We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We've been to some wonderful places in the world but Al Maha Desert Resort outshines all of them. Will definately return.
Stephanie and John

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosschop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    83
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
129
943
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

After spending three years in Dubai we finally took some advice and headed to Al Maha as so many of our friends have suggested. Peter picked us up right after the gate where we parked our car and after a 15 minute drive we were at the check in counter. We only booked one night and all three meals were included, so we went right in and had lunch. There was so much to choose from. Hubby had a huge steak and I had a salad and pizza. Nice wine list with prices in line with other Dubai hotels. After lunch we went right to our room and changed into our swimers for some sun in the afternoon. The pool was a perfect temp. and there is almost no humidity in that part of Dubai which at that time of year was a great surprise. We enjoyed our camel ride at sunset and returned to our villa for our dinner service at 8pm. We chose to have our dinner delivered each course at a time for an addition 100 AED as aposed to having it delivered all at once. It was great, we were able to tell the waiter when we wanted our next course delivered. All the food was excellent. We brought a special bottle of wine and so were able to enjoy that. The weather, even though it was late June, was very comfortable . We thought very much about extending our stay, but decided to just make another trip there one night soon. At least now I know why everyone is raving about this place. It's a beautiful place with great staff and great service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnakaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed here on the last part of our Wedding Anniversary holiday to Dubai.

This was our second stay at the Al Maha, which is one of my husbands most favourite places on earth and it was even more wonderful than we remembered.

This place is so gorgeous, peaceful, and luxurious, like heaven.
Staff are so polite and helpful.

The only thing that has changed since our last visit is the food. It has got even more gorgeous. The choices were far superior to many 5* hotels in the UK and we enjoyed every moment of it.
Thank you for the gorgeous Sri Lankan curry guys too !.

We are already making plans to go back – we found heaven and we hope to keep it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagsgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary at al Maha. It is a magnificent resort with much attention paid to the smallest of details. The service was outstanding and we were made to feel very special.

The second day was a sandstorm, which can't be helped, but our guide did his best and we had a good day.

The meals were superb and spending time in our plunge pool looking over the desert and the Oryx was fantastic. On-deck dining is highly recommended.

All in all a great experience for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandboykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

The Al Maha is a fantastic hotel, with the absolutely top-notch service, and a high standard of accommodation and food.

We booked for just one night, to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. When we saw the place, we knew we would not have time to take advantage of all the facilities, so no doubt we will return.

When we checked in, we were informed that we had been upgraded to the Emirates Suite. This was fantastic, an absolutely huge suite with two bedrooms (both with en-suite bathrooms), a large living / dining area, and separate buildings housing a kitchen, and servants quarters!

The standard of the furnishings was excellent, the bed was huge and very comfortable. Every suite in the Al Maha has a pool, but ours was apparently larger than the normal suites - it was really nice swimming in the evening after dinner.

All of the food is included in the price of the stay, but this is no "all inclusive buffet" deal. The food is of a high quality, you chose from a menu which changes daily and it is full waiter service in the restaurant. The price also includes afternoon tea and cakes, snacks which can be delivered to your suite and all soft drinks.

The service standard is extremely high, which really makes the place. You are assigned a personal member off staff that helps you to check in and will take care of any special requests that you have, plus a field guide who organises your daily activities according to your wishes. We did the falconry demonstration (very interesting, and includes a couple of glasses of sparkling wine while you watch!) and a nature drive, looking at some of the wildlife close to the hotel (it is in a nature reserve) with our very knowledgeable field guide. The staff in the restaurant were also extremely helpful and professinal. The standard of service is what sets this place apart from other desert resorts which attempt to emulate the same experience. We had stayed at Bab Al Shams previously; the Al Maha is just so, so much better.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My husband booked a stay at Al Maha during our honeymoon this April, and I couldn't have been more delighted when we pulled up to this desert oasis. It was truly an experience unlike any other, and a highlight of our honeymoon. Nothing was more relaxing than our private plunge pool overlooking the desert sand dunes, with an occasional Gazelle or Oryx passing by. The room and Arabian décor evoked a romance and tranquility straight out of a novel. The staff was very accommodating, friendly, and knowledgeable. You could tell each and every one of them enjoyed working on the reserve. We took a camel ride at sunset, and were served champagne as the sun disappeared in a sea of reds and oranges. Upon our return, the staff had set up an amazing private dinner on our deck next to our pool. The following morning we went dune-bashing, which was quite the thrill ... although we advise everyone to not eat breakfast beforehand! Anyhow, thank you Al Maha for the amazing honeymoon. Our only regret is that we didn't stay with you longer. Next time!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amy0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

A fantastic place especially if you are a nature lover, excellent food, professional staff. If it's good enough for Victoria Beckham and Robert De Niro...!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCAAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa

Property: Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Address: Dubai - Al Ain Rd | Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve, Murqquab, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Murqquab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Murqquab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Hotel designed to resemble a traditional Bedouin encampment - Set within a 25-sq.-kilometer desert conservation reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Maha Desert Hotel Dubai
Al Maha Desert Dubai
Al Maha Desert Resort
Al Maha Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing