We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guesthouse in a quiet and beautiful location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent guesthouse in a quiet and beautiful location.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here one night whilst travelling from Oudtshoorn to Cape Town along the Garden Route, and what a find it was. We received a warm welcome from Campbell who showed us to our room and brought us a carafe of chilled wine. Ursula later introduced herself to us and kindly recommended a local restaurant and made a reservation for us.
The room was excellent, beautifully decorated and furnished, spacious and lacking nothing.
The room had a small terrace where we sat and enjoyed our wine and took in our scenic surroundings.
Our breakfast the following morning was very good and all freshly prepared.
Ursula and Campbell are very friendly hosts and their guesthouse offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaUK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    31
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
357
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Francis Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have been spending our stay in Montagu at the Montagu Vines for the past seven years during the Wacky Wine Weekend. We were greeted by the new owners Ursula and Campbell. The rooms are clean, spacious with all the amenities needed. Heated Towel Rails, Heated blankets and a fire place for those cold winter nights, DSTV, Tea and Coffee tray etc. The breakfast is scrumptious with fresh fruits, cereals, cheeses and cold meats, croissants, bread etc. and a warm breakfast cooked to your liking. Even our cars got washed in the morning before departure. Thanks Ursual and Campell for a wonderful stay! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed there on the 17th of July 2013, all 6 of us decided to stay so all in all 4 rooms where booked out by us. There was no one else staying there. The reception was so nice, the husband was so friendly and what a great start. They were helpful in recommendation of restaurants and what to see in town. The evening was great and we got to bed a little late. We woke up at 10, unfortunately breakfast was between 8-10am I got into the breakfast room at 10:12 I was accosted by Urshla and firstly was scolded like a child as she did not want the dogs in certain areas, the dog is not mine. I have not even woken up yet or had my coffee, I was yet again told in a very abrupt and rude manner that breakfast was at a very strict timing, oh please Ursla you are firstly in the service industry, I have a Boutique Hotel 5 star so I am very understanding to the industry. I have guests come down late at times, THAT IS WHY WE DO WHAT WE DO, if you CAN'T conduct yourself in a respectful manner with your guests then either change your your ATTITUDE or change your career choice, but something needs to change. The other guests that where with me are restaurant owners and have very successfull businesses of their own. I was so disgusted by your attitude and will defiantly not be returning and will make sure that my guests are aware of your Mrs Jekyll and Hyde personalty, you will become the Achilles heel of your own business.

You put a very bad taste too the beginning of my day, thanks Mrs nasty

Good luck cause if you are like this after one year, I don't see a very positive future for Montagu Vines, what a shame such a nice setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Curious090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a truly amazing experience! Beautiful place, beautiful attention to detail. Such caring and kind hosts! Definitely a place I would highly recommend to anyone! Tranquil, quiet, peaceful... think of all the most beautiful words, that will be it!!
A GEM!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here to break up our drive from Plett to Stellenbosch and wished we could have stayed longer.

We had a room in the new section which are better than rooms in high end hotels such as the Westin. On arrival we were shown to the amazing room and offered a carafe of wine to enjoy on the balcony enjoying the amazing views over the olive grove of the sunset on the hill,what a touch.

Breakfast was lovely and again Campbell gaveus some advice of the route that we should take to Stellenbosch which we were glad we follwed.

A must stay when in Montagu, will be returning

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

After a last minute change of plans we arrived in Motagu looking for a place to stay. We were made so welcome and our every need was immediately seen to. Our spacious room with modern bathroom was immaculate and stylishly furnished with lovely views over the large gardens and vines. The best part was the breakfast the next morning in a sunny room, again with lovely views. Our hosts were charming and helpful and we would, without hesitation, stay here next time we are in Montagu. There is ample, safe free parking.

Room Tip: We paid a reasonable amount for a larger room. It looks like all of the rooms offer stunning views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay on Wye
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Super rooms with high quality fittings and furnishings... very well thought out..
Genuine and pleasing owners & staff.. breakfast really good.. well worth the visit and stay.... good value... place it on your Garden Route list of places to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.4 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.5 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Vines Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Vines Guesthouse

Property: Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Address: 2 Tanner Street | Western Cape, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Vines Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montagu Vines is situated in the historic conservation area of Montagu. The main farmhouse was built between 1900 and 1910 and reflects the early Victorian influenced Karoo style farmhouse of that period. The 6 Garden rooms and 2 courtyard rooms overlook the newly planted Olive Grove and compliment the stately main house. Following the damage to the vines from the floods of November 2008 the vineyard was removed in 2010 and replanted with an olive grove.We offer our guests a taste of old- fashioned comfort and luxury in the town of Montagu on the world famous "Route 62". You can relax in the splash pool set in the tranquil gardens with magnificent old oak and milkwood trees. Alternatively, you could lounge on the lawns enjoying the glorious views of the surrounding mountains whilst sipping a glass of local wine. Montagu Vines Guesthouse is just a stroll away from the centre of Montagu with its amenities that cater for all tastes and interests. There are restaurants, bistros, historic churches and tranquil gardens for the visitor to enjoy. Montagu Vines guesthouse is the perfect place for those intimate weekends, birthdays, and anniversaries or as a stopover whilst discovering "Route 62" and all it has to offer. You may be lucky and see the "resident" owls perched in the old oak tree or meet one of the big tortoises in the olive grove or surrounding areas that visit from the adjacent nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Montagu Vines Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing