We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have revisited this lovely old hotel on a number of visits to South Africa. One visits the hotel for its charming decor, old world values and family friendly ambience. One must not expect 5 star service but relax and unwind as although eager to please service is Montagu time. This does not detract from the overall experience. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Royal G

Always great to welcome back guest to the hotel. We look forward to see you again soon, there is lots of changes at the hotel, I'm sure you'll approve.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were here the second time, got rooms in the main building - old style with noise during the night (the first time we had nice rooms in the back-building, much better). Nice and friendly staff, excellent restaurant for diner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Wolfgang S

Thank you for the review and compliments. Montagu became famous for the mineral hot springs, and from our hotel, you can visit these springs located 2.5km from here. We also have a mineral well on our property, and guest can enjoy a private bath in wellness centre, soaking in this mineral rich water before or after a massage.

Looking forward to welcome you back some day,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

4 of us stayed for 1 night as part of trip along Garden route. Restaurant food was excellent both for dinner and breakfast. Staff were very helpful and jolly. A pleasure to stay there. This is a art deco styled hotel with original furniture but is airconditioned. Rooms are large and comfortable. If you want modern this is not for you but if you want a comfortable stay with good food and good service then it is a very good place

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear CFK16RO

Thank for the review. You summed up our offering very neatly! We are constantly looking for more period furniture, and the fun element for both guests and ourselves lies in this Art Deco theme.

We look forward to welcome you back some day, and show you all changes happening at the moment here at the hotel.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Good location in the centre of town. Nice garden. Safe parking. Helpful staff. good restaurant for evening meal. ................................ Old style house with large rooms. OK WiFi in some parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erik H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Erik H L

Thank you for the review. Montagu is very popular with guests from Scandinavia, I think the great weather is a big draw card.

We look forward to welcome you back some day,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

How can this hotel keep going it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. For retro try old, room 10 air con installed but still with the wrapping on, cracked sink and toilet, rotten floorboards, I think that it should be 0 star the food was also very poor, starter of kingclip was so tough it was taken off the bill, the main course was not much better with very over cooked veg and lamb bits in a hard pastry basket never again!!! Breakfast was a joke all the food being taken away at 9-00am had over coked boiled eggs

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetset4241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, Owner at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Jetset4241

If you didn’t mention the fish that you send back, I would have thought you stayed in another hotel.
Our duty manager told me first thing in the morning about the fish that was dry and that he did not charge you for it. We sent back the whole batch of Kingklip.

The room you stayed in is a classic room which is especially popular with single guests. The room is north facing and overlook the garden. We just replaced the air conditioning with the most modern example of air conditionings which use little electricity and is very quite split units.
The Oregon pine floors has been sanded in December and from my point of view looks beautiful for floors put in almost a hundred years ago.

I realise that “Art Deco” is not the taste of everybody, but specialist from America that visited our hotel recently was amaized at the collection of good quality Art Deco we have in the hotel.

I posted a picture of room 10 for reference.

Kind regards,

Gert Lubbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, and enjoyed our stay very much. We had a gigantic room with a gigantic bathroom..... all in the Art Deco style that the hotel portrays! Wonderful, very different to anywhere else.... unique. The staff were fabulous, friendly attentive, and the food was superb... never mind the superb value on top! Stay here for 2 or 3 nights if youre en route somewhere via the Route 62. Drive to the nearby winelands, or get a mini bus trip if you want to enjoy the numerous wine tastings??

This is one of the best places to visit in South Africa, the wine the weather, The Montague Hotel. PERFECT!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear solotwa

Thank you for a fabulous review. It always great to see guests enjoy our offering so much. With the current exchange rate, it is most definitely a bargain for UK travellers to visit us, and enjoy all we have to offer. I would suggest a trip to the wine route in one of our classic American cars from the 1950's, a great way to explore and having to worry about drinking an d driving.

Safe travels,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Montagu hotel is a charming Art Deco property with many period furnishings and full of character. The rooms are excellent, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food, however, doesn't live up to the surroundings. Dinner (a mild lamb curry substituted for the lamb chops which were not available) was very average and the vegetables were overcooked.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear David W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, and appreciate our Art Deco furniture.

I discussed your comment on the Bobotie with our chef, and the necessary attention will be given.

Safe travels,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
1.5 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
94 reviews
24.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
7.7 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#10 of 35 in Montagu
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 28 in Montagu
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Country Hotel

Address: Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range: £79 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only original Art Deco hotel in SA. 32 Bedrooms. Restaurant serving traditional cuisine. Modern Conference facilities, Wellness centre, Wedding packages. Classical car trips to Robertson Wine Route. Situated halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route on historical Route 62. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montagu Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing