We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arabian Ranches Golf Club Hotel(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Dragon Mart Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
ibis Styles
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auris Fakhruddin Hotel Apartments(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,584 results
Traveller rating
1,438
101
26
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,438
101
26
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal mahaprivate poolcamel ridefield guidedune bashingbedouin suitesand dunesour honeymoonlunch and dinnerearly morningwatch the sunsetthe reserveper dayworth every pennydesert resortmain buildingwildlife drive
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,584 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I visited this resort on the way home from Australia.If ever a resort lived up to its prior billing this is the one. From the moment you arrive you realize that every member of the staff is determined that you enjoy your stay. Not only are the staff genuinely friendly and attentive throughout the hotel but also the guides for the desert experiences (two a day are included in your rate) are well informed, friendly and helpful. The accommodation is excellent ,each suite has its own private pool and a view over the desert. It is designed with an Bedouin ambiance as is the whole hotel. The suites are spacious and comfortable (especially the beds ) and have a large bathroom liberally supplied with Bulgari toiletries.The suites are situated throughout the resort and far enough away from each other to ensure complete privacy .The food , all included in the cost, is excellent. Seeing the arabian oryx and other species of deer in this conservation area and learning more about falconry were memorable experiences not to mention a couple of hair raising drives in the dunes and a slightly uncomfortable ride on a camel.However even if you never go on any of the experiences the beauty of the desert seen at various times of the day especially at sunrise and sunset is memorable in itself. The resort also has an excellent spa. If you are ever in the Dubai area with a few days free go there.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 20 which had an uninterrupted view over the desert
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patrickts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort and Spa.

We as a team are extremely passionate about our guest experiences and thrive on exceeding expectations. We are pleased to hear of your enjoyable experience at the resort and look forward to contributing towards many more.

We are grateful for your detailed observation and feedback and happy to see your appreciation of our unique destination and all of its elements.

Do visit us again soon and rest assured you will be pampered in luxury once more.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The food is fantastic.The staff was friendly and very accommodating a real pleasure to find this amazing place. Is the perfect choice for leisure travelers. We will return for our spa treatments are a real pleasure to the mind and body....it was so good to be here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ancasuiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort and Spa.

The pleasure was all ours. We are glad to learn of your appreciation of our services especially the Spa where the ambience and treatments only boast of completely tranquility and relaxation.

It was great to have you with us too and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Al Maha is so close to Dubai but it feels so far away. I was truly amazed by this oasis nestled in the desert. We had booked 2 nights and had an outstanding experience. The staff was lovely and very helpful and we felt very well taken care of. As access is limited, no private vehicles are allowed into Al Maha, making it very peaceful and quiet. The view of the main building with the restaurant is truly breath taking. The restaurant overlooks a watering hole where you can watch Oryx and Gazelles drinking while you are enjoying your own plentiful five course meal. With some luck the animals also come to the private pools located at every suite, making the experience even more special. There are even camel roaming freely on the outskirts of the property, which we saw when being driven up to the gates of the Al Maha reserve. We almost felt like being on a private safari. Whoever is looking for the ultimate desert and wildlife experience in the UAE, this is the place to be!

Room Tip: All suites are great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Corinna_Lohse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Al Maha and for your recent stay with us.
We can see how truly passionate you are about your experience in the desert and we are happy to have complimented this with the services we offer at this magical destination.

Your recommendation and feedback is exactly what motivates us to deliver better and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have been lucky enough to stay twice at this resort and how lovely it is to return somewhere which lives up the the experience the first time around. The suites are marketed as bedoin tents in the desert- they are in fact wonderful solid suites with a tent like appearance with their own pool overlooking the vast desert. There are wonderful touches such as delicious dates and nuts in the suite and an easel and water colours. Neither of us are artists but we had huge fun sketching eachother.

The food is on a full board basis and is just super. Despite being full board, the wonderful staff encourage you to partake and partake some more. I am not a fan of all inclusive/full board options, but this resort has it just right. You can opt to eat on your own terrace/in the suite or at the restaurant. We tended to have breakfast on our terrace and lunch and dine in the restaurant. Inside at lunch due to the heat and outside in torchlight in the evening. The Omani Gulf prawns were enormous and just the best I have ever tasted. Please never take them off the menu.

The Spa treatment was bliss.

The service is fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening came rides with bubbly whilst watching a desert sunset. If you prefer the rangers will gladly take you in a 4x 4 for those who do not fancy the camel ride. Have just joined TA so this is why the review is a little belated.

The resort has a lovely pool and gym, but frankly you probably will not want to leave your suite... Three nights holiday here achieves the same relaxation as seven nights of a standard holiday- you leave feeling thoroughly refreshed, if a little heavier.

By way of background, this was our tenth anniversary trip and we combined with the Burj Al Arab. The hotels are equally wonderful but chalk and cheese. We will absolutely be back .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidaygal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

You have been so kind with your detailed review about Al Maha. We are grateful.
Thank you for your loyalty and support by revisiting us and giving us the pleasure to have you celebrate your 10th Anniversary with us.

We are happy to know that you were inspired by the elements in our Bedouin tents, the culinary treats that our Chefs had to offer together with your blissful experience at our Spa and excitement with the Activities.

Having you leave Al Maha refreshed and relaxed is truly where our passion lies for all our guests.

We look forward to your future visits and hope they are in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

just less than an hour of driving away from Dubai, there is this amazing place called Al Maha. If you take your own car, just make sure that you wont miss the exit, as you will hardly notice it, as it is just after the sign. We stayed for 2 nights, which entitles you to 4 activities. I highly recommend the dune bashing, nature drive and falconry. The sand dunes are just amazing and so is the friendliness and service of the staff who takes care of you. A special thanks to Beth, our personal activity guide. The food, the staff, the high level of service, it all makes it worth the money and the trip.Al Maha, I hope to see you again!

Room Tip: seriously, there are no bad or poorly situated suites
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which we sincerely appreciate.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the desert activities we offer and having you experience our treasure in the desert is only a pleasure. Your feedback will most certainly be shared with our team as it is most valued.
We all look forward to welcoming to Al Maha for another exquisite experience.
Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews