We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, relaxing stay in beautiful location”
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #5 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed in one of the garden rooms for 1 night. Very quiet, well appointed room with large shower and nestled into pathways and flowers. Hosts very pleasant, breakfast good. Perfect for an overnight stay on the mountain route. Recommend a trip to the hot springs resort but dont expect to find lots of nightlife here - place is deserted after 8pm! Pack the mosquito repellent too - we got bitten for the first (and only) time on our entire trip when staying here...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Friendly, warm and professional hosts. Excellent breakfast. Well maintained pool and garden. Beautiful garden suite.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frauke_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This is a lovely, friendly place to stay. We did not have a booking but luckily a "garden room" was available. The room was a recent addition to the main house. It is very spacious and the ensuite bathroom is huge. The Garden in which the room is situated is full of fabulous plants and flowers. The guest house is within safe walking distance of several restaurants. Breakfast was served in the traditional style dining room and was very good. The hospitality we received was very warm. I would recommend Airlies to anyone driving through Montague and needs a place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The place and the owners were everything we expected from previous positive reviews.
The dissapointment came by being bitten to distraction by mosquitos all night!
We stayed in one of the (charming) garden rooms,and there were no mosquito nets or repellants and the windows had been left open. We were given no prior warning advice from the proprietors.
When asked at breakfast if we'd had a comfortable night, I mentioned the problem and surprisingly received no apology, just the comment that it was 'that time of the year'!
I would suggest they address this problem to avoid further discomfort to future guests

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2011

Dear Norman and Linda,
Thank you for your honest review.
We are sorry to hear about the mosquito problem. At the time, we did not realise that it was such a problem, as we have had very few mosquitos this summer. We have subsequently taken precautions by switching on the mosquito repellents every night.
(fortunately the mosquitos in this part of South Africa are harmless, except for being a nuisance)
Thank you also for you kind words "Lovely time. Thanks." in our guest book.
We do hope to see you again some day.
Regards.
Tielman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Wonderful garden with big lovely pool. Fantastic breakfast served by the very pleasant housekeepers. Flowers in the garden and on the table. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne189839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We had a nice stay at this guesthouse and received good tips from the owners for restaurants and walks in the environment. Nice breakfast and nice people. We left something in the room and the owners contacted us on this - very kind!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoletteBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We had room #3 upstairs, the room is very pretty with lots of space and it's own character. The open concept of the bath tub adds charming to the room, the hidden toilet gives lots of fun. There is a good-size of pool at the backyard in a lovely garden where we had a chance to use and enjoyed. The owners, Corrie and Tielman, treated us like guests of importance. Corrie is very good in house decoration and handicrafts. She decorated the breakfast table and even made the little watermelon in a star-shape. Tielman's self-baked bread is wonderful. We took more than normal.

The B&B's location is right in the middle of the town. The town itself is a lovely small town and is very safe to walk around. Having traveled from Cape Town we were wondering that most of the houses left the gates opened! Our little daughter had a great time at the hot spring pool about 1 km from the town. It is not only a pool but well-done like a play ground.

Not far from B&B there is a bird sanctuary and a very nice trail that joins the town and the hot spring.

We regret that we only stay one night, if not because we have fixed our whole trip, we definitely will stay few more nights with Corrie and Tielman in Montagu. My husband said Montagu is his most favorite town of all the 3-week traveling in South Africa and so do I.

Thank you very much Corrie and Tielman.

Angkana, Chris, and little Alena

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koelnsperger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malherbe Guesthouse
Malherbe Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Montagu
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Address: 36 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: £54 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience nostalgia with a memorable stay at Arlies guest house. You can experience an abundant choice of old and new luxury and comfort beyond your expectations : choose to sleep under a blanket instead of a duvet just like it used to be : have a cozy hot water bottle in your bed or a modern electric blanket : indulge in a deep cast iron bath on legs or a shower : walk on beautifully aged creaky warm wooden floors : enjoy the smell, warmth and convenience of a fireplace in your room. : appreciate the extravagant extra high pressed ceilings full of skill and character The soft chime of church bells will wake you blissfully in this unique historic village. Together with the smell of old fashioned aromas like coffee and cinnamon in preparation of your breakfast. For a moment in time you can stand still, dwell in your imagination and go back in time. We will give you a splendid and memorable experience in our 107 year old home. The only difference will be electricity instead of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing