We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lodge not so good safari”
Review of White Lion Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Lodge
chiselton, uk.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge not so good safari”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lodge was by far the best that we have stayed in. Food was ok and wine selection excellent. Staff very attentive and friendly.
Unfortunately found the trips out on safari too long. To see the big game or any other animals it is at least 1 hour each way, therefore it makes the experience a little too long in comparison with other safaris we have been on.
Although we did see some good game and plenty of flora and fauna, the travel to see the big 5 was to long, because of this it seemed slightly rushed at times when we did get to spot.
Overall not our best experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    7
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

As first time visitors to South Africa, White Lion Lodge was our introduction to the whole safari experience and what an experience it was. The Lodge itself was luxurious and comfortable, the staff were delightful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Israel, the ranger, is a gentle soul and his love and deep knowledge of the natural world was evident. He made sure that we saw the best that Sanbona has to offer, from the white lions, fat on their eland kill, rhinos, elephants, buffalo, countless antelopes, to a tiny mouse and the endangered riverine rabibit. The sight of a cheetah family feasting on their Springboch kill six feet from our vehicle will stay with us for ever. Isreal, Libby and Alicia thanks for a truly memorably time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at the White Lion Lodge.

We are so pleased that you allowed yourself to be exposed to the African wilderness and from what we have gathered it seems like you had the most amazing time when you went on the game drives.

I am glad you had such a great experience at our lodge. I have passed your kind comments to all the staff who really appreciates it. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This lodge is a perfect place for relaxation, adventure and a lot more. Beautiful setting, tranquil with all modern interior combined with traditional outside look . Exceeded all my expectation !
Clean , neat and very well designed rooms/cottages. Incredible location and setting.
Very friendly and efficient staff. The ranger Gerry , very knowledgeable . Highly recommended place in my view !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janusz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Many thanks for such a detailed and kind review about the stay that you had here with us. I will be sure to pass it on to all the staff members.

It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that it was one of the best lodging house experiences that you have ever had. What an accolade?

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. I am delighted that you liked your room, our location and above all found our attention to detail flawless.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The White Lion Lodge in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immenstaad, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stay two nights there and it was fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable and lovely.enjoy thesilence on the terrace.all people on the lodge gave the best to realize a pleasant stay. Special thanks to israel,our guide. The game drives were very informative. It was a highlight in our holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArminundGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had such a memorable stay with us. Your opinion counts a lot and is highly motivating for the entire team. Therefore, it is wonderful to read that you relished the atmosphere and service.

It makes us very happy that you enjoyed a perfect service and relaxing stay with us, as well as appreciated the game drives.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to White Lion Lodge on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The logde and the people there are so lovely! Especially the ranger Israel is excellent! He has a great knowledge about the nature and the animals. He loves his job and you can see it as well.
The cook cooks delicious and she is also very friendly to the guests. Gerhild places a high value on the guests to be in contact with them and she is also happy with them in the evening together.
Every room is decorated with a lot of lovely details and love. You have a feeling to have arrived in paradise!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you felt as though you were in paradise- as that is exactly how we want you to feel. Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share them following your stay with us.

It makes us very happy that you had some time to relax and that you appreciated the game drives.

I have passed your constructive and kind comments to all the staff members who take great pride in the level of service they provide to our guests. We appreciate your time in writing this review. And I hope that with your overall experience - we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to White Lion Lodge on a future visit.

Warm regards from the Klein Karoo

Gerhild Cuje-Jakoby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

If you want to experince true beauty in nature as well as people, this is the place to go. The Lodge is uber magnificent with attention to detail in the finishings with so many extraordinary art pieces and special touches. If a room with a view is what you always wanted, here it is. Lying in bed at dawn or evening you look across into the amazing Karoo with all its splendour of fauna and floral.
The staff are all treasures in their own right withmagnificent food produced by Libby which had your taste buds going and your mouth watering for the next course. With such friendly staff you wanted for nothing.
Israel,our guide was a man with soul. His knowledge is extraordinary. We saw cheetah really close up, giraaffe peering in the window, rhino, all the buck you could wish to see,hippo and the white lion. A baby elephant had been born just 3 days before so the mom and aunties were very protective so no sighting for us.Who could wish for more.
An easy very senic drive from Cape Town and such welcoming warm staff makes this a a must return experince. Thank you Gerry and all from White lion Lodge. Will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
This bunch of compliments is just impressing! Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review about the stay you had with us at White Lion Lodge.

It is an honour and very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you had such a magnificent experience – in all the aspects we offer.

Your compliments make me very proud of my team and I will be sure to pass it on to all the members, in particular Israel and Libby.

Thank you so much for your time to post your impressions and to offer other travellers a glimpse of what can be expected in the Karoo Wilderness Retreat.

Warm regards from the Klein Karoo

Gerhild Cuje-Jakoby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spend a fantastic weekend at the lodge and where spoilt the minute we arrived. Every room was decorated with such detail and love, that even only being there for two days allows you to completely wind down, The lunch was served and off we went on a most informative tour on flora of the Karoo. Israel was extremely knowledgeable and was willing to share and answer all questions. The next day we went on an extended game drive trying to full fill all our wishes. White Lions were on top of our list, which we managed to see first thing. A cheetah family with a fresh kill was the highlight of the drive. We will definitely be back. Thank you Gerhild and her team.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on your stay here at the lodge.

I am glad that you had such a wonderful experience here in the tranquillity of the Klein Karoo. It is also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed excellent service and a relaxing atmosphere as well as appreciated the game drives.

Your compliments make me very proud of my team and I certainly shared your feedback with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back at White Lion Lodge.

Warm regards from the Klein Karoo

Gerhild Cuje-Jakoby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
23.2 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
23.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 34 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
23.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
23.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Lodge

Property: White Lion Lodge
Address: on the Sanbona Wildlife Reserve, Montagu 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion Lodge is situated on the Sanbona Wildlife Reserve a 3 hours drive from Cape Town. Sanbona is home to free self-sustaining White Lions, the Big Five and the endangered riverine rabbit. The privately owned White Lion Lodge offers luxury accommodation, exceptional personal service and delicious cuisine. The Lodge lies in the southern part of the Reserve and is set along a tranquil, remote river valley offering an ultimate Karoo experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Lion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing