We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ochre House is ideal for family gatherings...”
Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Kitchen
Studio
South Bedroom
South Bedroom Bathroom
Mezzanine has ensuite bathroom with shower
Mezzanine Bathroom
Choir Bedroom
Sun Room Bedroom.
Main Bath
Playroom
Nearby boating
Road to beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ochre Pit Cove, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandys29A...
Newfoundland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ochre House is ideal for family gatherings, special occasions, workshops or retreats!”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Can't say enough about Ochre House...have stayed here on a yoga retreat several times and love it more each time. With six bedrooms, you have your quiet space but then you have large gathering areas to meet for meals, presentations, games, yoga whatever. There's a comfy sitting area of chairs/sofas to read, chat and socialize. We have had our retreat catered by Lisa on three occasions and the food is healthy, delicious and plentiful. We've also cooked ourselves as the kitchen has all the necessary utensils. There's a fantastic selection of books, especially those of a local flavour. Hiking in the area is popular as the views overlooking the ocean are outstanding. AND there are beautiful, sandy beaches within a very short drive. Orchre House...a real gem for a large crowd;-)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thanks Sandy. You guys are a treat to cook for. I look forward to having you back next year.
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing accommodations”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful location with a view of the ocean. We were blown away with the quality & coziness of this place. Bright, spacious rooms that will exceed your expectations. Fully stocked kitchen, laundry, games room & a deck that overlooks the horseshoe and fire pit. We hosted a birthday party for 45 with plenty of room for tables and mingling. Thanks you Lisa for being a fabulous hostess. Hope to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
We're glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane C
1 review
“A perfect place for a family gathering!”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My eight sisters and I gathered at Ochre House Retreat for a two-night celebration to commemorate birthdays past, present, and future. The accommodation was excellent. The beds were comfortable, the 5 bathrooms were very convenient, and the kitchen contained all the utensils and cookware we needed to prepare our own meals. We enjoyed all the conveniences offered: the bbq, the firepit, the garden, etc. I would definitely recommend Ochre House Retreat to anyone looking for a great place to stay. The beach at Northern Bay Sands is only a 5-minute drive away and there are lots of other places to visit and to obtain any items required for your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
HI Diane, We're so glad you had a good time. We love families.And thanks for taking such good care of Ochre House.
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra G
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family Geneology Trip”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is fabulous. There were 6 of us for the week, and 8 of us for 5 days of those days. Plenty of room for 5 women working in the kitchen and we could all eat together at the dining room table(and there was even another leaf to add to the table). Beds were very comfortable, and the 4 baths had only one couple and a single sharing the main bath. There is everything you could ever need in the kitchen and we had most of our meals here. Fresh flowers were a very pleasant surprise. We used the fresh herb garden to prepare our local fish dinner. These owners think of everything, and it is evident theat they continue to make improvements by adding new gardens and the deck. Would recommend this place to anyone and everyone! My only negative comment is that it is very difficult to find in the dark. Two of us drove by a couple of times before we found the driveway the first night we arrived. But after that, everything was wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Hi Sandra,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are installing new lighting during our winter upgrade. We like to maintain privacy for our guests, but not so private that you can't find us!
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing