We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely intro to Montagu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive House Restaurant and B&B - CLOSED

The Olive House Restaurant and B&B
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, International, European, Greek, Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
469 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Lovely intro to Montagu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Olive House Restaurant found us in the street and welcomed us in to a cosy restaurant with blazing log fire. Such a warm welcome was a fantastic intro to this town. Kati hails from Croatia originally, then spent many years in Germany before settling in South Africa. We opted for the Croatian Platte which offered something different. As we loved our visit to Croatia, this was a treat for us to sample food prepared by a lady from Split! The locals kept us entertained and it was a very pleasant experience. We enjoyed the evening and the local company!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaapie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Headley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

A really pleasant evening under the stars in the coutryard garden! We were made very welcome by George and his team.Nicely cooked steak and tasty potje.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EILEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Hallands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

A cosy restaurant with a nice garden. The food was good and the service was o.k.
Nice shop together with the restaurant.....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kvinna59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed hospitality in Montagu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Kati and George ... Thank you! Your friendliness, excellent food and beautiful setting has made our first ever trip into Montagu, the highlight of this roadtrip! To all travellers ... Highly recommended! We went so far as to book into the B&B - got a funky little room splattered with original oils on canvas displayed on every wall. Very unique. Lovely enclosed courtyard had a very welcome feeling for dinner too. You won't go wrong ....

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

always a great experience with Katie and George, food excellent and warm friendly atmosphere surrounded by beautiful scenery make you want to come back for more

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive House Restaurant and B&B also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing