We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful... and exhilarating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Cove Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Cove Manor
Ranked #5 of 19 Fish Hoek B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Restful... and exhilarating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

What an amazing place!! I couldn't recommend this bed and breakfast more highly. The location is perfect-- right off the train tracks a short ride from Cape Town, with a perfect oceanside view. The suites are HUGE and breezy and comfortable. Wi-fi was a nice luxury. Solveig and Peter are the comsummate hosts, providing home-baked breads, amazing hot breakfasts, radical hospitality, great travel tips (and fascinating stories from their own history, if you ask).

I wanted both some rest & relaxation and some adventure in the Cape Town area, and Sunny Cove Manor was my gateway to both. Put this place on your bucket list! ~Jessica H, Chicago

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I cannot say enough good about Sunny Cove. Solveig and Peter are the perfect hosts and make everyone feel at home. As soon as I arrive, between their hospitality and the calm of the water, I find all of my cares and anxieties melt away.The view is gorgeous. The location is fabulous. In fact, even when my work in Cape Town requires me to be far away from Fish Hoek, I stay here anyway because I love it so much. I have never regretted that decision. Addition benefits: views of whales outside your room window (in season), freshly baked breads and/or pastries at breakfast, a library, easy access to a beach, easy access to the train for the city, and easy access to the penguins at Boulder Beach. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: I have not yet stayed here with my family (but we will!). But I know that there is ample room for al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Paul,MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Sunny Cove is a lovely home with large rooms all sea facing and private bathrooms. Our family of 12 was very comfortable there and we so appreciated Solveig and Peter's warm hospitality.
They provided delicious breakfasts and even arranged a caterer so that we could entertain friends one afternoon. Our grandchildren loved the rock pools across the road and they explored the kelp, sea anemones, starfish etc. We have never felt so at home or so cosseted in a bed and breakfast before!!

Room Tip: They were all spacious and comfortable with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I felt at home immediately at Sunny Cove Manor. The B&B is absolutely lovely with comfortable accommodations and spacious rooms. Peter and Solveig were the picture of hospitality. Breakfast was delicous and they gave us helpful advice with regards to sightseeing around Cape Town. The location is great - the beach is just down the road, and the train stops right across the street. I would absolutely stay here again and can't imagine a trip to Cape Town without a stop at Sunny Cove!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I had a unique and wonderful week at this little hotel.The couple who run it are delightful, and provide a warm and thoughtful atmosphere. The hotel is perfectly positioned in that it's so close to the sea and to the the famous Jager Walk. It is also on instant access to the amazing peninsular drive and the Cape point. I squeezed in a quick dip every morning before breakfast. If you don't have a car, the station is very near ( the train journey is scenic and worth a ride). My room had a lovely view across the bay, and was near their library/commonroom. I'm sure you could spend hours in there whale watching in the spring.Parking is safe and hidden behind the Hotel: actually, I took a walk up the mountain behind the the hotel, just for exercise and to get a great view of the Bay.I felt lucky to have found this idyllic little place.
Alan Musker

Room Tip: I think Solveig will look out the best for you if you say what you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

A friend booked our stay at Sunny Cove Manor and I didn't know what to expect. I was blown away by the beautiful home, breathtaking views, comfortable and clean accomodations, and most of all the hospitality and friendliness of Peter and Solveig. You could 5X as much for accomodations like these and still feel like you are getting a steal!

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean-view suite -- amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laury R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I was in awe at the beauty of South Africa, particularly where we stayed in Fish Hoek. This little bed and breakfast was spacious, tastey breakfast and had the most beautiful view. The staff went above and beyond to accomodate us and what we wanted to do and see. Truly a treasure!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Hoek
0.4 mi away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
13.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fish Hoek Bed and Breakfast
Fish Hoek Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 19 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A Whale of a Time
A Whale of a Time
#5 of 18 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach and Bay B&B
Beach and Bay B&B
#8 of 19 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
#3 of 19 in Fish Hoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Cove Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Cove Manor

Property: Sunny Cove Manor
Address: 72 Simon's Town Road, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fish Hoek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Hoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Cove Manor's outstanding position on the Fish Hoek shore offers commanding views of False Bay: wide beaches of sugar-white sand, contrasting with a breathtaking silhouette of sheltering mountains. Our spacious suites contain DSTV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea facilities, and binoculars for those who desire an even closer view of the whales (especially August/September), dolphins, and sail boats year round. As our guest, you will enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast to start your day. Then, cross the road to Jager's Walk, a water's edge promenade that winds between boulders and sea-molded rocks. The Fish Hoek beach is just eight minutes away. Bask in the sun, and delight in the warm Indian Ocean water, ideal for swimming, sailing, kayaking, and snorkeling. If you like a relaxed atmosphere, spacious accommodations, and fresh baked breads for breakfast... if you enjoy watching spectacular sunrises and impromptu performances by seals, seen from the comfort of your suite.... then we invite you to be our guest. We look forward to welcoming you to Sunny Cove Manor!Peter, Solveig and Eric ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunny Cove Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Cove Manor Fish Hoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing