We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African Game Lodge feedback”
Review of African Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
African Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sunningdale, Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“African Game Lodge feedback”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Essentially it was enjoyable for me, but I am not sure my partner would have been happy had she been with. The place was not as clean and tidy as one would expect on arrival. The kitchen lights were out of order, and most of the lights provided in the tent useless. Rather do not have items around that are not in working order, it leaves a bad impression. One working light is sufficient. Also, cooling equipment is not adequate at all, especially when so hot. For the rest I enjoyed my cycling and the drives I did, most enjoyable, in spite of the spider bite.......

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for leaving feedback for us about Caracal Bush Camp. We have noted your comment about cleanliness and will address this. Regarding the light in the kitchen, it was unfortunate that ants decided to take up residence in the switch but this was rectified when you brought it to our attention. Caracal Bush Camp is designed to provide the basics for you to enjoy the solitude and the solar power installation for lights doesn't allow for too much refridgeration, but we will look into how we can improve this. Regards Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    66
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aufhausen
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After a long, long dirty road we finally reached The African Game Lodge. And it was absolutely amazing. On that day we were the only guests. Feeling this kind of Silence is even in South Africa, I think, unique. Ostriches just walk around your Lodge and they even pick at your window. Funny animals. It’s possible to make a nice ‘braai’ on your terrace. Our choice was to eat inside and it was good. The Managers were very friendly and we had a really nice evening with them. Next time we’ll definitely stay a little bit longer, because this place is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagu, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our son & his wife from UK were amazed at the interior of the cottage, rates very reasonable and a perfect place to unwind.
Game drive expensive at R300 pp.
Fortunately we had a high clearance vehicle and discovered nearly all of the game on the ranch, this ability to self drive is a welcome plus.
Brown "stuff" in the water was unpleasant, understand algae on sides of main water tank could be the problem.
Braai chimney gave eye watering blowback, told the trick is to light the fire as far back as possible; a rotating cowl would make life much easier if mods to the chimney not realistic.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the good and not-so-good about your stay. We will look into your suggestion about the rotating cowl on the outside braai's as we have already identified this when the wind blows a certain way. Oh Nigel, the reservoir where you saw the "floating brown stuff" was filled to put the little fish we rescued from the river when the rock pools dried up last year. And they are thriving on that algae in the healthy, chemical free water! But rest assured, the water we use for the chalets and lodge come from the solar pump bore-hole and closed tanks higher up on the reserve behind the lodge and although brackish like all the water in the area, its been tested and gets a thumb-up. Regards Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

what a fantastic destination to get away from the busyness of life. Wonderful staff, that are knowledgeable about the area, friendly and very helpful. The setting is calming and there is an abundance of walks/cycling areas. Thank you for a great time, wouldn't think twice about going again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had a great time at the Lodge. Thank you so much for a wonderful time, it was so quite and peaceful. We wil definately go back some day. The hosts were fantastic and very friendly, thank you for that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordhoek
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our spur of the moment mid week trip was just brilliant - thank you! Our "tent" was gorgeous and sleep quality excitingly enhanced by two visits from Maggie the magic mongoose! Fortunately she had not been in the river prior to visiting us! All the other wonderful creatures you have, both tame and those in the wild, were as beautiful as Maggie.

We enjoyed the game drive, Adolf, and you have certainly learnt a lot about the area in a short time and guaged very well what our interests were. Thank you. The picnic was delicious too thank you Sarah.

Although we were the only guests, it being the Monday after a terrible weekend weather wise, you all kept us company so nicely. Thank you for everything.

Just one thing we felt could have been a problem for overseas visitors was the lack of soap and shampoo in the bathroom, as travelling with liquids is so difficult these days.

Many thanks and expect visits from our family who loved the sound of the whole experience!

Sorry we missed saying goodbye to Sarah!






  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bossandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our family (my wife, 13-year old and I), stayed for two nights during the Sep school holidays. Great experience. Very friendly staff. They are really in touch with nature and this is contagious. We enjoyed the complete silience, lack of cellphone distraction and good food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
13.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
88 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
14.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#14 of 34 in Montagu
90 reviews
14.3 mi away
Klein Nektar Wine & Olive Estate
14.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Game Lodge

Property: African Game Lodge
Address: Driekuilshoogte Pad, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — African Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a vast valley amidst the spectacular highland mountainous scenery of the Little Karoo, lies African Game Lodge, a private nature reserve where wild animal have a future. Whether you are looking for a relaxing nature break, need to recharge your batteries or you are looking for an active holiday where you can hike & bike in natural surrounds, African Game Lodge is ideally situated, being only 2 ½ hours from Cape Town and just 30 minutes from the magical town of Montagu. Well-appointed thatch cottages, built in traditional Karoo architecture, provide a comfortable retreat where you can relax and look out over the valley, open spaces and surrounding mountains. Each Cottage is equipped with a fireplace for those chilly winter evenings, and the thatched roofs ensures an inviting coolness during the heat of summer. Awake from a good night sleep, and venture out into the healthy mountain air to choose from a variety of activities such as day hikes, short walks, self-drives, Eco & Game Viewing Drives, bird watching, nature exploring, or just sit and absorb the absolute silence and sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your African Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing