We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with charm and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A hotel with charm and atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a hotel which was built in the late nineteenth century and has the charm of years gone by.
Several rooms have been renovated and the owner is in the process of refurbishing the whole hotel - step by step. The public rooms are comfortably furnished and the service excellent.

The cuisine at the hotel is known to be the best in Montagu and the diningroom is cosy but can cater for large groups.

The patio and garden is lush with greenery and there are flowers everywhere. The pool is inviting and this is a lovely area where one can relax and have a drink. A delicious "cold platter" can be ordered outside on the patio (at a reasonable cost) and enjoyed together with local wines about which the owner, Gert, is knowledgeable and will be happy to advise.

Gert loves Classic Cars and will take you on a trip down Memory Lane in his beautifully maintained American 1956 De Soto. A visit to the nearby winelands is a must and the scenery alongside spectacular mountains, rivers, lakes and vineyards is an unforgettable experience.

The route from Cape Town via Montagu and Oudtshoorn, alongside the Langeberg Mountains and Northwards towards Colesberg is known as South Africa's Sunshine Route where you can be assured of warm hospitality, good weather and excellent food.

Room Tip: Request one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear TouristGuide

Thank you for a great review on the hotel. As a tourist guide, you are obviously well travelled, making your review so much more special to us.

We wish you a blessed festive season, and look forward to welcome you back in Montagu.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    215
    40
    18
    7
See reviews for
111
286
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here one night recently. We had a comfortable stay and the hotel is in a great location but it certainly wasn't our favourite hotel in South Africa.

The art deco theme was unique and fun but at times the hotel just felt dated. The air conditioning unit was very old, the windows single glazed and the room had no fridge. We also had two single beds pushed together after requesting a double room.

Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good but again the instrumental Lionel Richie music playing in the background just made the hotel feel dated rather than art deco!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Alex H

Thank you for the review, I’m glad you had a comfortable stay. As you will see from many of our reviews, we are constantly upgrading the hotel to maintain our standard. We have replaced more than 50% of air-conditioning units already, and will continue to do so in the off season. With regards to Lionel Richie music during breakfast, you must have mistaken us for another hotel. Apart from our piano music in the evening, performed by Kosie Hanekom, we play carefully selected music fitting in with our hotel theme.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Gert, the gregarious owner of this hotel, loves meeting his guests and taking them for tours of the nearby wine estates in his 1954 de Soto called Sorella de Soto. Staying in his art deco hotel reminds one of how country hotels used to be. The furniture and decor have been lovingly collected over many years, Sunday buffet lunch is a unique experience with piano accompaniment and excellent food at a very reasonable price.The two resident dogs and two beautiful cats help to create a welcoming and homely atmosphere. Montagu has some very interesting residents and a weekend just is not long enough to take part in their local activities. We attended the village market on the Saturday, an interesting art exhibition and the pre Christmas church service where the local school choirs and church choir gave an excellent performance.
I cant wait to return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the newly decorated rooms in the main building. The rooms are systematically being improved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Olga L

Thank you for your great review. We all learned from Gert about hospitality and attitude towards our guests, I’m glad you had a good time with him. I’m pleased you see our hotel as how country hotels used to be, that is exactly what we try to offer our guest.

We look forward to welcome you back, and wish you a happy festive season.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What was so nice about this hotel is its position in the picturesque and clean town of Montagu...the hotel is central to most shops and eateries, so once you have parked your car after a long journey, you don't have to drive to see the village life. Plus ... because the hotel prides itself on being retro, the rooms are beautifully spacious, and quirky with their individual retro furniture. Very comfortable too, and big windows to let the fresh air in. There's a large and pretty courtyard to sit in with lots of cool green vegetation. We spent the afternoon hiking in a private nature reserve and came back too late for dinner and the dining room was closed, but they very obligingly offered us soup and rolls in our room, it was after nine, and a Sunday,and we were very grateful, as they do not have a room service menu. Breakfast was first class!! ..with everything you could desire and good coffee. So all in all a nice , easy stay 'back in time'!!! Thank you Montagu Country Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear vikki b

Always nice to welcome guests from the North of South Africa – we work really hard to market Route 62 as an alternative to the highways, and see more and more South Africans using this route when travelling down to Cape Town. Thank you for the nice review, quite a compliment coming from a Top Contributor.

Wishing you all the best for the festive season, and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wonderful hotel loved it and all the art deco features the owner was a really freindly guy, loved the bright orange and long tailed birds on the garden feeders, also the dog. food very good, had best night sleep, peaceful, and enjoed sitting in front of hotel looking along street which was very quite, and drinking the local beer. Wonderful.

Room Tip: all the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyanalbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear kyanalbi

Thank you for the nice review on our hotel. The Art Deco is a fun part of what we offer, and the birds in the garden are becoming a big attraction.
We wish you all the best for the festive season, and look forward to welcome you back in Montagu.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel in winter, but I was too ill and had to come home. Very kindly they allowed us to hold over the balance of the break until I was well, which is a perfect example of going the extra mile for the guests. When we recently returned to Montagu all the reception staff remembered us and made us feel at home. Our room was very comfortable, with a HUGE bed (I would not like to turn that mattress) and well appointed bathroom facilities. I am not sure how many people the kitchen thought were going to eat off my plate but there was more than enough food on it, and I had to leave some as we were too well fed. Good room, good food, great atmosphere, wonderful staff and there is lots to do in the area. Yes we will come back.
Few points: someone has mentioned that the rooms only have Free View TV, and PJ has promised they are working on this. Next time we go we will take our own pillows as the hotel's have seen better days, but this is not only this hotel's problem; There should have been shampoo, soap and body lotion in the bathroom. I think most guests expect these now, in this class of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Mervyco

Thank you for the review, we were glad to have you back, and in good health! Glad to hear that you had a good time, and we look forward to welcome you back. As promised, we updated the selection of channels on our TV’s, now offering one extra channel, with more to follow soon. We have Rooibos dispensers in every bathroom with bath and shower gel, and a small bar of soap as well. We replace linen on a continued basis, and I will pay special attention to pillows on our next inspection.

Have a great festive season,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Since the first moment you walk into this old-world country hotel that still looks like you are somewhere in the middle of the 1930’s you are greeted by incredibly friendly staff, ready to help. All smiles all the time, from the receptionist, to the waiters to the porter.

We were given a lovely Montagu “Muscadel” as a warmer against the winter cold and first went to enjoy it in front of the fireplace in the lounge.

They then showed us to our room (room 34). The size of the hotel is actually very surprising. There are a couple of rooms attached to the main building, but then there is a lovely surprise when you walk through the foyer to the backyard.

It walks out onto a gorgeous courtyard, two swimming pools, a wellness centre and the rest of the rooms, located in two outside buildings. The garden is beautifully kept up and smelled already like early spring when we were there.

The room is just as old-world as the main building with high ceilings and huge windows. Our room was exceptionally spacious with a huge King size bed, lounging chairs, beautiful wood closet and dressing table. Since the room is so big it is quite cold but they do have air-con and it made the room warm quickly.

The bathroom is quite interestingly decorated…with very dark blue tiles from floor to bottom with a lot of huge mirrors which was quite a strange choice of interior design in comparison to the room, but it is very specious and there is a big bath as well as a shower which was a plus.
They have coffee and tea available in the room. The TV’s in the room only have the basic four channels of South Africa. If you want to watch DSTV you need to go watch it in the lounge. There is also a basic hairdryer available as well as one international power socket if necessary.
The hotel is allegedly known for its great food at the restaurant and even though we did not eat here the smell almost persuaded us to ditch our friends and stay for dinner. We did however come back and had a nightcap in-front of the fireplace enjoying the beautiful music produced by the regular piano man. That was absolutely stunning! Do not miss out on this.

Breakfast is included and served in the breakfast room as well as the tea garden which is lovely on a beautiful day. There is a compact but a good continental to choose from as well as a warm farm styled breakfast.

The hotel is very well located almost in the middle of town and you can easily walk to almost anywhere in town as well as enjoy the “Historical Walk through Montagu” from here (there are flyers to guide you available in the foyer)

Ask for a double bed or twin beds when you book to make sure you get what you want. As far as I know there are 2-3 different types of rooms to choose from. Off-street parking behind a gate is available to the guests, next to the hotel.

We will definitely return thanks to the good service and warm, friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 34 which has a huge king size bed. Make sure you specify if you want a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear TravellersNotes

Thank you for a very comprehensive review; you could have been a travel writer! You summed up exactly what we try to offer our guests, and I’m glad you enjoyed it. We had a late spring this year, and the colours in our garden still is a pretty sight.

We look forward to welcome you back in Montagu,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
1.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
24.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 34 in Montagu
330 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Country Hotel

Property: Montagu Country Hotel
Address: Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only original Art Deco hotel in SA. 32 Bedrooms. Restaurant serving traditional cuisine. Modern Conference facilities, Wellness centre, Wedding packages. Classical car trips to Robertson Wine Route. Situated halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route on historical Route 62. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Montagu Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing