We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Afrizola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afrizola
Ranked #7 of 19 Fish Hoek B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The guesthouse is wonderful... the room had breathtaking views, the ambiance of our entire stay was truly romantic, with a generous king sized bed and a wonderful large bath, we felt truly spoilt during our stay. Also, it is perfectly quiet and hidden away, yet close enough to main restaurants. We will definitely be going back for our 1 year anniversary!

Breakfast was alright: the pastries were very chewy and the selection not astounding, but our overall stay and the sheer magnificence of the guesthouse made this seem inconsequential!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckeburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We started our south africa trip in this beautyfull guesthouse with a great view to the sea and the mountains. We stayed there for 5 nights and enjoyed the atmosphere and the hospitality from Regina and Axel very much. It is the perfect place to experience the Western Cape. We will come back...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManuelaJoerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Looking for a neat guesthouse for at least 7 persons, we found this beautiful guesthouse on the internet. Due to its good recommendations and inviting pictures on the homepage Afri Zola became our first choice which we have never regreted. In reality even more impressing, the guesthouse lies at top of Fish Hoek and offers from each room an outstanding view to the ocean. The rooms are very spacious, sunny, and lovely decorated. Helpful stuff as hair-dryer, towels, city maps etc. were provided.
During the day the pool area and the common room are a great place to hang out, the view to the mountains and to the ocean is in fact as gorgeous as seen on the pictures - and even better.
A good continental breakfast will be served in the common room every day and the originally German Hosts will be glad to help you out when you plan your trips or when you book any tickets. They were also very pleased to share their favourite places in and around CT/Fish Hoek and surrounding.
All in all we highly recommend this guesthouse and we will certainly come back whenever we have the chance to do so.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Afri Zola Guesthouse is an architectural gem with a stupendous view out to False Bay. It is by far the most impressive guesthouse that we’ve stayed in. We never got tired of the guesthouse.

The included breakfast was excellent and a great way to start the day.

Our room was very comfortable with a balcony looking out toward False Bay. On sunny day it is very nice to relax on the balcony. The only downside of our room was the intermittent availability of hot water.

The automatic lighting and sprinklers were an issue since when we arrived, there was no lighting and it was dark and when we left early one morning the sprinklers were on between us and our car.

In summary, this guesthouse was very nice to stay but some minor tweaking is required to address the annoyances identified above.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alzenau
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Fish Hoek with our lovely hosts Regina and Axel.
Their guesthouse is very new and has an amazing view. They created a lot of the equipment of their rooms on their own and everything is decorated nicely.
Our room was spacious and there was everything in it we needed.
The other facilities for all guest were also very good.
There is a pool which Axel is planning to improve and a PC for to write Emails or check anything.
In the community room there are also some Boardgames, DVDs, and interesting books, as well as a good choice of beverages.
The breakfast was delicious and various, with fruit, eggs and whatever else we wanted.
When we needed them our hosts were always available and helped us gently and gave us advises. A speciality of this guesthouse are the double glassed windows!
For us Fish Hoek waqs the perfect place to experience the Cape peninsula and we would love to repeat our stay with the Zimmermanns.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dassie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Ideally located with great seaviews, close to Cape Town city center and on the way to Cape Point and the other bays, the guest house is welcoming and decorated with taste. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and private. The hosts are friendly and very helpful yet discreet. The breakfast was very good. Having travelled a lot and visited several guesthouses, we would definitely recommend Afrizola to everyone seeking accomodation in the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurbaniteDurbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

This newly built house with terraces and swimming pool has beautiful individually decorated and spacious rooms, comfortable beds and serves really good breakfast. The hosts, Regine and Axel, ensure that there is nothing missing and your individual feedback is always welcome. Their home is a great place to be and offers everything for a pleasant stay. Its location is ideal to venture out and explore the great surroundings. Definitely a B&B to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manor_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fish Hoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Fish Hoek Bed and Breakfast
Fish Hoek Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 19 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abington Manor
Abington Manor
#2 of 18 in Fish Hoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Makapa Lodge
Makapa Lodge
#6 of 19 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
A Whale of a Time
A Whale of a Time
#4 of 18 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
#2 of 19 in Fish Hoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrizola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrizola

Property: Afrizola
Address: 4 Fynbos Rise Street, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fish Hoek
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Hoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrizola 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the mountain side of Fish Hoek. With views across Fish Hoek valley to the False Bay, Afri Zola offers 3 luxury self catering apartments and two basic double rooms, which can be booked in combination with the apartment as a 4 sleeper. Each well equipped apartment is private and has its own access. An outdoor pool is provided as the communal pool. Well positioned in Cape Town you can visit Cape Point, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront, Robben Island, Kirstenbosch and the winelands. Drive 10 min to beaches of your choice. Free wifi, off street parking. Personal attention and advice to assist with your daily plans. Couples or groups up to 11 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Afrizola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afrizola Fish Hoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing