We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montagu Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Situated in the most convenient spot to shops and restaurants, this hotel has beautiful gardens and very professional staff. The spa prices and services are not to be found in many places so a spa treatment is definitely a must.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Monica M

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. I’m glad you had a good time, and that you also made use of our wellness centre. Joan, our therapist, has been with us for 7 years, and has made this part of our business her own.

We look forward to welcome you back soon in Montagu.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    204
    38
    18
    7
See reviews for
105
274
32
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We are almost locals at The Montagu Country Hotel with at least 2 visits per year, staying for between 3-5 nights at a time.. We love it for many reasons, the staff are great, the food is yummy. The Wellness Spa has much to offer. The rooms are very comfortable, in winter the rooms in the hotel are good and in summer the garden rooms are the best. 2 swimming pools, one warmer than the other, and the gardens are spectacular. It is so lovely to sit outside and relax and enjoy the serenity that this hotel offers. IT IS A MUST.

Room Tip: Many rooms to choose from, all have different views so browse the website to get the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Robyn Harvey

Thank you for the review – we cherish our return business, and enjoy the opportunity to get to know our quests a little bit better. Montagu is only 2 hours’ drive from Cape Town, so it is quite easy to break away here any time of the year.

Safe travels for 2014, looking forward to see you back in Montagu soon.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We enjoyed the hospitality and scenery. We swam. It was nice. We liked the natural pool. The staff helped us with late dinner. The other guests were considerate and friendly. The staff were courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kasiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Kasiku

Thank you for the great review. Having review titles like your makes us very proud.

Enjoy the lovely summer weather we are having at the moment, and safe travels.

We look forward to welcome you back in Montagu,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Receptionist was efficient and very friendly - Thanks Sammy.
Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.
Rooms are spacious and well attended.
Dinner was excellent and lovely atmosphere created by pianist. (Kosie)
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
A really memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RouxvanVuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear RouxvanVuren

Thank you for the review. I’m glad you had a good time at the hotel, and will pass on your compliments to Kosie and rest of the staff. We trust you had safe journey back to Johannesburg.

Looking forward to welcome you back in Montagu,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed 4 awesome nights at the hotel, thanks to Adri, Sammy and all the rest of the staff who made us feel right at home. Great atmosphere, rooms, service, pools and all the rest. Will definitely stay here again. Cheers John and Anneme Offen.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sheersheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear sheersheer

Thank you for the nice review. Having guests at the hotel for a longer period is great for us at the hotel, we have the opportunity to get the know our clients better.
We look forward to your next visit, safe travels.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked in for two nights at this hotel and all I can say is how friendly and accommodating they were. We booked in on the special which included a massage at their heath spa. We really enjoyed the whole stay and their food was first class. The lamb shank was fantastic which was served by a very pleasant staff compliment. I was slightly to big for my bed (six foot four inches) but was quickly moved to a larger room the following day. This staff went the extra mile all the time. We were sorry when our time was up but will return in the near future.

Room Tip: Opt for the luxury rooms if it is in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Adrian N

Thank you for the review, it seems you made use of all the facilities at the hotel, and I’m glad you had a good experience. We will continue with the wellness packages, it is very popular. I would suggest a tour of the winelands in one of our American Dream Cars with your next visit.

Have a great New Year,

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We enjoyed the hotel's grounds. There are ample garden areas where you can relax and inside it is uniquely decorated. The rooms however are a bit small considering the price paid, but that is about all I can fault.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Groeniexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Groeniexyz

Thank you for the review. Our pianist, Kosie Hanekom, also helps us with the upkeep of our gardens, and we have a beautiful show of colour this year. You stayed in our classic rooms in the main hotel building, and I must agree that 5 of the 14 rooms upstairs are smaller than the rest. We have converted some of these rooms into suites a couple of months ago, and will do more in the off season. Please contact me directly when you book us again, and I will make sure you stay in one of the recently upgraded rooms.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
1.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
24.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#6 of 33 in Montagu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 33 in Montagu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Country Hotel

Property: Montagu Country Hotel
Address: Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only original Art Deco hotel in SA. 32 Bedrooms. Restaurant serving traditional cuisine. Modern Conference facilities, Wellness centre, Wedding packages. Classical car trips to Robertson Wine Route. Situated halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route on historical Route 62. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montagu Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing