We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service? What service..?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachcomber Bistro

Beachcomber Bistro
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Fish Hoek
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lively atmosphere, lovely food, wide choice to suit all tastes and times of day. The greatest place to meet on Fish Hoek Beach.
Muizenberg, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service? What service..?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I so want this place to get proper management.It has potential but oh boy those waitresses,they have a BAD attitude.Everytime I go there I'm hoping it would be different.But we always end up waiting too long for everything.Take away option is better...I'm done giving this place chances,especially after charging me R12 an egg.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2 out of 3 meals sent back twice even the ice water! Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This restuarant is on Fish Hoek beach alongside the kids play area. Most disgusting visit to restuarant ever! Even our ice water was returned to the kitchen for fresh water. Our 2 meals which included prawns were returned to the kitchen twice - manager/owner explained change of supplier and she knew very well that the prawns being served were raw. Well she did not seem to care about our suggestion to remove from the menu. Her response was "sometimes we do get it right" thankfully our kids did not order the prawns or eat them before we noticed. Our 3 rd meal which included savory rice - wow the onion and green pepper that were used had turned soggy and sour end result sour rice. Although we were offered grilled prawns to replace the disasters we were presented with twice we declined. Do u really want a third try for a meal that was presented 2 you twice before and on both occasions one worse than the other? Overall do not eat here even if given a free meal. Can now really understand why Fish Hoek locals do not frequent this establishment - we were warned but thought we would give it a try anyway

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad service, ridiculous price rules”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The service is atrocious, you can sit for a long time whilst waitresses ignore you.
Beware of ordering extra butter or Jam with Breakfast, you will be charged extra per unit of butter or Jam. Ridiculous, never seen breakfast anywhere in South africa where you are charged extra for this.

Service is slow and seldom complete.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beach resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Good for Breakfast or lunch, also with families feeding children - although right next to a large play area - so you do not have to appreciate them too much - most stop only for take aways. Great view of the beach - but outside can be windy - inside is a bit dull...

Food good with great pricing. Popular with grown ups for breakfast, especially (young) pensioner snow birds from the UK.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewMunnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachcomber Bistro also viewed

Fish Hoek, Cape Town
 
Fish Hoek, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Beachcomber Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing