We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Very enjoyable stay, lovely setting and extremely friendly owners. A bit taken-aback by the dark brown painted walls in the cottage.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

Arrived here late one evening without booking ahead, the owners were very welcoming and friendly, fortunately they had an apartment empty that night, which was very well priced in relation to traditional hotels in the area.

The self contained chalet was very clean and tidy and had all the facilities one would want, aswell as being only a 2 min drive from the various restaurants and bars in the town. The location and setting is great, right next to a little rive, wonderful views of the surrounding mountains a lovely big lawned area with a swimming pool.

The owners had a wealth of local knowledge and couldnt do enough to help us, and with the price you really couldnt go wrong ! Would not hesitate to recommend this real gem to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

My wife and I have fond memories of Montagu and Rainbow Glen. The chalets are clean, they have their own en-suite hot showers and kitchenettes and they are located in pleasant, quiet, leafy surroundings with views of the nearby mountains, but with plenty of shade on a hot day. It was particularly nice to enjoy an early morning breakfast in the outdoor dining area in front of our chalet with ibises calling out from nearby trees. We also spotted an owl for which a nest box had just been installed in the garden. The owners, David and Tara, are very helpful in providing tips and information. They also have three charming and well-behaved dogs (Brutus, Rusty and Tuckshop) who seem to make a point of visiting every guest in turn to say "hello". Several nice hiking trails are within close walking distance, as is a remarkable place called the "Leidam". This is small reservoir constructed for the irrigation of local gardens on an ordinary residential street where hundreds of birds (mainly ibis, but also egrets, herons and others) have spontaneously taken up residence and can be observed at very close quarters from an observation deck.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hyangsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We were here four days and had a really good time: The Rainbow Glen is a calm place, the hosts are friendly, attentive and very helpful! Good price-performance ratio.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alFred_Ottenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Rainbow Glen for 3 nights during September and we had a really fantastic time. We stayed in "Garden Cottage" which is bigger than the other cottages (sleeps 4 people) and has a tv, fridge, microwave etc. and big kitchen and bathroom areas. There is also a big private braai area (lapa) attached to the cottage where we braaied on two out of the three evenings. We payed R500 a night, although some of the smaller cottages, which also look very charming, were around R350 a night. The cottage was very clean and well maintained and our double bed was extremely comfortable. A lovely touch was the bottle of local muskadel and two glasses waiting for us when we arrived! The owners, David and Tara, were really friendly and inviting but basically left us to do our own thing, which is exactly what we wanted! The property is stunning, backing on to the river in Badkloof and looking out at beautiful mountains. There is a big lawn where kids can play and also loads of farm animals (rabbits, chickens, tortoises etc) - only problem is that you are sometimes awoken at the crack of dawn by roosters crowing at the top of their lungs!! At the time of our visit, they'd just installed a new pool which is probably in use by now. There is loads to do in the area - spectacular scenery and lots of great hiking and also rock climbing (Montagu is South Africa's climbing mecca). Of course there are the Montagu hot springs nearby and some good restaurants in town. We visited a number of great wine and cheese farms and a pork butchery as well as some good nearby restaurants recommended by David. He also recommended we take a tractor ride up nearby Arangieskop, where the scenery is apparently spectacular, but we never got round to that - next time! We'll definitely be returning to Rainbow Glen - the quiet, friendly, laid-back atmosphere really suits us!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owly_jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danjov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
1.3 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#11 of 35 in Montagu
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#6 of 27 in Montagu
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Glen Eden Farm
Glen Eden Farm
#10 of 27 in Montagu
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
0.4 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages

Address: 10 Tanner Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: £41 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Glen guest farm is located conveniently close to the Cogmanskloof hiking trails and Rock Climbing crags and has a splendid view of Kanonkop from all of the cottages. It is a great place for couples or families and is child friendly as well as pet friendly. The seven self-catering cottages accommodate between 2 to 8 people each and every cottage has a private veranda and built in braai facilities. Additionally, each cottage has an equipped kitchenette and all linen is provided, including bath towels. There are smaller family chalets, couples chalets and two larger family chalets , perfect for a large family or group of friends (sleeps up to 8). Guests can enjoy the pool on hot summer days as well as a spacious lawn where families can play games or simply relax and enjoy the mountain view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing