We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #5 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed at Airlie for the second time last week. The service and comfort levels were top class . We stayed in the rear cottage where we had both apartments. You cannot fault Airlie and even the grey parrot welcomed us again. Both Tielman and Connie welcomed us and made us feel at home. we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnc567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Delightful house in Montagu. Service was friendly, room was lovely with good beds. We would love to return. Great breakfeast and terrific parrot! Thanks to Corrie and Tielman for making us feel quite at home. We have always loved visiting Montagu and now we have found the perfect guesthouse to return to.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A pleasant old house in Montagu but, for my taste, too full of furniture and knick-knacks. We had a room inside the main house, the bathroom does not have a proper door, there was no shower, negatives for me. The rooms outside the main house may be better. The entrance hall smelled of the old dog that had recently been taken in by owners, for me, not a welcome odour. Breakfast was adequate but ordinary, nothing to lift it above the average B&B.

Room Tip: not in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear Geoff and Esther,
Thank you for your review of Airlies B&B. We take note and will improve.
Thank you also for your remark in our guestbook, which reads: "Thank you, we are enjoyed our stay".
Kind regards.
Tielman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This Guest house is simply charming as are the hosts Corrie and Tielmann.The accomodation is very comfortable and had a wonderful large bathroom with huge modern shower.The breakfasts are large and very well presented with attention to guest diets.Corrie and Tielmann really make you feel warm and welcome and they will share their wonderful knowledge of the area and the beautiful town of Montagu and its wonderful history.The house itself is a historic gem with real scottish history.This is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely and set apart from the main house in the lush gardens with your own terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLINSCOTTISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

What a fabulous experience! Absolutely worth a visit and what a beautiful setting. Will recommend any day! Thank you for a great experience. The room was very spacious with a old theme but at the same time very modern with everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was a treat too with a huge selection.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marnu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Marnu,
Thank you for the kind review.
It has been a pleasure to have met you and Briar here at Airlies.
Tielman & Corrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay and the greate breakfast! unexpected but nice, the toilet is hidden in the wardrobe. No TV, but free Wi-Fi in good quality. Corrie, Thielmann and their dogs are very good and kind hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in this precious B&B and found everything to our liking. We stayed in the Garden Room which was spacious, clean, comfortable and very quiet (there is no t.v. in the room which I found refreshing:) Free internet in your room. Location is perfectly central so you can walk to the shops and restaurants. A beautiful breakfast is served in the morning and the owners were helpful and kind. We also had a wonderful dinner right around the corner at the Old Tavern.

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luminous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingna Lodge
Kingna Lodge
#7 of 27 in Montagu
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Address: 36 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: £55 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience nostalgia with a memorable stay at Arlies guest house. You can experience an abundant choice of old and new luxury and comfort beyond your expectations : choose to sleep under a blanket instead of a duvet just like it used to be : have a cozy hot water bottle in your bed or a modern electric blanket : indulge in a deep cast iron bath on legs or a shower : walk on beautifully aged creaky warm wooden floors : enjoy the smell, warmth and convenience of a fireplace in your room. : appreciate the extravagant extra high pressed ceilings full of skill and character The soft chime of church bells will wake you blissfully in this unique historic village. Together with the smell of old fashioned aromas like coffee and cinnamon in preparation of your breakfast. For a moment in time you can stand still, dwell in your imagination and go back in time. We will give you a splendid and memorable experience in our 107 year old home. The only difference will be electricity instead of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing