We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arabian Ranches Golf Club Hotel(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Dragon Mart Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
ibis Styles
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auris Fakhruddin Hotel Apartments(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ghaya Grand Hotel(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,584 results
Traveller rating
1,438
101
26
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,438
101
26
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal mahaprivate poolcamel ridefield guidedune bashingbedouin suitesand dunesour honeymoonlunch and dinnerearly morningwatch the sunsetthe reserveper dayworth every pennydesert resortmain buildingwildlife drive
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 1,584 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My credit card was charged there twice. They told me that they refunded the second charge, but its not on my card. Its been three weeks now. I called them twice without any results. For me this is not acceptable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
19  Thank Alexandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on Tripadvisor about your recent stay in Al Maha.

We are sorry to learn that your entire guest experience has not gone as one can expect in Al Maha. From my correspondence with the resort, I learned that indeed we had made the error to charge you twice for your stay and this was immediately communicated to you by our guest service agent whilst you were staying with us. I would like to express our sincere apologies that this has happened.

As you are aware from the direct contact you have been having over the last week with our Director and General Manager, Al Maha returned the payment one day after your departure, and the delay of refund to your account was due to a processing problem with a third party service provider.

We are truly saddened that this has caused you an inconvenience and we have therefore not been able to meet and live up to your expectations. I would like to assure you that we view these matters in a serious light and that this matter will be rectified as quickly as possible.

I do hope that your travel plans will bring you back to Al Maha again and while we can empathize with your disappointment, we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We cannot say enough about this property. From the moment you are greeted at the doorway to all excursions, dining and the spa. I never thought that a person who so loves the beach, would come away loving the desert. My husband and I took advantage of all offerings that we could. Service was very good; but being honest, it seemed that many were new to the service industry and made small errors. However, everyone was pleasant and accommodating. The property is beautiful. I truly felt that I was away from the rest of the world. Our first night we did the Sunset camel drive and I enjoyed every minute of it. The desert is peaceful and majestic. We had an exceptional activity game warden that was for us during our entire stay. He was knowledgeable and fun. He made all our activities enjoyable. The food was excellent - we ordered room service, we ate at the restaurant, had afternoon tea etc. I loved our tent (Bedouin) and our private pool. It was spacious and well maintained. Is the Al Maha expensive, well, yes. But the price includes everything and I personally believe it was well worth it. I had an incredible experience at the hotel in the desert, one that I will remember my entire life. I hope that we will get a chance to visit Al Maha again. This review is exceedingly late - we traveled in May of 2012.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KMD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

You mentioned your stay had been some time back, but as they say better late than never, and we are delighted to hear from you now about how you perceived your stay with us. Reflecting on your writing we feel the memory of Al Maha is still fresh with you and indeed a memory that you will remember forever.

From reading we learn you appreciated the different dining options available to you, the privacy and spaciousness of you suite as well as the knowledgeable information your field guide provided you with very much.

We also truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in our resort in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very much a slow burn until the uniqueness of the resort kicks in. Having been used to the usual luxury five star resorts in Dubai this was a little step outside our comfort zone. Don't get me wrong this competes excellently on all fronts including the food and friendliness of the staff.....on a par with our benchmark - The Oberoi chain. What sets the Al Maha apart is the stunning natural beauty of the desert, the abundant wildlife, the total lack of air pollution so wonderful starry nights, the excellence of the guides and above all the absence of bling!

The quality of the food was simply mesmerising and duly delivered by such a friendly and knowledgeable staff. It would be wrong to identify individuals in a cast of thousands where the team ethic is all important. Even the gardeners and buggy drivers all stop you wish you a good day......and they mean it!
We participated in four excursions on our four day break...all mind blowing from an early morning desert trek, sundowner camel ride, falconry display to a four wheel drive dune drive. Very informative guides added to the interest and ours - Darryn was superb in his knowledge and personality.

There is only one observation we would make......it would be good to be able to make a general tip at the end of the trip (similar to the Oberoi chain) to acknowledge the efforts of all staff and not just those you come into contact with. I would expect to tip certain individuals as special cases but want some reward for all staff in a truly magnificent resort.

I now know why the Al Maha is the number one resort in the whole of Dubai (trip advisor rating) -what I hadn't appreciated is that this has been earned through sheer hard work, such a positive attitude and no little help from the natural surroundings and wildlife. Can't wait to return....simply breathtaking. Things at Al Maha just happen....whenever and wherever you want it. The staff have a knack of being in the right position at the right time......uncanny.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FoodiesHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Al Maha is very grateful to read this positive review on Tripadvisor about your stay with us.

We are very proud to read your description of what has made your stay with us so pleasant and your appraisal of our ambassadors is much appreciated. From reading, we learn that you really enjoyed the scenery and peace and quiet of the resort, the quality of our cuisine and the activities with informative knowledge from our field guides. We also thank you for your suggestion with regards to giving a tip in general.

We are very happy that you have found this a memorable stay where indeed things just happen…

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Al Maha in the foreseeable future!

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My son and I had an amazing time at the hotel. It is very private with guests in their own quarters(houses). The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The scenery was second to none. We had gazelles pass within a few feet of us.

The food was excellent. There are plenty of activities, or you can relax by your own private pool. The stars are spectacular at night. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room fashioned like a Bedouin tent. I highly recommend checking it out, if only for one night. Meals are included, but drinks are not. This is not the place to go if you are on a tight budget, but it is an experience. That will last a lifetime. No children under 10. Less than an hour from Dubai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guaranaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience of Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read how both you and your son enjoyed your stay with us; enjoying the food, activities, the interior of the suite and comfortable bed to name but a few.

We learn from your review you really appreciated the scenery and wildlife in our resort and we are flattered to know this was an experience that will last a lifetime.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you once more in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Al-Maha resort is a truly magnificent property - made even more exceptional by the superior staff that it has. We have recently been lucky to have stayed at some exceptional properties - Montage in Laguna Niguel, the brilliant Le Palais Namskar in Marrakesh and a few others. Al-Maha holds its own in every way in comparison to the very best. Al-Maha is a sophisticated resort that offers unique experiences and exhilarating vistas. On our drive into the resort we came across a group of Oryx and Gazelles just grazing by the road. The sand dunes and the majesty of the desert takes your breath away - particularly as the views are framed by the blue skies and the mountains. The property has some of the best staff working in the hotel industry anywhere. Mira - the Director of Guest Services made us feel like we were visiting a beloved family member. She went out of her way to make sure our every need was taken care of. Since we had flown from Washington DC and our two girls were tired, she gave us a temporary room for them to rest in while our large suite was being done up. Our suite was MAGNIFICENT - with gazelles ambling outside. The pool and the amenities were second to none - with wine and tea and a fabulous nespresso machine . There were numerous activities for guests - throughout the day. In the evening we chose to have dinner on the dune - arranged by Mira and guided expertly by Matthias. The dune dinner was an awesome experience in which you are taken to the middle of the sand dunes - away from everything - for a dinner lit by flame torches. They took so much effort to lay down carpets and tables and linens to turn the desert into one of the best dining experiences one can have. For our family of four it will always remain unforgettable. We loved the experience - and the night sky - untouched by city light pollutions made the stars light up in all their magnificence. Overall, a brilliant experience in every way.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be amazing.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NACview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very appreciative of the time you have taken to write about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

Your review was really a delight to read as it gave such a good insight into how you and your family have enjoyed your stay. We are happy to learn that you were well taken care of by our ambassadors and your appreciation for Mira in particular has been shared with the team.

Thank you for writing about the dune dining experience you had in the middle of the desert under the night sky; indeed it is a unique experience not quick to forget. We understand from your writing how much you appreciated the nature around you and the free roaming wildlife such as the gazelles and Oryx.

We do hope to have the pleasure in the future to welcome you and your family once more, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews