We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight stay in Montagu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Inn Guest House
Ranked #16 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Perfect overnight stay in Montagu”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I actually booked an incorrect date by one day and Monica said that it was absolutely no problem. She even upgraded us to a larger cottage at no price. We enjoyed relaxing on the front terrace with the stunning view of the mountains. Monica recommended having dinner at a lovely restaurant in town which was very good and very easy to find. We had an excellent night's sleep and were kept comfortable with the overhead fan. Our breakfast the next morning was delicious and served in a beautiful breakfast room filled with African art. My husband, Jon, and I enjoyed our time at the Anchorage Inn and will recommend this to any of our friends who might travel this way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frkerkhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Anchorage Inn is perfectly situated: close enough to the town centre to go in on foot, yet far enough out to feel as though you are surrounded by the magnificent moutain countryside around you. We were in a self-catering family cottage: comfortably furnished with a perfectly adequate kitchenette, though the second bedroom lacked ventilation. (We did mention this to Monica, our very hospitable hostess, and she was going to try and think of a solution, so maybe this problem will be resolved soon.) The garden is lovely, but we do feel they could have done more with the pool area (a few recliners, chairs and a little table would do the trick.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sainitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed only one night at Anchorage Inn Guest House. Next time I will make sure that it will be a longer stay! Everything is really beautiful and very neat. We had a beautiful unit. Unfortunately it was rainy and we couldn't use the veranda. I can just imagine how relaxing it will be to sit there and have a cup of coffee overlooking the mountains. Joop and Monica are really helpful. We had a very nice breakfast with home baked raisin bread and Joop geve us valuable information about our route to Beaufort West. I will definitely make use of them in future again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etresia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Owner at Anchorage Inn Guest House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words - it was a pleasure to have the two of you with us for a short stay. Hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

With my Dutch based tourcompany "DeKaapReizen" I have travelled through South Africa for many years now from Johannesburg to Cape Town with Dutch clients ( about 6 times a year). One of the last stops before arriving in Cape Town is in Montagu. For our overnight stop in Montagu I always take my clients to Anchorage Inn Guest House. It is a very neat and tidy guesthouse. Joop&Monica are wonderfull people and their service is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our unit has thatched roof with Dutch manor façade, which are nice. It has a patio with seats, and leads to a well tended garden. Inside, the room is well kept, clean and fresh. Our unit is fully equipped with kitchen utensils, ovens, cutlery, etc. It has one bedroom (queen size bed inside) and 2 single beds in the sitting room (double up as sofa to watch TV). It is very suitable for families.
The area is very quiet. The town centre and village church are about 5 blocks away. The supermarket is 4 blocks away. The view at the back of the guest house is majestic soaring mountains. The front is a peaceful valley, with mountains at a distance. We were travelling from Cape Town to Kynsna, and chose the slow route 62, so Montagu is where we rested for the night before the great R62 drive.
Service: check in was totally fuss free. Owners are helpful and friendly without being over bearing. Neither are they absent because we know that they are one buzzer away as they live on the premises.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsflorencegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in a beautiful little town. Prompt service. Comfortable rooms promising the best night's rest you will ever have. Great attention to detail. That complimentary drink really made the difference on a cold winter's night

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewhar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have stayed at the Anchorage a number of times and absolutely love it.Rooms are comfortable and characterful, breakfast is delicious especially the boerewurs!
Monica and Joop are great hosts always friendly and have given us help in planning our routes/ itineries.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EILEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
8.5 mi away
Glen Eden Farm
Glen Eden Farm
#10 of 27 in Montagu
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Squirrels Corner
Squirrels Corner
#13 of 27 in Montagu
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn Guest House

Property: Anchorage Inn Guest House
Address: 14A Van Riebeeck Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and comfortable accommodation, secure off-street parking, choice of B&B or self-catering. Warm welcome by hosts who can assist with all travel plans and sightseeing hints. Delicious breakfast, magnificent mountain views, tranquil, safe setting. Every cottage/suite individually decorated,free WiFi access to all guests. Easy walking distance to town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing