We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much albeit didn't have a chance to explore the spa I am not one to be easily impressed but the service and attention probably stood out the most. The place itself is beautiful. Food, activities and service are great. Definetly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor about your recent stay in Al Maha.

We were pleased to read that our service and attention to detail had not gone unnoticed and we thank you for recommending our resort. We are happy you enjoyed the activities and the cuisine from our Al Diwaan Restaurant and perhaps there will be a future occasion to try our Timeless Spa.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

This resort rightly earns its Trip Advisor rating. From the moment you arrive and are personally greeted, to the sheer quality of the accommodation, restaurants, activities and staff, the entire experience is one not to be missed and I doubt bettered.

Just go.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mpkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay in Al Maha.

We are very pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We learn from your comments you enjoyed so many aspects that all contributed to this feeling; be it the attentive service from our ambassadors, the quality of the food or the activities available.

We hope that you will have another occasion in the future to return and visit us once more.

Kind Regards
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you are looking for hustle and bustle and pretentious service and guests -- go somewhere else. Al Maha is a stunning place with exemplary service. From check in details, to well appointed villas, to friendly field guides, this place is quite special in all respects. The food is outstanding for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you wish to sleep and spend time in your private pool or lounging on your villa deck you can do so. If you wish to engage in the activities the resort provides you can find something for every interest. Staff is friendly and has great attention to detail. Would gladly recommend it to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Excalibur1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this positive review on Tripadvisor about your visit to Al Maha.

We are delighted to read how much you appreciated our most luxury and attentive service from our ambassadors. There are so many aspects you mentioned that contributed to your overall satisfaction of your stay, be it the interiors of the suite, the quality of our cuisine or the activities on offer. Thank you for recommending Al Maha to your friends and family.

We do hope to have another occasion to welcome you back in the foreseeable future.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was, on the 2 previous occasions I have been (in 2003 and 2004) the best place I had stayed. Unfortunately, that is no longer the case. The rooms and the food are still excellent but the activities have stayed the same (although they seem to have been shortened and dumbed down) and the standard of service has slipped considerably.

When we arrived at the pre-arranged time, we had to wait in the car park for 15 minutes before we were picked up to go to the resort. We were then given a run through activities and it became apparent that the spa treatment we had booked clashed with the activities. Or at least it would have done had it been booked for the time requested. That time was not available, fair enough, but rather than get in touch to see what other times might suit, it was simply booked for the same time (4 pm) the next day even though we had said we were checking out at 12. We explained this and were given two alternative times for the next day - 9 or 10 am. We asked for 10, but were booked in for 9.

Lunch was good, although when given the choice of the 3 lagers as the only beer on offer I stated that I do not want one, only to be presented with a bottle of Stella shortly thereafter.

Check out was not as smooth as it could have been either. We were delayed leaving by the bags not have been collected from the room (even though we phoned 30 minutes in advance) and no transfer to the gate being ready, even though our check out time had been notified.

This may seem like petty complaints but the cumulative effect is rather disappointing in a £1000/night resort, where one ought to be entitled everything to run like clockwork (as it used to).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UAEexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

From your comments I understand that you were pleased with the interior and facilities in the suite as well as the quality and offerings of our cuisine. At the same time, it is with regret that I learn your stay had not been as smooth and flawless as you had experienced on your previous two stays with us.

With regards to the arrival time at our resort, as no telephone or email address was provided through your online booking, we were unfortunately unable to contact you for guidance of arrival coordination at the main gate. I would like to apologize for the incorrect booking of the initial spa slot on behalf of our reservation department and for the delay you experienced during checkout.

We have therefore not been able to meet and live up to your expectations. I would like to assure you that we view these matters in a serious light and we always strive to improve on any of the issues affecting our service delivery.

I would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback. Although I understand you feel hesitant, I do hope that you will stay with us again and kindly ask that you please contact me directly for your next reservation in order for me to personally look after your requirements. (lara.keijzer@starwoodhotels.com)

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

From the welcome committee to the moment we left there was not one single thing that could have been better. I can only confirm all the excellent ratings you find here.

The staff: just amazing and professional, from housekeeping to the field guides, all are taking care and make sure that all is perfect

The suites: the interior, the pool, the view - a real amazing place to stay.

The SPA: nice pool and fitness facility, good massages

The food: again wow, especially breakfast was outstanding.

Activities: Sunset after a camel ride is just amazing but also all other activities were great.

Conclusion: When driving there into the desert you will be in another world, a place to relax, to enjoy and a place with outstanding professional hospitality. You will stop counting all the "wow" moments and just dive into a unique experience. No doubt: the place to go at least once in your life - we will certainly add a second time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j75fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

It was most enjoyable to read your review as it evoked a sincere delight from your side of this unique experience you had. We feel praised by your compliments of pretty much every aspect in the resort; be it the quality of the food in our restaurant, the activities available, the interior of the suites, the spa facilities or the care and attention given to you by all our ambassadors.

As much as yourself, we also hope there will be a future opportunity to welcome you back once more in our resort.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Unique experience in a perfect resort. A truly luxury resort with plenty of activities to do, good food and eveything you ask in a hurry.
The desert safari is awesome, with a lot of fun and great views.
The sunset after the camel ride was astonishing!
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thiago H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great comments on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

We are delighted to read we provided a very unique stay to you and we understand from your comments you really enjoyed the activities; in particular the camel trekking with sunset on the dunes overlooking the resort.

We hope to welcome you back in Al Maha on a future occasion.

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

An absolutely amazing experience. The horse riding was a perfect for cleansing the mind for my partner and myself on our unexpected journey to Dubai. It was a surprise and after staying for 4 nights I can honestly say that it was one of the very best accommodations I have stayed in. Thank you for your lovely hospitality

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caprice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your four night’s stay in Al Maha.

We are most pleased to read that you and your partner really disconnected and relaxed whilst at the resort. We are grateful for your compliments about the high level of hospitality and service we provide.

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again on a future occasion.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range: £596 - £1,673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing