We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pick-your-jaw-off-the-floor wonderful!”
Review of White Lion Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Lodge
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Pick-your-jaw-off-the-floor wonderful!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Even though I had heared that his lodge is something special I was not at all prepared for the magnificent rooms with a view that equal parts took my breath away and made me want to squeal like a five year old! Apart from this, everyone made us feel welcome and we were fed and wined like at no other place I have ever been. This lodge is worth a visit for the dining alone.
The safaris were fantastic - thank you Israel for your great stories and always engaging knowledge about the local plants and animals : )
Thank you to all the animals who basically paraded in front of us as if wanting to show off - especially the lions who were actually getting ready for some hunting action. Amazing. We could have stayed there forever. I could not recommend this wonderful lodge more! Go visit, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    7
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Sensational lodge style rooms with luxurious, modern furnishings guaranteed to exceed your expectations.

Wonderful, friendly staff team and fun guides.

The cuisine was exceptional - wonderful evening meal on the deck.

Game drives are a lot of fun - takes a while to reach the area where most wildlife is but we saw more than we imagined we would including Rhinos, Hippos, White Lions, Zebras, antelopes, snakes, deers, elephants, giraffes, birds of prey and we even walked to the cheetahs with two game wardens. The lodge supplied refreshments and blankets for the trips.

The route to the lodge is somewhat tricky and you should definitely print maps rather than relying on gps - signal is limited. Also terrain is more off road and although in a VW Polo I did wonder if we would make it!

Would highly recommend this lodge. Elegant, sophisticated, safari style accommodation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Flybywirejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Had a fabulous 2 night stay at White Lion Lodge earlier in December - wish it could have been longer. The Lodge was positively luxurious, the food & wine good and the staff looked after us very well indeed. It is about 30 mins outside the actual Sanbona Reserve, and then a further drive before getting to the main areas for seeing the animals, but on the way the scenery is fantastic and you do see things like klipspringer, baboons, birds of prey etc, as we did on our way back to the Lodge. The guide, Israel, was brilliant at taking us where the animals were and we saw a great variety, including elephants and dung beetles, although sadly no big cats.
If you're visiting the Western Cape and want to visit a game reserve without going to the Eastern Cape, this is a wonderful place and very good value compared with similar venues.

Room Tip: All 4 suites are much the same - supremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiselton, uk.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lodge was by far the best that we have stayed in. Food was ok and wine selection excellent. Staff very attentive and friendly.
Unfortunately found the trips out on safari too long. To see the big game or any other animals it is at least 1 hour each way, therefore it makes the experience a little too long in comparison with other safaris we have been on.
Although we did see some good game and plenty of flora and fauna, the travel to see the big 5 was to long, because of this it seemed slightly rushed at times when we did get to spot.
Overall not our best experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

As first time visitors to South Africa, White Lion Lodge was our introduction to the whole safari experience and what an experience it was. The Lodge itself was luxurious and comfortable, the staff were delightful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Israel, the ranger, is a gentle soul and his love and deep knowledge of the natural world was evident. He made sure that we saw the best that Sanbona has to offer, from the white lions, fat on their eland kill, rhinos, elephants, buffalo, countless antelopes, to a tiny mouse and the endangered riverine rabibit. The sight of a cheetah family feasting on their Springboch kill six feet from our vehicle will stay with us for ever. Isreal, Libby and Alicia thanks for a truly memorably time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at the White Lion Lodge.

We are so pleased that you allowed yourself to be exposed to the African wilderness and from what we have gathered it seems like you had the most amazing time when you went on the game drives.

I am glad you had such a great experience at our lodge. I have passed your kind comments to all the staff who really appreciates it. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This lodge is a perfect place for relaxation, adventure and a lot more. Beautiful setting, tranquil with all modern interior combined with traditional outside look . Exceeded all my expectation !
Clean , neat and very well designed rooms/cottages. Incredible location and setting.
Very friendly and efficient staff. The ranger Gerry , very knowledgeable . Highly recommended place in my view !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janusz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Many thanks for such a detailed and kind review about the stay that you had here with us. I will be sure to pass it on to all the staff members.

It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that it was one of the best lodging house experiences that you have ever had. What an accolade?

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. I am delighted that you liked your room, our location and above all found our attention to detail flawless.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The White Lion Lodge in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immenstaad, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stay two nights there and it was fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable and lovely.enjoy thesilence on the terrace.all people on the lodge gave the best to realize a pleasant stay. Special thanks to israel,our guide. The game drives were very informative. It was a highlight in our holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArminundGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you had such a memorable stay with us. Your opinion counts a lot and is highly motivating for the entire team. Therefore, it is wonderful to read that you relished the atmosphere and service.

It makes us very happy that you enjoyed a perfect service and relaxing stay with us, as well as appreciated the game drives.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to White Lion Lodge on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
23.2 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
23.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 34 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
23.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
23.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Lodge

Property: White Lion Lodge
Address: on the Sanbona Wildlife Reserve, Montagu 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion Lodge is situated on the Sanbona Wildlife Reserve a 3 hours drive from Cape Town. Sanbona is home to free self-sustaining White Lions, the Big Five and the endangered riverine rabbit. The privately owned White Lion Lodge offers luxury accommodation, exceptional personal service and delicious cuisine. The Lodge lies in the southern part of the Reserve and is set along a tranquil, remote river valley offering an ultimate Karoo experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Lion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing