We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Maha, A Luxury Collection Desert Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$325
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arabian Ranches Golf Club Hotel(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
US$236
StRegis.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Dragon Mart Dubai(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$85
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auris Fakhruddin Hotel Apartments(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ghaya Grand Hotel(Dubai)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,576)
Filter reviews
1,576 results
Traveller rating
1,430
101
26
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,430
101
26
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal mahaprivate poolcamel ridefield guidedune bashingbedouin suitesand dunesour honeymoonlunch and dinnerearly morningwatch the sunsetthe reserveper dayworth every pennydesert resortmain buildingwildlife drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,025 - 1,030 of 1,576 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2009

I visited Dubai after wanting to go for so many years and thanks to the Al Maha staff I was not disappointed ...Thanks May , Sekar , Jaques , Cynthia and everyone else that works there who ALL contributed to a fantastic stay.
I will definately be returning but not sure when as dont want to have too much of a good thing !!!!! or do I ?
The entire place is as near to perfection as I m sure is possible in this day and age and I cannot thank you all enough.
We stayed in a bedouin suite and the pool was larger than I expected as was the suite itself.
Loved it all and I ve got my piggy bank started as we speak for my return xxx

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This was our second visit to the Al Maha and again we weren't dissapointed, which really is due to the location and the staff at the hotel - who go out their way to help you enjoy your holiday.

We got, what we thought, to be a better 'tent' than the last time as it was a bit further away from the main building.

The food is fabulous and the chefs will create what you fancy, adding removing ingredients.

This really is an experience and a holiday and I would recommend it to anyone who just wants to get away from it all.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank regular_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My wife and I have recently come back from a 10 day stay at the Al Maha Desert Resort I can honestly say it surpassed all our expectations, from the very friendly reception committee when we arrived, to the day we checked out. All the staff were very attentive to our every wish throughout our stay without being intrusive. The food was excellent and plentiful starting with breakfast, then an extensive lunch menu and a full 5 course meal at night, with the option of dining on our veranda on the nights we didn’t want to go down to the restaurant. The only down side to the dining experience was the price of the wine which was very expensive, but I guess that’s what you have to expect at a resort of this standard. Our Royal Suite had an infinity pool which was cleaned everyday and our suite was cleaned inside twice a day. My only gripe about the suite was the stupid place in which the TV in the bedroom was located which meant that without moving the furniture around you could only watch it by lying on the bed. The hotel provides a free laundry service which was very efficient, and provided you had your clothes collected in the morning they were returned that afternoon. We were never pressured to join in the various activities that are on offer, and were left to relax and enjoy the amenities of this very special hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at Al Maha. We hadn't planned on going to Al Maha this year but the weather and workload made our mind up for us and we had a 4 night stay at the resort. This was our second stay at the resort the last was in December 2006 - when it rained! The weather in June was in the upper 30's to low 40's but it was bearable. I had emailed ahead and we had got the same room as before (room 21) which is at the lower part of the resort, the advantages are that it is very quiet and you get the wildlife (oryx and gazelles drinking from your pool) We arrived very early in the morning and the receptionist welcomed us back when we got to the room the hotel had left us a bottle of champagne on ice - which was nice. Our room had wifi internet access and a docking station / sound system for the iPod The staff were very friendly and very efficient - a number wondered if they were employed when we last visited, if they saw a book you automatically found a bookmark. We did a number of the activities - falconry (very early start), dune safari and the sunset camel ride.
The format of the meals had changed slightly as in 2006 it was a buffet lunch rather than a la carte. The meals were excellent - we tried the Arab Mezze and Sri Lankan curry meals my only criticism is that we put on weight! Prices for wine with the meal were broadly comparable to those in a London restaurant, soft drinks in the mini bar were resonably priced.
Would i recommend it to friends - yes. Is it worth it - yes.
How does it compare to other "eco resorts"? Last year we stayed at Zighy Bay and whilst we had a good time, meals and drinks were very expensive and the resort didn't offer the privacy or relaxation as at Al Maha.
Would i go again - yes;

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This was our fourth visit to Al Maha and it won't be our last we could go back again and again it is wonderful.

Driving up from the security gate you can start to feel the peace and quiet and we were excited to see our field guide and guest services ladies waiting for us at reception. Check in was quick and painless and very soon we were taken by buggy to our beautiful suite. We had a great view from our decking and it didn't take too long before we were
in our pool chilling out.

Everything about Al Maha oozes elegance and sophistication, it is very unique. Nothing is too much trouble and the level of service is excellent.

The food has greatly improved and after a few days we dispensed with the menu and the chef cooked us what she fancied and it was great. The restaurant staff are all very friendly and helpful, special mention goes to May, Jovey and Milka but they are all great.

I love horses but can't ride anymore so Christelle took me down to the stables with some apples and I had a ball. We also had two lovely private sundowners with Christelle where we talked until it was dark and we know we have a real friend in Christelle.

The spa is very relaxing and I had two lovely treatments.

Just being at Al Maha for us is a joy and we were sad to leave after 11 nights. Rose our lovely guest services lady made our stay special and we will be back.

Thank you Al Maha

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manhattanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews