We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langdam-in-Koo Guest Farm
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at langdam for a weekend. What a treat, Peter the host is amazingly friendly and so unbelievably helpful. For these two city dwellers who love animals, we were in heaven. Pigs, dogs, chickens, a sheep and just the best most tranquil surroundings.

The Apricot Suite:
Wow, it had everything we needed. Champagne glasses, pots, pans, over gloves a microwave. A gorgeous Victorian bath, lovely slightly challenging 2 headed shower. Gorgeous fire place, which warmed the whole suite up. It has a fantastic braai area outside, and you can ask for both braai wood and a bag of pine cones to be put at your suite for a very reasonable amount.

The farm:
It is gorgeous. There is a fantastic trail you can do behind the farm, Eagle trail, what a great hike. Pack snacks and water and marvel at the beauty of the Koo valley. There are animals everywhere, you do get woken by the turkeys and cockrals but it is absolutely gorgeous as you can carry on sleeping if you like. One seems to loose track of time here. The pigs are so much fun to watch. i do in fairness have the biggest pig obsession. so this was simply sublime for me. There is a great dam on the property ( you are able to fish here, however, we did not get around to it). There is a gorgeous lapa where one can braai too. There is also a beautiful swimming pool/ old dam. It is crystal clear. There is a lovely jetty to walk on or have a sundowner on, that extends into the dam. There is also a great little shop on the farm.

Possibly one of the best parts of the weekend, you may be lucky enough too if you are there in Lamb season, was feeding baby lambs. Tarryn from the farm next door, called Peter to see if he had any guests who would like to feed day old lambs. We jumped at the opportunity. Off we went, Tarryn is so friendly. We got given a bottle and went into the little field and bottle fed the day old lambs. Tarryn said to come back any time so we did the following day. We fed the lambs again and were then invited in for a drink for all our "hard" work. The people in the Koo area are incredibly friendly. I would ask Peter if Tarryn has any lambs if you get the opportunity as it was so much fun.

All in all a fantastic weekend. We will definitely be going back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

On the weekend we decided to get away the weather played havoc it was cold, wet and windy. But we were meet with a warm smile, cosy reception area and a few barking dogs. Peter our host was incredibly helpful and we were shown to the honeymoon suite called the Apricot room. The room layout was user friendly, the appliances were modern a four poster bed and a Victorian bath made the suite luxurious. The Farm would be a summer paradise plenty of water with dams, and swimming pools a great braai lapa and plenty of farm animals to keep the youngsters entertained. The Eagle trail looked exciting but we did not venture up the mountain. I would recommend the Farm and the hosts made us feel most welcome. Take the kids unwind and enjoy the beautiful scenery the Koo valley has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I have been here twice already, once just the two of us and once with another couple. Our first time there was a huge success, we stayed in the Apple Cabin and enjoyed walking along the dam, feeding the pigs and just unwinding. The view from our cabin was breathtaking. It did get somewhat cold at night, but an indoor fireplace made the place very warm and cozy.

The cottage was very tidy and clean, bedroom had an en-suite and they provided soap, which most places do not. Very impressed!

The kitchenette had a gas cooker, some pots and pans and a fridge. The fridge was unfortunately warm on our arrival at both our stays, but cooled down with time - I guess it was turned on only shortly before our arrival.

One thing that some might find lacking - there was no TV or radio in our cottage. Granted, the point is to get away from it all, but we always like a bit of background noise in the evening.

Also, there was a motion activated security light right outside our bedroom window. It was fairly windy the first night, and swaying trees caused the light to turn on regularly throughout the night, somewhat interfering with my sleep.

When we returned for our second stay, we requested the same cottage, as it had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. This was confirmed to us and we paid the deposit. On the day before our arrival, we were emailed by the manager, who said that there had been a problem with our booking, and that we had therefore been moved into a single room suite. When I phoned to query this, he was unhelpful and unable to help, saying that other guests who were currently in the cabin we had booked had decided to extend their stay. I eventually spoke to the owner, who managed to sort everything out for us. She apologized and even offered us a bottle of wine compensation. The owners are very friendly and helpful people and apart from the booking incident, we have been very happy at Langdam.

We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Apple Cabin has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Also has a double-bunk bed in the kitchen. This is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We spent 2 nights in Pear Cottage and fortunately, having read Iloveshoesalot's review, took plenty of firewood, our own warm duvet, hotwater bottle and laptop with movies for the evening. We found the lighting rather poor and would suggest installing stronger globes!
The geese and ducks did make a noise and woke us up but that is part of the charm - rather ducks than traffic!
I would love to revisit in the warmer months but we were made very welcome and really enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet I would not recommend Pear Cottage - but if you dont mind the noise made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

OVERALL: We visited in the dead of winter, which is not recommended, as the farm being on the mountain was bitterly cold. The Pear Cottage we stayed in was stunning. All the amenities we needed for self-catering, a fireplace inside and outside undercover braai were perfect. The location is relatively removed from any close towns, so be prepared to stay in for a relaxed weekend. I would suggest visiting in autumn,, spring or summer as there is much more to do!

SERVICE: We were greeted by our friendly hostess, Glenda. She was very informative and helpful and we bought some wood for the first freezing night. A strange thing to me is the notice in the cottage that we need to clean all our dishes and sweep the cottage before we depart. I have never stayed in a place that requires this and usually this is included in the daily rate. A bit weird.

AMENITIES and COTTAGE: Cottage had full cutlery crockery, microwave wine and champagne glasses, stove, toaster, kettle anything and everything you need. No TV. One of the best kitted out self-catering cottages we have stayed at and all the items were very high quality, which was unusual. The cottage itself was modern and of very high standards, the place was super clean when we arrived. We were however only given one extra blanket which was not sufficient and I would recommend bringing an extra blanket yourself it you don't want to freeze! The shower was the worst part of our trip. The water was either scolding hot or ice cold. We only used the shower once as it was unbearable. Not to mentioned the shower pressure, non-existent. Truly horrible!

SURROUNDINGS: The cottages are located on the side of the mountain the the picturesque Koo valley. The owners have about 50 geese. They welcome you when you arrive however beware....they scream about two hours before sunrise and continue until the sun is completely out. This was disappointing as we wanted to sleep in and relax on our weekend away. We ended up being woken up abruptly and unable to return to sleep. The farm also have emus and free range pigs as well as a brown sheep (completely tame) which were a treat to see.

VALUE: We got the accommodation on a deal so it was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here for one night and we had a blast! Hiked up to the orchard and found a an old building which made for great photos at sunset. We swam in the dam (and the pool) and the setup is perfect for family with kids or group of friends getting together. The Koo valley has great farm stalls and wine farms that have not yet been trampled by the masses where one still gets individual attention and pay a reasonable price. Love this place, going back soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were greeted by the very friendly host, Glenda! She shown us around the farm & told us to give her a shout whenever we need something! Lovely cottages,very clean&what a view from the stoep! Very quiet&tranquil...any city slicker's place to break away&take a breather! Thanks Glenda&the rest of Langdam-in-Koo crew! We'll be back for more!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertusBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
89 reviews
27.2 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
1.8 mi away
Anchorage Inn Guest House
Anchorage Inn Guest House
#16 of 27 in Montagu
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
1.7 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#8 of 34 in Montagu
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdam-in-Koo Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdam-in-Koo Guest Farm

Property: Langdam-in-Koo Guest Farm
Address: R318 | Halfway between the N1 and Montagu on the R318, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Langdam-in-Koo Guest Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdam-in-Koo is a working fruit farm 38km from Montagu on the R318 fruit route. We offer self catering cottages and suites. We also have a campsite that welcomes campers and caravans.Our cottages/suites sleep between 2-8 guests and all children welcome. We can accommodate a maximum of 29 guests in self-catering cottages and suites and our campsite can accommodate a maximum 42 guests.All cottages have indoor fireplaces and outdoor braai areas on balconies with views. The campsite is in a natural pine tree forest and each site has electricity shade and grass. The campsite has hot showers and flushing toilets. There isa. Shop on the farm if you forget anything, some cottages have televisions, this is an AlwaysOn Wi-Fi hotspot.Langdam-in-Koo is the place to relax and explore the surrounding areas. Watch the numerous ducks, geese, turkeys from your balcony as you sip a glass of wine, swim in the solar heated pool or fish for bass in the dams or explore the farm on foot or with mountain bikes. Beautiful views, clear skies at night, barbecues on your patio all make for a wonderful experience.We are also close to the historic town of Montagu with the famous hot water springs, museums, old British fort, golf course, Saturday morning farmers market, restaurants, wine tasting, dried fruit etc..We look forward to your visit.Come relax with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Langdam-in-Koo Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing