We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roadtrip-Stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #4 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roadtrip-Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay and the greate breakfast! unexpected but nice, the toilet is hidden in the wardrobe. No TV, but free Wi-Fi in good quality. Corrie, Thielmann and their dogs are very good and kind hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    92
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
217
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in this precious B&B and found everything to our liking. We stayed in the Garden Room which was spacious, clean, comfortable and very quiet (there is no t.v. in the room which I found refreshing:) Free internet in your room. Location is perfectly central so you can walk to the shops and restaurants. A beautiful breakfast is served in the morning and the owners were helpful and kind. We also had a wonderful dinner right around the corner at the Old Tavern.

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luminous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Lovely B+B, perfect location in Montagu! Wonderful hosts and delicious breakfast! Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireRoodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you, Claire. It has been a pleasure to have you and your family/friends here at Airlies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Lovely, relaxing weekend stay, home away from home in a comfortable setting. Delicious hot breakfast with lots of variety, warm hospitality from Corrie and Tielman. Thoroughly worthwhile base to explore Route 62. Break from the rushed city life.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Corrie and Tielman were the perfect hosts. We met the dogs and not forgetting the parrot who was very sociable. Airlies was a real surprise and the rooms were delightful. Breakfast was a feast with Tielmans home made bread included. We spent 4 lovely days in Montagu and felt we were very lucky to have chosen Airlies as our base. Thank you Corrie and Tielman

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nika u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Garden Room overlooking the pool at Airlies was a lovely choice of accommodation inthis centrally situated period property in the centre of Montagu. The room was artistically decorated, well furnished and spacious, At the time of our visit the temperature was in the 90's and we would have appreciated some air-conditioning. The oscillating floor fan had difficulty in keeping the room sufficiently cool. A room safe was also noticeably missing. On the pluse side the owners Tielman and his wife Corrie do everything to make their guests feel at home, and can supply lots of information about places to eat, but be warned that this is not a late night town: we were advised by the Montagu Hotel that no further food orders were being taken and it was not even 8.30pm. The breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The owners were also very forthcoming in providing historical information about the lovely town of Montagu, and gave us maps showing places of interest to see on a walking tour. One small complaint is that the guest house is not licensed to sell alcohol. A cold beer on arrival however was conjured up by our host. But no mini-bar facility which is the norm for most places we have visited.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Well, The title of my review must give you a clue.
I've been lucky enough to stay with Tielman and Corrie (and Dogs) at Airlies three times now in the last three years. It is the most beautiful, comfortable, quiet and welcoming place you could ever imagine. When you arrive, Tielman and Corrie welcome you not only to their guest house but also into their home. Style, Attention to Detail, Service and Comfort are a part of everyday life at Airlies. A breakfast that has to be seen to be believed, served either if the superb Dining Room or in the Garden by the Pool. Start with an enormous choice of freshly prepared fruits, cerials, yoghurts, cheeses, Home Made Breads and Jams, and a freshly cooked breakfast prepared to your liking by Tielman. Me... when I've finished that lot I need a snooze! The garden and pool are at your disposal to enjoy as you wish and, a good book with the dogs asleep at my feet are heaven. Airlies is a Gem, a haven of peace rarely found, in a town which is simply gorgeous. Superb restaurants a plenty to choose your evening meal, a stroll in the town centre or, a brisk walk in the hills and stunning countryside.
Tielman and Corrie... Thank you so much for yet another fantastic stay in your exquisite home, I really did not want to leave. Hoping to see you both again soon.

Room Tip: Every room is different at Airlies and, every one is special. Either in the Main House or the Garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Property: Airlies Gastehuis
Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Tielman and Corrie will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing