We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a romantic dinner”
Review of Simply Delicious

Simply Delicious
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Please take note Templetons has closed down The new eatery at Four Oaks is called Simply Delicious It is open for lunch and dinnerIt is now run by Simon & Wendy Bernstein who's motto is IT'S ABOUT THE FOOD our aim is to deliver the best food at resonable pricesThe new restaurant serves light lunch and dinner which can be eaten indoors or outside in our wonderful courtyard which is shaded by two 100 year old safforn pear trees.light lunches with fresh organic produce, mouthwatering chicken pies, a double burger with a twist and delicious salads. A daily specials board reflects the season with gourmet soups in winter and cool meals in summer. We make a legendary baked lemon cheesecake, scones with jam and genuine Devonshire style clotted cream. Dinners is a fair of good old fashioned home cooking with a modern twist, generous portions that always arrive at the table beautifully presentedOur wine list reflects the best that the Robertson Wine Valley
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Nice decor for a romantic dinner with the dark burgundy walls. Good freshly prepared tasty food, nicely presented, good and prompt sevice oh and a dark chocolate mousse to die for. Excellent wine list. What more do you need? Candles maybe?
The new owners of this restaurant will turn it into a winner by their hard work and dedication. Good luck.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chouboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Simply Delicious, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review
I so happy to read that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for the useful comments on how we can improve
I hope to welcome you back one day if you visit the area again

Kind Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Simply Delicious
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were somewhat surprised by the demeanor of the host/waiter/owner during our visit to Simply Delicious. However, we were very impressed by the food and found it to be absolutely delicious! We would recommend based solely on the food -- but not necessarily for the atmosphere.

Thank Jillaine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Simply Delicious, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for the review I glad that you enjoyed the food not sure what you found strange with my manner. I look forward to hosting you again if you return to the area

Kind Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We went to Simply delicious as we had dined years ago at the place when it was Templeton's.
But what a let down!
When we were greeted by the new owner in a washed out,ill fitting jeans, we actually wanted to walk away, which sadly we did not do.
In a historic place like Four Oaks I expect an impeccably dressed host, but that might be just me.
On recommendation of the owner, host and waiter, we ordered yellow tail and sadly,again, did not ask the price, as we are living in Cape Tow, dine out regularly in our excellent fish restaurants and therefore saw no need.
The fish was so salty, we had trouble to eat it.
The vegetables were cooked beyond recognition and equally salty.
The desert is not worth mentioning either and we asked for the bill.
What we get is a tiny slip, obviously out of some old fashioned adding machine with a hand written sum total.
Wanting to escape this dreadful experience as fast as we could, we paid the outrageous price and fled.
Back at our guest house, the excellent Montagu Vines, we found out that we were charged R 160 for the yellow tail, only because this price appeared on the "bill" 3x and 3 of us had it.
Never ever had we paid R160 for yellow tail at any really recommendable fish restaurant in Cape Town and surrounds.
I really hope for the owners that we came at an exceptionally bad day to their restaurant otherwise I see yet another owner at this troubled place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnaHobein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Simply Delicious, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank for the review as we are the new owners we are never happy to see that guests are unhappy with the meal.
We want our guests to have a relaxed time when they dine with us and hence the dress code
With regard to your meal I dont doubt that you did not enjoy it but what I find strange is my wife and I table check every table and at no stage during your visit did you mention your unhappiness.

With regard to the price we pay a huge cost to get fresh fish in the restaurant and I can assure you that the mark up is fair. I very curious to know which desserts you ate as my wife is a qualified pastry chef and we have never had any complaints with the desserts

I truly sorry that you had a negative time and just wish you had bought it to our attention on the night so that we could have dealt with it then and not over a social media site

Kind Regards
Simon and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were recommended to dine at Four Oaks as we had been slightly disappointed by our last meal at Jessica's, our normal restaurant in Montagu. First impressions were very good with the very attractive dining room and the pleasant lady who greeted us and apparently is the chef. The food was of a good but not memorable standard and the local wine was reasonable. We then asked for espresso coffees and were treated to a serious lecture by the owner about the medical evidence that coffee should not be drunk in hot climates. I was reminded of Basil Fawty It took strong persistence on our part that we really wanted a coffee despite his repeated objections.
I then subsequently asked for the bill and was presented with a small slip of paper that probably came out of an adding machine but was unreadable apart from the handwritten total at the bottom. I pointed out that I could not read it and he proceeded to write in the figures and list the items. I pointed out that this was not, in my view, a proper bill and he went away and prepared a proper bill on headed paper. We found this whole experience rather bizarre

    • Value
    • Service
Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Simply Delicious, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Strange Customer Experience

Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is never nice to read that someone did not enjoy there time with us. I do however find it a little strange that after 14 months of trading this is the first negative review ever written with regard to the food. All previous reviews are very positive with regard to our food standard and service

With regard to the coffee it was not a lecture as you have stated I was passing on information I had received and I did serve you the coffee as requested and you did not have to request it several times as stated

Again with regard to the bill I have never had a problem with the way it is presented since we opened I guess that is your personal option which you are allowed

I find you reference about me to defamatory and to be honest quiet rude

I'm sorry if we did not meet your standard

Kind Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is definitely a contender for Jessica's crown. Visited in January and previous visits to Montagu have led us to Jessica's but we were told that it had dipped and had lost their chef, so this was recommended. And what a recommendation, probably the best meal we had this annual trip to Southern Africa. Starters of brie in filo parcels and stuffed mushroom were tasty, elegantly presented and just enough in terms of quantity. Mains followed - Yellow Tail in a cream sauce, cooked to perfection and Pork Kassler, also cooked well - succulent and not dry (common with pork in lesser quality restaurants). This is a new upcoming restaurant, so please support it - service excellent and value for money - well you would pay triple this in fashionable Franschoek or Cape Town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lenjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Simply Delicious, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful write up. We said from the day we opened we wanted to become the best eatery in Montagu. So it gives us so much passion and pride when we read guests had a wonderful meal with us and that we are on the right path

We will continue to strive to become the no1 ranked eatery in Montagu

We hope that on your annual visits you will now come and enjoy a meal with us

Kind Regards
Simon and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Delicious also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Simply Delicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing