We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place for our wedding !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place for our wedding !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is definitely an amazing place for an unforgettable experience ! We decided to take our small group of guests for our wedding party in the Presidence Suite which is actually a luxuous villa build in the genuine bedouine style with 3 bedrooms and a large living room opening on the private pool and with a 180 view on the desert.
The hotel location is exceptionnal but this goes along with the quality of the services, the food cooked by the Chef, the wine list... which are at the top of the art.
David Miras, -Executive Manager and Head of F&B- understood our needs and managed our wedding party with bespoken services beyond our expectations !
Being a Chef, David will be glad to advise you on a great cooking journey comparable to the best Dubai 5 stars restaurants.
We really recommend this place if you want to have a great stay, 1 hour from Dubai and you are in the middle of nowhere with all you wish to have, just ask David!

Room Tip: Best Hotel desert close to Dubai
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xavier m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review on Tripadvisor about your wedding experience in Al Maha, this is very much appreciated.

Once again we would like to congratulate you both on this special event and we feel much honored that you chose to celebrate this occasion at our resort. Thank you for highlighting the details of our Presidential Suite which indeed also can be used perfectly for small events. Your compliments about our service and your particular appreciation for all the efforts from Chef David have been shared with our team.

We wish you lots of happiness together and perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once more on an anniversary celebration in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    81
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
123
915
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

After more than a week of staying in a limited service hotel in Dubai, my friend and I treated ourself to an authentic luxurious desert experience in Al Maha. We got a full board package which included meals, snacks and 2 desert activities. Upon arrival in the Dubai Desert Conservation area, we were already greeted by amazing wildlife and a sweeping view of the orange sand. We were upgraded to a Royal Suite which is huge at 175sqm, 2 bedrooms and bathrooms and our own temperature controlled plunge pool. The staff were very polite and helpful with all our requirements and the food is just superb.

I also enjoyed the camel ride with sunset cocktails which was 1 of the included desert activities. It was just too bad that we couldn't extend our stay for an additional night since the resort was full. Very private and recommended for honeymooners since nobody will see you in your villa area unless you call for anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shoegirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay about Al Maha.

We were very pleased to read that you had decided to choose our resort for a pampering desert escape after your week in Dubai city together with your friend. Thank you for highlighting the features of our Royal Suite and the inclusions of a stay in Al Maha.

It is a pity that you were unable to extend your stay with us due to the resort already being fully booked. We hope you will have an occasion to visit us again in the future as we would be delighted to welcome you once more.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Excellent service, amenities and ambiance. It is really the finest & the most luxurious desert resort
I stayed in a bedouin suite which was a luxury quiet tent with a private Pool, and it had Bulgari Toilettes...
My reservation had All meals included, and All of them were really good.
I did 4 The activities they offered, and all were nice.
Their staff were amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACJI97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

We are very delighted to read your positive comments about the experience you have had in our resort. From your review we understand you enjoyed the Bedouin suite very much with the private pool and ample amenities. It is a pleasure to read how our ambassadors have made your stay most enjoyable alongside the activities you participated in.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Al Maha in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Beginning February we spent 3 nights in the Al Maha. We were visiting friends living in Dubai and it was their suggestion that we also go and see the desert for a couple of days. And what a good suggestion it turned out to be! We loved Al Maha: it's understated chique, the location, the views over the desert, the activities (you're assigned your own ranger for the activities you choose), the suites, the food, the people ... Even the spa was nice, where we normal find spa's to glitzy and overkill. A big pool and terrace are part of the spa. And Agnes does a great deep tissue massage!

The biggest attraction though is the wildlife, the mountain gazelle that graze around your 'tent', the oryx you see in the desert or on your way to the restaurant ... we never got bored observing them. A couple of days in Al Maha is like being on safari: you choose from a list of activities like a wild drive, nature walk, falconeering, archery, sundowners on camel or by car, 4x4 drive etc. You're allowed two activities per person per day and most of the time the ranger assigned for your first activity will also accompany you on the other ones. There are I believe around 10 rangers and they're all very knowledgeable about the region, and passionate about their job. Some activities start early (0700 hours) others are scheduled in the afternoon (1600 or 1630 hours). Of course all depends on the time of year: the hotter it gets the earlier respectively later these activities are scheduled. And don't expect to have lunch or dinner outside in summer time - it'll be too hot.

The suites are well decorated, understated chique, with great bathrooms and a super bed. There are some original touches, for example the easel, paper and paint for those who feel inspired. All meals can be served in your room or on your deck, next to your private (mini) pool; we alternated as the restaurant's terrace is also lovely and it's nice to do some people watching!

One last remark: the French Toast I had for breakfast was the best ever!

Room Tip: We had a great suite, almost ín the desert, not overlooking any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steenhuisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your extensive review about your stay in Al Maha on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read your review which gave a detailed understanding of how you perceived the desert experience as recommended by your friends. We learned you enjoyed the cuisine, the activities, the interior of the suites and the friendliness of our ambassadors. However, what mostly stood out during your stay was to see the free-roaming wildlife at the reserve, be it from the restaurant terrace, during the activities or at the suite itself.

Thank you for your appreciation of the massage by our ambassador Agnes in the Timeless Spa and the French toast at breakfast prepared by our chefs. Your comments have been shared with the department heads.

We hope to welcome you back at Al Maha in the foreseeable future.

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Love the pool, love the privacy, love the staff, love the stay... This is a place that anyone going to the UAE must visit... Pricey but worth it... You will also see antelope and go on camel rides.
The rooms needs an upgrade but that's coming in the summer of 2014.
A proper desert retreat.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Crn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

We are delighted to know you have very much enjoyed our desert resort, particularly the privacy, wildlife, private pool and not to forget the service from our ambassadors. Thank you for mentioning the price-quality ratio of this hidden gem in the desert. As a Dubai resident we would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that Al Maha also has three Day Packages for non-residential guests.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Al Maha in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Extraordinary. When the royal family in Dubai gets out of town they come here.
Every villa has their own private pool. Imagine how romantic that is…
Great activities in the desert…sand dune surfing, camel riding, falconry. It's really a great place and if you have the opportunity it's worth experiencing.

Room Tip: Every villa is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVK5610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor about your stay in Al Maha.

We are most pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. From your review we understand you appreciated so many aspects of your stay; be it the suite with private pool or the many activities.

We hope to welcome you back once more in the foreseeable future.

Kind Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

What else can I say. First stay in Al Maha was in April 2005 (see my review “Woken gently in the morning…”) and back for third time in 2014.

Management has changed over time, but the experience remains - simply sublime.

Many other reviews including my first have exulted the amazing experience of Al Maha.

All I can add is that over time nothing has diminished, if anything improved and nothing has dated so you can rely on reviews over the past 10 years.

The staff are simply amazing. The resort is sublime. The food is first class. And the service and attention is to die for.

I tell everyone who will listen that this is the must do Bucket List for those in are expats in the UAE or those who can while visiting.

Cannot think of any negative to say. Bravo Al Maha!

Room Tip: Emirates Suite for up to 5 guests is an amazing option if you can. Fully recommended. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketingteam_3, Manager at Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really appreciative that you have taken out your time to write another review on Tripadvisor about your most recent stay in Al Maha.

Having read both your new review as well as the previous one from 2005, we are most pleased to learn that we have managed to provide a consistent, high level of service during your stays. We feel very proud to know that the experience is still a delight; be it the quality of the cuisine, the overall look of the resort and suites or the friendliness of our ambassadors.

Thank you for including the photographs and recommending the Emirates Suite when travelling with family. Lastly, we are very delighted to know you are recommending our resort to your friends in Dubai. Please note we now also welcome Day Guests at Al Maha with three different package offers.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our resort for the fourth time!

Warmest Regards,
Lara Keijzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murqquab
50.8 mi away
Ayla Bawadi Hotel
Ayla Bawadi Hotel
#5 of 14 in Al Ain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Residence Abu Dhabi
24.9 mi away
Arabian Ranches Golf Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Maha Hotel
Al Maha Hotel
#3 of 293 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Beach Resort
Barracuda Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Property: Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers and Destinology so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing