absorbed the uniqueness that Al Maha manages to evoke.

We do indeed hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you both back in the foreseeable future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Al Maha and had a wonderful overall experience, from arrival everything was perfect from the standard of service to the accommodation made even more perfect when just myself and my guide rode through the dunes to watch the sun rise from beautiful pure bred Arab horses.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokkihazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

It was a delight to read you went for an early morning horse ride through the vast desert landscape of the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve; indeed this must have been quite a breathtaking experience! Thank you for highlighting how pleased you were with the service from our ambassadors and the interior of our suites.

We do hope to welcome you back in Al Maha in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had just landed in Dub ai after staying on the coast in Oman and couldn't wait to get to Al Maha as we had been planning this trip for over 9 months. When we arrived we were greeted at the front of the resort the staff came out to greet us as if we were relatives who had finally arrived for a visit. The welcoming was warm and genuine, not pretentious as you would expect, but they were genuinley happy that we had come to visit. Fast forward to lunch, 5* cuisine at every turn, never disappointed no matter what was ordered at what time of day, the chefs are world class and presented this to us at every meal sitting, breakfast/lunch and dinner.

Our accommodation was breathtaking with views to the Arabian desert and the ever shy wildlife that roam freely throughout the resort. The animals are protected and respected by all. The bathroom was as big as the sleeping/living room and the plentiful amenities are Bulgari, amazing.

The staff are the warmest and most professional I have met through all of my years of travelling, huge congratulations to management for creating a wonderful working environment for their staff that shines through when they are customer/client faced. Special mention to all the staff in the restaurant and houskeeping, nothing was too much trouble and they maintained smiles on their faces, even when things got manic.

To Gerhard and his team who look after the wildlife and the activities around them. Outstanding is the only word that can aptly describe this aspect of the resort. They ensured that our 16year old son had the maximum experience with the wildlife at each session, I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Overall Al Maha, thank you for making our long awaitind arrival and stay better than we could have hoped for, we will be back and will tell as many people as we can of the work you guys do.

Room Tip: We stayed in suites 28 & 29, great views over the desert but close enought to walk to the main b...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Team Al Maha would like to thank you very much for writing this extensive and positive review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

It was a delight to read your comments to get a good insight how your experience at Al Maha has been and we are so pleased this long planned trip was as good as you had hoped for. We read you appreciated the welcome you received upon arrival as well as the quality of our cuisine throughout the entire stay.

Your compliments of the care provided to you by our ambassadors has been shared with the departments; especially your delight with the housekeeping, restaurant and field guide ambassadors. We are also very pleased your son had a great time with us.

We do hope to welcome you all back to Al Maha in the foreseeable future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Loved the stay at this terrific Resort. In terms of ambience, service, rooms, cleanliness, food this resort was worth living for few days. For those who love the nature - one might enjoy, chirping of birds etc. Guys, visit to believe it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your visit to Al Maha.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed the nature, birds and wildlife at the conservation reserve as well as the service from our ambassadors and the quality of the cuisine.

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We just returned from a trip to Dubai, and stayed 2 nights at the Al-Maha Desert Resort. Stayed in a standard Bedouin Suite, very near the main building. It was excellent. The setting is perfect - very secluded. This place has it all: beautiful views and wildlife, great service, terrific food, nice rooms, and many great activities to suit a variety of interests. Every staff member was friendly and eager to help if we needed anything. Pricey, but worth it, even if you can only go for a couple nights. Also worth noting: the beds are the BIGGEST beds I've ever seen in my life (like the size of a King and a half), and they were sooooo comfortable. Also, they have a lovely gift shop with many nice things. We didn't buy anything, and then went to the city and we regretted not buying some of the items from Al Maha, as we did not see them in the city shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your two night’s stay with us, mentioning so many aspects that contributed to your overall satisfaction. We learn that you were particularly pleased with the custom made king-size beds, the service from our ambassadors, the quality of the food in Al Diwaan and the various activities that we provide.

It is a pity to read you did not manage to find similar gifts in Dubai as we had in our gallery. Should you remember and want anything sent via courier to your home, than we are more than happy to assist you.

We do hope that your travels will bring you back to Al Maha in the foreseeable future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This resort is the perfection.The staff take care of you from the first moment,the food is delicious and first quality,the spa treatments so relaxing.We are planning our next visit in 2014,time to save some money...yes it costs a little bit but worth all the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet-R2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read how delighted you have been with your stay and that you are considering returning in 2014. Thank you for highlighting your satisfaction with regards to the spa treatments, the quality of our cuisine and the service delivered by our ambassadors.

We hope you manage to return to Al Maha as it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us once more.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay at Al Maha which was absolutely fantastic.
The food, location, staff & accommodation are all exceptional, we enjoyed lunch on our own private deck with beautiful birds and animals around us it was bliss. We chose to have breakfast & dinner in the restaurant and the staff could not do enough for you, the food was to die for.
It was without doubt the best 3 days ever, will hopefully return next year for 4 or 5 days.
Thank you to all staff who made our stay so perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happydaysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write about your recent stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

Your kind words are very much appreciated and Team Al Maha is greatly encouraged by your comments. It is always a pleasure to read how the service culture we strive to create is also noticed by our guests. We are glad to learn that your stay provided you an experience you will remember for many years to come, enjoying the quality of our cuisine in particular.

We hope to be of service to you again in the not too distant future as it would be our pleasure to welcome you once more.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range: £596 - £1,673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing