We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A one (or twice) in a lifetime experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A one (or twice) in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Al Maha desert resort is, as all the other reviewers already pointed out, a very unique and almost certainly unforgetable experience of relaxed luxury in a stunning (though hot!) natural environment. Al Maha means watching gazelles and the like walk past from within the outdoor pool, riding a well-mannered camel to the perfect sunset spot overlooking the dunes, a la carte lunch of only the finest seafood and regional cuisine, together with the perfect wine to match - all served with five star hospitality, professionalism and friendliness. Very secluded and situated within protected conservation land, Al Maha is a (re)treat worth saving for.

While not directly involved in the conservation efforts surrounding the property (overseen by Dubai's ruler), Al Maha staff do go the extra mile in making the resort as environmentally friendly and sustainable as possible for five star cost and logis in the middle of the Dubai desert. Perhaps, investment in solar power for electricity would be worth a consideration, once the right technology becomes available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    81
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
123
915
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Firstly, let get the bad out of the way. The website booking is terrible when searching for offers. coming from Dubai and being flexible on dates, I tried to take advantage of the 3 nights for 2 offer. I couldn't find any offers available for any dates. This was highlighted to the staff. Next, the short wait at the remote car park doesn't give the luxury feel. There is a small shed to shelter from the heat, but it is a bit scruffy and there was litter outside. (cars aren't allowed in the resort. so transport is by golf buggy.)

Secondly, the good stuff. EVERYTHING! Peace and quiet, staff, service, private pool, wildlife, guides and activities. Then there is the food. wow.

We only managed two nights which is long enough to get a feel for the place and to promise ourselves a return visit.

This is the perfect place for relaxing, in perfect calm, with views out onto the desert.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threehens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Returned once again to the solitude and splendour of Al Maha, After 3 nights in Dar Al Masyaf. Here for 6 Nights (we wish it was more) but still have a further 5 nights of total bliss left.

We arrived yesterday to be greeted like old friends from Mira, Ankush and Laurence as we stepped out of the vehicle.

First evening was spent with a little cream tea overlooking the beautiful desert landscape, Then later we were taken by our field guide Laurence to Sun downers on the dunes in the desert via a Camel Ride, (for the less adventurous you can take a 4x4 to the "Desert dune bar" to toast the sunset) Great sunset, great company and chilled champagne and strawberries (among other items) to greet you from a waiter at the bar set up in the dunes for us.

Fantastic meal last night, thank you Remy and all staff, (again Remy greeting us like old friends).

Slept exceptionally well; how could you not in this bed! (and we should know; we bought the pillows and Linen last time we were here) and took buggy to late breakfast. Returned to a perfectly clean room and deck area with inviting warm pool (our; well my wife's choice of pool temperature which was set for us last night) awaiting us. Spent the afternoon gazing at the scenery and wildlife (via binoculars supplied in room) also some wildlife was closer; which was lovely to see.

I thought I should write now (and again after vacation) as the lunch that was just delivered and perfectly laid out on our very private deck by the waiter (Hubert) was exceptional. Arabic Mezze platter to start, Huge (and I mean huge) Grilled Jumbo Shrimp with accompanied sauces (chilli sauce was excellent) and Grilled marinated Squid, Market salad and two fresh fruit platters that were placed in the cool of your room. A fantastic lunch indeed, I don't know if Mr Sebby (who I have had the pleasure of meeting before) cooked it? But it was one of life's pleasures! and what vacations are all about!

Also excellent fibre optic (wireless) broadband to allow me to write this and life's other important things (face time with granddaughter !!)

Reviewers; please note this is the Number 1 resort in Dubai, 97% satisfaction compared to 95% of the best of the rest in Dubai why they have put this resort to Emirate of Dubai and not Dubai is a mystery to me; As I feel potential guests may not see it on Trip advisor, which is a shame as most would love it for all of their holiday or just a night or two? But I was informed resort was 100% occupied yesterday; Not that you would know it, It feels like we are the only ones here or one of very few from the service you receive and the splendid isolation.


Thank you once again Al Maha Resort and staff.

J & L

Room Tip: All are great, But thank you Mira for this room (schh secret)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

great experience of peace and nature; nice food and staff,- very rare in UAE, that staff is same since its day one; use your time to learn more about deserts' animals by guided tours through the dunes.
I love to sleep outside at the terrace during full moon nights,- even during 'winter' times :surprisingly gazelles will approach the swimming pool at early morning hours, birds will finish your breakfast and deers will pass by at dawn.
In case you are specially lucky you might even watch a member of the royal family bringing next typical birds ....
Best place to forget hazels of a city; I visit this, one of my favorite places since 16 years and am looking forward to come back!

Room Tip: best villa of all is number 15,- because there you'll get the greatest chance to view most of na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmmiBatuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife for our wedding anniversary. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome. We were greeted by Maria who helped us complete our booking in and also introduced us to Laurence, our ranger for the duration of our stay. After completing the booking in we were taken by buggy to our suite. I had seen pictures but to see it in person was amazing. The facilities within the suite were second to none, everything you could want or need on your relaxing break. The private plunge pool was bigger than we expected and don't be surprised to find the local wildlife drinking from it.
Our package included 2 desert activities a day, if you could drag yourself away from your pool. My wife went riding on a Arabian horse in the desert and we also went on the sun downer camel trek. The 4x4 drive up and along the sand dunes was quite an experience, luckily for us no one was sick..
I had arranged a surprise meal in the desert with my wife and Maria and Laurence helped keep this a secret right up until we arrived at the spot, where a eating area had been discreetly set up. We were left there with a mobile phone, an absolutely amazing experience that will be very hard to beat.
I had been asked by Maria if it was OK to enter our suite whilst we were at the desert picnic and on our return we found a note pinned to the front door with instructions, my wife followed the instructions and a trail of rose petals that eventually led to a full bath, complete with rose petals and petals shaped soaps. Again showing how the staff are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay a special one.
The food in the restaurant is outstanding catering for all diets and again the service is great, if you do not want to leave your decking area/pool you can order from the menu and eat in the comfort of your own suite.
Whilst we were there we had a problem with the a/c unit, one phone call and less than 10 minutes later and everything was fixed, again great service.
The buggy drivers always greet you with a smile and are happy to chat about the local wild life as they drive you around the resort.
my wife went to the Spa and could not sing its praises enough.
I know I have mentioned Maria and Laurence, however all the Staff and Rangers made our holiday a very enjoyable and relaxing experience where nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Its all been said already and its all true. If you are tired and in need of rest and relaxation this place is definitely for you. It is absolutely fabulous. Room service is exactly the same as eating in the restaurant. Spa is wonderful. Al Maha is no good if you want nightlife and a busy time. It is tranquil, peaceful and hot. Could not fault anything we had an idyllic 3 nights and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Children are not allowed here

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Souxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Peaceful and romantic getaway. Top notch resort with great service. Learn about desert life and Eco systems. Spa is good. Secluded bungalows with private pools are perfect for a couples trip. Just a great place to relax and breath deep. Evening camel ride is a must do.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Onefiftyone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murqquab
50.8 mi away
Ayla Bawadi Hotel
Ayla Bawadi Hotel
#6 of 14 in Al Ain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Residence Abu Dhabi
24.9 mi away
Arabian Ranches Golf Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Maha Hotel
Al Maha Hotel
#3 of 293 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Beach Resort
Barracuda Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Property: Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing