We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stop in the region”
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #5 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raanana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stop in the region”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stopped for the night on the way to Cape Town. we took 2 rooms and found them nicely set and equipped. great location, very clean and amazing breakfast. Very warm welcome and friendly environment. strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    93
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
220
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was truly a wonderful place to stay. Our hosts were friendly and obliging and the uniqueness of our room made our stay a new and wonderful experience. We will certainly be recommending Airles to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christie55510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

the service was excellent, thank you so much for waiting up so late and get up so early. appreciate it. will stay over again when i will be working in the area again. nice garden and everything, can relax

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christalene2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you, glad we could be of assistance. Hope to see you back, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a wonderful visit to Airlies Guest house which was stylish, comfortable, clean, hospitable and excellent value. There was nothing negative! The host gave us information on restaurants close-by and we had a very nice meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you, it was a real pleasure. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I enjoyed the stay in the guesthouse, our host make us confortable and informative. I really liked the victorian bath in the room, they was huge and we was able to take a shower inside.
The breakfast was really good and pretty, I will recommend this guesthouse nicely situated and everything can be done walking ( if you stay in Montagu).
I will recomend for romantic getaway

Room Tip: number 3 and 4 have nice victorian bath but no shower, you have to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belegaer_cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you very much, your review is highly appreciated and we would love to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed a lovely, relaxing time. I'm sure we shall return when the weather is a little warmer and hope to see the garden in all its glory. The location is superb - being within very short walking distance to several great restaurants and to the small market beside the church on a Saturday morning. Breakfast each morning kept us going all day and the hosts are a delightful couple. The main house is old world charm where we ate each morning, but our larger than average bedroom and ensuite bathroom was clean and modern and included thoughtful provision of such things as a small torch and an umbrella.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jangles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you very much, your review is highly appreciated and we would love to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Large thatched home in great location in Montague. Friendly hosts, large accommodation with a luxury olde world feel. A great idea to have local restaurant menu's on hand to help you decide where to dine, lovely pool area, parking and a great breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andreaandmark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
thank you for the kind review, it has been a pleasure to meet you. Hope to see you whine soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#6 of 34 in Montagu
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Property: Airlies Gastehuis
Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Deon, Jaco and Hannes will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing