We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Ranked #10 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helperby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really friendly hosts”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We only stayed in Montagu for one night but found it a lovely little town. We had a local meal (on advice from owners) that was great and the local pubs are very welcoming. Accommodation was better than expected and nice breakfast in the morning. Very good value and owners were extremely welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the hospitality of the restaurant and pubs that the village offers. We hope that you may return to visit one day in the future! With Our Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
76
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, UK
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home and wish we were back at Koo Karoo. Paul and Shirley made us feel so welcome we felt as if we were staying with old friends. We stayed in the self catering apartment which was comfortable and excellent value. Wry thing needed was there and nothing was too much trouble for Paul and Shirley. We will definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend this for a welcoming comfortable stay in a beautiful area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JandB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Many thanks John & Beverley for your kind review. We are so pleased that our self catering apartment was acceptable to you and that you enjoyed re-visiting Montagu and the surrounding area. Next time we will try to arrange a little bit better weather for you! Looking forward to welcoming you back here in the future! Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We really enjoyed our two nights stay here. Shirley and Paul very friendly and helpful hosts. Their recommendations of restaurants very helpful, and spot on. Loved the good breakfast of fruit, fruit juice, yogurts, cereals and hot English breakfast with coffee and tea. Spacious room, very clean and well maintained, with all the necessary. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Many thanks Hein for your positive review. We are pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in Montagu and we look forward to welcoming you on return visits in the future! Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistable UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This guest house offers excellent value for money. The rooms are very clean, spacious and pleasant, though not ultra modern. The people are friendly and pleased to help where necessary. The breakfast is good

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakebruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Many thanks for your positive review of your stay with us. As you rightly say our rooms are not "ultra modern" but we find that they are 'in keeping' with the property which is 114 years old. We are constantly looking to improve and upgrade facilities and will continue to do so. We hope that you may make a return visit to see us in future years. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

After staying in Cape Town a few days to get over jet-lag - 36hr flight from Vancouver BC, Hazel and I started our tour of South Africa.
First stop was the village of Montagu, originally this was to be a 2 night stop but the more we researched we knew we would need more time so increased it to 4 nights. Montagu has lots of B&B's/self catering to select from, we choose the Koo Karoo Guest Lodge.
Hazel being a vegetarian we almost always try for a self catering option where she can get her own food like free range eggs..............
We choose the cottage two bedrooms, and living room which gave us lots of room to spread out, perfect choice. Paul and Shirley went out of there way to give us a ton of tips on walks/hikes and where to eat out.
This is certainly a place we will revisit.

Room Tip: If you have children or need wheel chair access try to get the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italyinjune07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley T, Manager at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here in Montagu and that our suggestions of restaurants and attractions to visit went down well! Thankyou for the positive comments about our cottage accommodation, it would be a pleasure to host you again in the future. We trust the rest of your time in South Africa is enjoyable before your return trip home. With our kind regards to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhausen
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Even though we booked the Koo Karoo Lodge only for one night we had a wonderful stay. Very friendly hosts, Paul and Shirley gave us lots of informations about Montagu, they suggested a nice restaurant within walking distance from the lodge.
We had the garden room - very spacious, clean and quiet. Lovely breakfast in the dining room or on the terrace.
At our next visit to Montagu we hope to enjoy a longer stay at Koo Karoo Lodge and explore the hiking trails.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalelu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Many thanks for your kind review placed on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to assist you during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the hiking trails that Montagu offers. With our best wishes until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Very handy for the main street with shops and places to eat. Montagu is a beautiful little place and felt very safe even after dark. Our room was spacious and clean, quiet at night and a good breakfast either in the dining room or on the terrace. Lovely little pool to cool off in. Paul & Shirley are very helpful hosts without being intrusive. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Kogman & Keisie Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Squirrels Corner
Squirrels Corner
#14 of 27 in Montagu
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koo Karoo Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koo Karoo Guest Lodge

Property: Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Address: 5 Piet Retief Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koo Karoo Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious en-suite B&B rooms with private entrances. Economy double/twin; queen double and king double. Economy room and Queen room offer tea/coffee facilities, heater/fan and SABC TV. King room offers tea/coffee facilities; modern airconditioning unit and overlooks the garden. Early breakfasts catered for if required! Secluded garden, braai area, gated off road parking and small pool. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Visa & Mastercard accepted. Two self catering facilities with well equipped kitchens and lounge areas with DSTV (30 channels)located on the same site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Koo Karoo Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koo Karoo Guest Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing