We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too fussy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #4 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bunia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Too fussy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

A pleasant old house in Montagu but, for my taste, too full of furniture and knick-knacks. We had a room inside the main house, the bathroom does not have a proper door, there was no shower, negatives for me. The rooms outside the main house may be better. The entrance hall smelled of the old dog that had recently been taken in by owners, for me, not a welcome odour. Breakfast was adequate but ordinary, nothing to lift it above the average B&B.

Room Tip: not in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Geoff and Esther,
Thank you for your review of Airlies B&B. We take note and will improve.
Thank you also for your remark in our guestbook, which reads: "Thank you, we are enjoyed our stay".
Kind regards.
Tielman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    93
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
220
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This Guest house is simply charming as are the hosts Corrie and Tielmann.The accomodation is very comfortable and had a wonderful large bathroom with huge modern shower.The breakfasts are large and very well presented with attention to guest diets.Corrie and Tielmann really make you feel warm and welcome and they will share their wonderful knowledge of the area and the beautiful town of Montagu and its wonderful history.The house itself is a historic gem with real scottish history.This is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely and set apart from the main house in the lush gardens with your own terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLINSCOTTISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

What a fabulous experience! Absolutely worth a visit and what a beautiful setting. Will recommend any day! Thank you for a great experience. The room was very spacious with a old theme but at the same time very modern with everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was a treat too with a huge selection.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Marnu,
Thank you for the kind review.
It has been a pleasure to have met you and Briar here at Airlies.
Tielman & Corrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay and the greate breakfast! unexpected but nice, the toilet is hidden in the wardrobe. No TV, but free Wi-Fi in good quality. Corrie, Thielmann and their dogs are very good and kind hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in this precious B&B and found everything to our liking. We stayed in the Garden Room which was spacious, clean, comfortable and very quiet (there is no t.v. in the room which I found refreshing:) Free internet in your room. Location is perfectly central so you can walk to the shops and restaurants. A beautiful breakfast is served in the morning and the owners were helpful and kind. We also had a wonderful dinner right around the corner at the Old Tavern.

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luminous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Lovely B+B, perfect location in Montagu! Wonderful hosts and delicious breakfast! Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireRoodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you, Claire. It has been a pleasure to have you and your family/friends here at Airlies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Lovely, relaxing weekend stay, home away from home in a comfortable setting. Delicious hot breakfast with lots of variety, warm hospitality from Corrie and Tielman. Thoroughly worthwhile base to explore Route 62. Break from the rushed city life.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.1 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#9 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Property: Airlies Gastehuis
Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Deon and Jaco will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing