We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you are looking for hustle and bustle and pretentious service and guests -- go somewhere else. Al Maha is a stunning place with exemplary service. From check in details, to well appointed villas, to friendly field guides, this place is quite special in all respects. The food is outstanding for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you wish to sleep and spend time in your private pool or lounging on your villa deck you can do so. If you wish to engage in the activities the resort provides you can find something for every interest. Staff is friendly and has great attention to detail. Would gladly recommend it to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Excalibur1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this positive review on Tripadvisor about your visit to Al Maha.

We are delighted to read how much you appreciated our most luxury and attentive service from our ambassadors. There are so many aspects you mentioned that contributed to your overall satisfaction of your stay, be it the interiors of the suite, the quality of our cuisine or the activities on offer. Thank you for recommending Al Maha to your friends and family.

We do hope to have another occasion to welcome you back in the foreseeable future.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    83
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
129
929
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was, on the 2 previous occasions I have been (in 2003 and 2004) the best place I had stayed. Unfortunately, that is no longer the case. The rooms and the food are still excellent but the activities have stayed the same (although they seem to have been shortened and dumbed down) and the standard of service has slipped considerably.

When we arrived at the pre-arranged time, we had to wait in the car park for 15 minutes before we were picked up to go to the resort. We were then given a run through activities and it became apparent that the spa treatment we had booked clashed with the activities. Or at least it would have done had it been booked for the time requested. That time was not available, fair enough, but rather than get in touch to see what other times might suit, it was simply booked for the same time (4 pm) the next day even though we had said we were checking out at 12. We explained this and were given two alternative times for the next day - 9 or 10 am. We asked for 10, but were booked in for 9.

Lunch was good, although when given the choice of the 3 lagers as the only beer on offer I stated that I do not want one, only to be presented with a bottle of Stella shortly thereafter.

Check out was not as smooth as it could have been either. We were delayed leaving by the bags not have been collected from the room (even though we phoned 30 minutes in advance) and no transfer to the gate being ready, even though our check out time had been notified.

This may seem like petty complaints but the cumulative effect is rather disappointing in a £1000/night resort, where one ought to be entitled everything to run like clockwork (as it used to).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UAEexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

From your comments I understand that you were pleased with the interior and facilities in the suite as well as the quality and offerings of our cuisine. At the same time, it is with regret that I learn your stay had not been as smooth and flawless as you had experienced on your previous two stays with us.

With regards to the arrival time at our resort, as no telephone or email address was provided through your online booking, we were unfortunately unable to contact you for guidance of arrival coordination at the main gate. I would like to apologize for the incorrect booking of the initial spa slot on behalf of our reservation department and for the delay you experienced during checkout.

We have therefore not been able to meet and live up to your expectations. I would like to assure you that we view these matters in a serious light and we always strive to improve on any of the issues affecting our service delivery.

I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback. Although I understand you feel hesitant, I do hope that you will stay with us again and kindly ask that you please contact me directly for your next reservation in order for me to personally look after your requirements. (lara.keijzer@starwoodhotels.com)

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

From the welcome committee to the moment we left there was not one single thing that could have been better. I can only confirm all the excellent ratings you find here.

The staff: just amazing and professional, from housekeeping to the field guides, all are taking care and make sure that all is perfect

The suites: the interior, the pool, the view - a real amazing place to stay.

The SPA: nice pool and fitness facility, good massages

The food: again wow, especially breakfast was outstanding.

Activities: Sunset after a camel ride is just amazing but also all other activities were great.

Conclusion: When driving there into the desert you will be in another world, a place to relax, to enjoy and a place with outstanding professional hospitality. You will stop counting all the "wow" moments and just dive into a unique experience. No doubt: the place to go at least once in your life - we will certainly add a second time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j75fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

It was most enjoyable to read your review as it evoked a sincere delight from your side of this unique experience you had. We feel praised by your compliments of pretty much every aspect in the resort; be it the quality of the food in our restaurant, the activities available, the interior of the suites, the spa facilities or the care and attention given to you by all our ambassadors.

As much as yourself, we also hope there will be a future opportunity to welcome you back once more in our resort.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Unique experience in a perfect resort. A truly luxury resort with plenty of activities to do, good food and eveything you ask in a hurry.
The desert safari is awesome, with a lot of fun and great views.
The sunset after the camel ride was astonishing!
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thiago H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great comments on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

We are delighted to read we provided a very unique stay to you and we understand from your comments you really enjoyed the activities; in particular the camel trekking with sunset on the dunes overlooking the resort.

We hope to welcome you back in Al Maha on a future occasion.

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

An absolutely amazing experience. The horse riding was a perfect for cleansing the mind for my partner and myself on our unexpected journey to Dubai. It was a surprise and after staying for 4 nights I can honestly say that it was one of the very best accommodations I have stayed in. Thank you for your lovely hospitality

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caprice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your four night’s stay in Al Maha.

We are most pleased to read that you and your partner really disconnected and relaxed whilst at the resort. We are grateful for your compliments about the high level of hospitality and service we provide.

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again on a future occasion.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great desert hotel and escape from dubai/city life.

Came for birthday last October. Amazing plunge pool, cottage style tents, amazing breakfast and great activities, like horse riding which is a must.

Great customer service, great pool...cannot find a bad thing really!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

Team Al Maha is very proud to read you were pleased with your escape from busy Dubai as part of a birthday celebration. We read you particularly enjoyed the horse riding and the food as well as the care provided to you by our ambassadors.

We hope there will be another future occasion to welcome you back to Al Maha.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

You have no idea. My only regret about Al Maha is that I didn't stay longer. My wife and I stayed at Al Maha for only one night during our stop over in Dubai on our return trip from the Maldives to NYC. I will do my best to give a chronological list of the events.

First, I found the staff to be very responsive to my email requests during the booking process. This was important to me since this was my first trip to Dubai and have no idea where I was going. I highly suggest that you have the staff at Al Maha arrange for your transport to and from the resort. It is a little bit extra money, but was worth it. We had a full size SUV for our trip. The car was very clean and the driver was extremely professional and on time. We made it to Al Maha from JZS on the Palm in about 1hr 15 minutes. Very little traffic.

Second, upon arrival the manager greeted us outside and escorted us to one of the private rooms to review the booking and discuss the resort activities. This is where the "service" turned from amazing to ridiculously amazing. Since my wife and I were celebrating our honeymoon, the staff prepared a few surprises for us. First, we were upgraded to the Royal Suite which I will discuss below. Next, the manager waived the private dining service charge so we could enjoy a romantic dinner on the poolside deck.

Third, the Royal Suite was breathtaking. We stayed at a total of 5 hotels/resorts and none of them compared to Al Maha. You truly get what you pay for at Al Maha. The Royal Suite was a two bedroom palace. Each room had a giant bathroom and a separate annex to the bedroom with the minibar, and coffee and tea setup. The pool was very large. You can also call the front desk and have them adjust the pool temperature if you desire. We adjusted the temperature at night since the weather gets a little cool at night. The bed is cross between a king and a California king. The linens were luxurious, which made it difficult to wake up early for the falconry demonstration.

Fourth, our first desert adventure was the camel sunset ride. Without a doubt, this is the best activity at the resort. The guide was such a pleasure to speak with and is a true gentleman. The ride was peaceful and the sunset was nothing short of perfection.

Fifth, after returning from the camel ride, we discovered the staff had provided us with a lovely bottle of champagne and a wonderful hand written letter. Next, we had an amazing private dinner on the pool deck where our waiter would leave in between courses to give us privacy and the opportunity to enjoy the dinner. The food was of course fantastic.

Sixth, my wife slept in while I went to the falconry exhibition. This is a unique experience, but does require you to wake up early. Kurt and the staff did an amazing job giving the history of falconry and facts about the sport and care for the birds.

After falconry, my wife and I went for a morning swim and then off to a wonderful breakfast.

We were really sad to leave and wished we would have stayed longer. The whole experience felt like a dream to us. We do not usually travel such great distances for vacation, but we promised each other that we would consider planning future trips that require a connection in Dubai so we can visit the most amazing oasis known as Al Maha.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC_Tiger_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We feel very proud that you and your wife decided to spend part of your honeymoon at our resort and we are so pleased to read you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us! You have provided very detailed information to give us a clear idea what aspects made your overall stay so pleasant.

From reading we learn you particularly enjoyed the Royal suite interior, the beds, pool as well as the private dining experience you had on the suite deck. We are also happy to read you enjoyed the activities, especially the camel trekking and your appreciation for Kurt’s efforts in particular have been shared with this department.

We do hope your future travels will give you an opportunity to choose Dubai as a stopover in the foreseeable future to stay with us again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back once more.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Property: Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Destinology, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing