We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old-town ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming old-town ambiance”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Since the first moment you walk into this old-world country hotel that still looks like you are somewhere in the middle of the 1930’s you are greeted by incredibly friendly staff, ready to help. All smiles all the time, from the receptionist, to the waiters to the porter.

We were given a lovely Montagu “Muscadel” as a warmer against the winter cold and first went to enjoy it in front of the fireplace in the lounge.

They then showed us to our room (room 34). The size of the hotel is actually very surprising. There are a couple of rooms attached to the main building, but then there is a lovely surprise when you walk through the foyer to the backyard.

It walks out onto a gorgeous courtyard, two swimming pools, a wellness centre and the rest of the rooms, located in two outside buildings. The garden is beautifully kept up and smelled already like early spring when we were there.

The room is just as old-world as the main building with high ceilings and huge windows. Our room was exceptionally spacious with a huge King size bed, lounging chairs, beautiful wood closet and dressing table. Since the room is so big it is quite cold but they do have air-con and it made the room warm quickly.

The bathroom is quite interestingly decorated…with very dark blue tiles from floor to bottom with a lot of huge mirrors which was quite a strange choice of interior design in comparison to the room, but it is very specious and there is a big bath as well as a shower which was a plus.
They have coffee and tea available in the room. The TV’s in the room only have the basic four channels of South Africa. If you want to watch DSTV you need to go watch it in the lounge. There is also a basic hairdryer available as well as one international power socket if necessary.
The hotel is allegedly known for its great food at the restaurant and even though we did not eat here the smell almost persuaded us to ditch our friends and stay for dinner. We did however come back and had a nightcap in-front of the fireplace enjoying the beautiful music produced by the regular piano man. That was absolutely stunning! Do not miss out on this.

Breakfast is included and served in the breakfast room as well as the tea garden which is lovely on a beautiful day. There is a compact but a good continental to choose from as well as a warm farm styled breakfast.

The hotel is very well located almost in the middle of town and you can easily walk to almost anywhere in town as well as enjoy the “Historical Walk through Montagu” from here (there are flyers to guide you available in the foyer)

Ask for a double bed or twin beds when you book to make sure you get what you want. As far as I know there are 2-3 different types of rooms to choose from. Off-street parking behind a gate is available to the guests, next to the hotel.

We will definitely return thanks to the good service and warm, friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 34 which has a huge king size bed. Make sure you specify if you want a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear TravellersNotes

Thank you for a very comprehensive review; you could have been a travel writer! You summed up exactly what we try to offer our guests, and I’m glad you enjoyed it. We had a late spring this year, and the colours in our garden still is a pretty sight.

We look forward to welcome you back in Montagu,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    214
    40
    18
    7
See reviews for
110
283
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have stayed at the delightful Montagu Country Hotel many times and each time the pleasure of being there is multiplied. My wife Penny and I recently ended a lovely trip along Route 62 with an evening of delicious, unpretentious country-style cooking (courtesy of a new, young and very talented chef), local wine, brandy and chatting to owner-managers Gert Lubbe and PJ Basson who, like all the staff, always walk the extra mile to make guests feel at home. The hotel gardens are in full bloom and beautifully relaxing. The number and variety of birds are a rare pleasure. Tippy the lovely little Spaniel is usually also close on hand for a bit of doggy love. To us, this dear old favolurite inn (complete with the piano player at dinner) is the best small town hotel in South Africa and no journey along Route 62 is complete without at least one overnight and a lerisurely meal there. Henrie Geyser, Food Writer iafrica.com

Room Tip: We always prefer a room on the ground floor next to the second pool. This time round we stayed in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear henrieg

It’s always great to welcome back guests to hotel, and I’m glad you had a good time here in Montagu. Your comments are very flattering, and I’ll be sure to share your review with our staff.
We look forward to your next visit, all the best for the festive season.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Town
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The gardens were in lovely condition. Glad the work on the dining-room is finished (it was in progress during my last visit). Enjoyed my stay (as always) - but for one little niggle - the water in the "warm" pool was not warm. Also, it was raining - but that's not really your fault! I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Patricia Anne G

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay in Montagu, even with rainy weather. The pool you are referring to is solar heated, and unfortunately in winter and in rainy conditions the heating effect is minimal.

We are looking forward to welcome you back, hopefully in sunny conditions – like we have 90% of the time in Montagu!

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

An antidote to the chain hotels with great art deco style and delightfully furnished. Lovely ambience in the restaurant dining to piano music. Free wifi and friendly staff. Just down the road there's a great open aviary and opposite a cd/bookshop

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Kuepper

Thank you for the great review. Your experience at the hotel sums up what we try to offer our visitors, and I'm glad you appreciate our style. I can you are well travelled, and especially enjoy your comment on us vs the chain hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back, we are forever doing changes to the hotel to get closer to goal of what we would like to offer guests.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strangnas, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A very personal and charming place to stay. Unfortunately one of the few remaining outposts for a cigar smoker in SA, the grand smoking lounge at the hotel has been closed! It would have been possible to make a smaller lounge in the windowed corner by putting up some interier walls.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Christer K

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, and also sharing your view on the “non – smoking” policy we adopted. We made use of Facebook to get the opinions of our followers on whether to go “non – smoking” or not in the main lounge area, and the overwhelming reponse was in that direction. You might find the comments interesting to read, just “like”
Montagu Country Hotel on Facebook, and read back in the past. You will also find lots of interesting stories there.

For smokers, we still have ample options on both our patio and front stoep, with ashtrays readily available. Hope to welcome you back in Montagu,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Once again the staff, management and owner of Montagu Country Hotel were amazing during my recent stay with friends. The rooms are lovely, restaurant and staff were friendly, helpful, and special mention must be made of Sammy the receptionist - utterly charming lady and so sweet.
You always leave Montagu feeling rested and refreshed, thanks to all!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Chantel E

Your heading for the review sums up what we try to offer here in the hotel. Sammy is an absolute star, and has been with us for almost 10 years. We are very proud of a low turnover in staff.

We look forward to have you back for some more rest, thank for all the compliments.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Spent a few days at this Hotel as we wanted to enjoy the makiti festival for the second time.Room allocated on first floor was very neat and a big plus was the giant sized jacuzzi!The garden was breathtaking and one could just sit for hours in this peaceful and serene environment. The staff was very friendly and the receptionist on duty(Jaques) went the extra mile to ensure that i was comfortable after sustaining a knee injury during my stay.The evening was very pleasant as the fireplaces were kept burning with a pianist playing in the background while one enjoyed a scrumptious meal.Just a pity the wellness centre was fully booked over the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Charlene M

Great to get another review from weekend visitors from Cape Town. Located only 2 hours from the Cape Town CBD, Montagu is fast becoming a popular stop for city folk wanting to experience country life. The guy on reception you refer is Jean, and he will be doing duty in the restaurant to expand his hospitality experience.

The wellness centre gets very busy, and we always advise to book before arrival. We look forward to welcome you back in Montagu,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
1.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
24.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 34 in Montagu
322 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Country Hotel

Property: Montagu Country Hotel
Address: Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only original Art Deco hotel in SA. 32 Bedrooms. Restaurant serving traditional cuisine. Modern Conference facilities, Wellness centre, Wedding packages. Classical car trips to Robertson Wine Route. Situated halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route on historical Route 62. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Montagu Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing