We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great end to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Ranked #8 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
“Great end to our holiday”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed at the Koo Karoo self catering cottage It was very spacious and comfortable. It was very clean and Paul and Shirley were the perfect hosts they were very helpful with where to go and what restaurants they had in town. They also directed us to the Spar and also the hot springs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooKaroo, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We are pleased to hear that our self catering cottage was a good venue for you and your friends Jacky during your stay here in Montagu. It was a pleasure to meet all of you and we hope that you may return again one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    40
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
73
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in the Koo Karoo in 2011 and enjoyed it so much that we made it our first port of call when we arrived in South Africa for our 2012 holiday. Paul and Shirley are great hosts and go that extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble, they advise on trips and restaurants and make bookings for you. The rooms are clean, well furnished and comfortable, the breakfasts are great and the wifi an extra bonus. No holiday in South Africa would be complete without a trip to Montagu to see our friends at the Koo Karoo

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHT-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooKaroo, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments Heather about your return visit here at Koo Karoo. We are pleased that you had a successful trip back in South Africa and explored some new places as well as coming back to Montagu. We hope that you and Andy will be back in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed for two nights at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge for B&B in February 2012. We had a warm welcome from Paul and Shirley and were shown to Room 3. This was large and airy with a comfortable bed and was very clean. In the room there was a sofa, a small desk and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. What was unusual was that there was a bath and a separate shower cubicle. Room 3 and several other guest rooms open onto a garden/courtyard giving a private but open feel. There is a large comfortable shared sitting room with plenty of information leaflets and menus for many of the local restaurants - and complimentary wine.

Paul and Shirley are friendly hosts but not intrusive and are very willing to provide information on the town, things to do and where to eat. We ate at Ye Olde Tavern which is nearby on the first night and were so impressed we went back for the second. There is wifi, charged at a nominal R20 for unlimited access and an acceptably fast connection in our room. Breakfast was excellent, well presented, well cooked with a wide variety of items on offer. Breakfast is available during the usual hours but we asked for an earlier time and they happily provided a full cooked breakfast.

We have tried, and failed, to think of some criticism. If you want excellent accommodation and service at a reasonable price in Montagu then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooKaroo, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Many thanks Joanne for your kind comments about your stay here with us at Koo Karoo. It was a pleasure to offer you and your husband suggestions on places to visit and restaurants in the village too. We trust that you had a successful holiday and perhaps one day you may return to Montagu! Kind Regards, Shirley & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, south africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We just loved our stay with Paul and Shirley at Koo Karoo self catering cottage in historic Montagu. The self catering cottage was perfect for 4 adults in 2 bedrooms sharing a large bathroom. The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Paul and Shirley were great hosts, helpful and attentive. The cottage is perfectly situated within walking distance to the centre of town and main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jvdb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooKaroo, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Many thanks Jane & Brent for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your trip to this area and explored lots of new places! It was a pleasure to have you stay and perhaps the next time your sons will be able to complete the rock climbing that they are so interested in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is a lovely little place in a lovely little town (an easy 2 hour drive from CT airport). We stayed in the bigger of the 2 self catering cottages out the back of the main accommodation, and it was perfect for what we needed, 2 nice/large bedrooms, with a large living/kitchen area that was very well equiped. The bathroom is accessed off both bedrooms but that wasn't an issue for us. From inital contact until we left Paul and Shirley made everything easy, and were full of useful info. Great value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodfiendWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Four of us stayed here just one night on our way to Cape Town from PE. Shirley and Paul were very welcoming. We planned to go out for breakfast then decided at the last minute that this would take up to much time so Shriely and Paul put themselves out to provide piles of toast and bottomless pots of tea at he very last minute.

The two bed cottage is very reasonably priced,good beds, tv and heater if needed. The only minor problem was that both bedrooms had a door into the bathroom which could have been a bit embarassing, so sing when you visit the loo!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Lovely little cottage, nice and social for 3-4 people. Little touches like kitchen roll, paper napkins etc make a difference to you feeling at home. Paul and Shirley are friendly and welcoming and available for advice but manage to strike the right balance of leaving you to get on with your trip. Absolute value for money, not the flashest place we stayed in our 3 weeks, but a cute place in the heart of Montagu.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strollinthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kogman & Keisie Guest Farm
0.0 mi away
Squirrels Corner
Squirrels Corner
#14 of 27 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koo Karoo Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koo Karoo Guest Lodge

Property: Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Address: 5 Piet Retief Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koo Karoo Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious en-suite B&B rooms with private entrances. Economy double/twin; queen double and king double. Economy room and Queen room offer tea/coffee facilities, heater/fan and SABC TV. King room offers tea/coffee facilities; modern airconditioning unit and overlooks the garden. Early breakfasts catered for if required! Secluded garden, braai area, gated off road parking and small pool. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Visa & Mastercard accepted. Two self catering facilities with well equipped kitchens and lounge areas with DSTV (30 channels)located on the same site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koo Karoo Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koo Karoo Guest Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing