We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and ale.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Labrador

The Black Labrador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Punchbowl is a traditional country pub serving home cooked food with all ingredients being locally sourced along with local real ales.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food and ale.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Dropped in for lunch with my partner and her friend after building up an appetite walking along the top of Scout Scar (great views all round). Anyway, we were welcomed by the one gent at the bar who took our drinks order, he gave us our menus, we chose a table in the bar, I ordered the Punchbowl ploughmans which was really tasty, the others ordered the prawn marine rose salad, this also went down a treat (they asked if it would be ok to have the marine rose sauce separate which was met with a yes that will not be a problem). Would have liked to return for an evening meal....maybe next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    58
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Real Pub Grub in a Friendly Real Ale Pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The refurbished and extended Underbarrow Punchbowl had been in the shadow of the Crosthwaite Punchbowl, but now it stands tall and proud. Situated in the next village, the Crosthwaite Punchbowl is rightly known as a highly-rated restaurant, with accommodation to match. At Underbarrow this feels like a proper pub with a lovely restaurant, delicious food, and not a dribble of coulis in sight.

You can still play pool and darts in a separate room, the doggie treats are waiting in the bar, and the restraurant has a new balcony, plus its own bar when a private function takes place. You can stop for a drink, and not feel you are out of place in some eatery. The excellent kitchen will even provide take-away meals

Marvellous chicken curry, mouthwatering haddock goujons, and that famous steak pie - just take a look at their website for the full menu. You will not leave feeling hungry. The wines are reasonably priced, there is a changing selection of ales, and owners Louise or Chris will drive your party home in their Discovery, provide you arrange this in advance,

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ComfortCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beer festival atmosphere was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We went to the beer festival and enjoyed both the beer and food , the beer festival had some great choices of both cider and ale, myself and other diners on my table enjoyed there meals , I had curry and the others had a ploughmans salad and fish cakes , the cheesecake was especially good, service was great , due to it being the beer festival there was also a band later on in the afternoon who where fantastic .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great food (the lamb stew was particularly good), friendly staff and good service. We arrived whilst the beer festival was still going so had some good beer & cider too! What more do you need?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely people. Great fish and chip supper and one guest who had the steak pie said it tasted like it was homemade

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Labrador also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Black Labrador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing