We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of African Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
African Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in “Leopard Luxury Tent”. The tent is situated in the bush right at the end of the row of chalets and it overlooks the cheetah camp. It is fitted with a four-poster bed, white linen, a reading corner, an outside deck that allow you to enjoy nature with all the sounds and sights. A stone bathroom has been fitted to the back of the tent with a toilet, shower and has white bath towels. It also has a very small 12 volt powered portable fridge, limited space and not to effective to keep water cool in hot weather. The tent is rented out on a full board, lunch, dinner, bed and breakfast, since it does not have any cooking facilities. The tent was a great experience with a feeling of being in nature, hearing the water, birds and the frogs. When I made the reservation I spoke to Liezl, and later when I confirmed the reservation to Sarah. Both said on arrival we will be given a lunch and dinner the evening and breakfast the morning. When we arrived around 12h00 we did not get lunch. Luckily we had some snacks to eat and had to wait for dinner served at 19h00. We went to see the cheetahs and had a brief talk by Liezl about them. Then she fed them and we had a photo opportunity. We were also privilege to feed a small bushbuck with a bottle of milk. We went on a self-drive nature/game drive. We paid a R100 and were given a map where we were allowed to drive. We saw Eland, Wildebeest, Kudu, Ostrich, Oryx, baboon and a tortoise. The organised nature/game drive cost R300pp if you go with the game ranger on their vehicle, I do not think it would be value for money for what you are able to see. We had a great experience but next time we will rather stay in a self-catering chalet as you are able to make your own food or can have a braai on your stoep the evening. With a full board your rely on what they serve you to eat. For dinner we had soup, a big portion of chicken, veggies and tomato salad and an apple pie with ice-cream for dessert. We took our pudding to the tent and enjoyed it with coffee in bed. The breakfast consists of a bowl of dice fruit salad, banana muffin, bacon and eggs and self-helped coffee or tea. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend a self-drive nature/game drive and go for the option of self-catering in one of the chalets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in the very cosy luxury tent at the African lodge and enjoyed every minute of it. The crew is super helpful, the 3 course home made meals were always a perfect end of an amazing day with hiking, swimming in the pool and watching wildlife. Thank you! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nireus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Essentially it was enjoyable for me, but I am not sure my partner would have been happy had she been with. The place was not as clean and tidy as one would expect on arrival. The kitchen lights were out of order, and most of the lights provided in the tent useless. Rather do not have items around that are not in working order, it leaves a bad impression. One working light is sufficient. Also, cooling equipment is not adequate at all, especially when so hot. For the rest I enjoyed my cycling and the drives I did, most enjoyable, in spite of the spider bite.......

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for leaving feedback for us about Caracal Bush Camp. We have noted your comment about cleanliness and will address this. Regarding the light in the kitchen, it was unfortunate that ants decided to take up residence in the switch but this was rectified when you brought it to our attention. Caracal Bush Camp is designed to provide the basics for you to enjoy the solitude and the solar power installation for lights doesn't allow for too much refridgeration, but we will look into how we can improve this. Regards Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After a long, long dirty road we finally reached The African Game Lodge. And it was absolutely amazing. On that day we were the only guests. Feeling this kind of Silence is even in South Africa, I think, unique. Ostriches just walk around your Lodge and they even pick at your window. Funny animals. It’s possible to make a nice ‘braai’ on your terrace. Our choice was to eat inside and it was good. The Managers were very friendly and we had a really nice evening with them. Next time we’ll definitely stay a little bit longer, because this place is worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our son & his wife from UK were amazed at the interior of the cottage, rates very reasonable and a perfect place to unwind.
Game drive expensive at R300 pp.
Fortunately we had a high clearance vehicle and discovered nearly all of the game on the ranch, this ability to self drive is a welcome plus.
Brown "stuff" in the water was unpleasant, understand algae on sides of main water tank could be the problem.
Braai chimney gave eye watering blowback, told the trick is to light the fire as far back as possible; a rotating cowl would make life much easier if mods to the chimney not realistic.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the good and not-so-good about your stay. We will look into your suggestion about the rotating cowl on the outside braai's as we have already identified this when the wind blows a certain way. Oh Nigel, the reservoir where you saw the "floating brown stuff" was filled to put the little fish we rescued from the river when the rock pools dried up last year. And they are thriving on that algae in the healthy, chemical free water! But rest assured, the water we use for the chalets and lodge come from the solar pump bore-hole and closed tanks higher up on the reserve behind the lodge and although brackish like all the water in the area, its been tested and gets a thumb-up. Regards Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

what a fantastic destination to get away from the busyness of life. Wonderful staff, that are knowledgeable about the area, friendly and very helpful. The setting is calming and there is an abundance of walks/cycling areas. Thank you for a great time, wouldn't think twice about going again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had a great time at the Lodge. Thank you so much for a wonderful time, it was so quite and peaceful. We wil definately go back some day. The hosts were fantastic and very friendly, thank you for that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
13.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
21.1 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
14.2 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#7 of 35 in Montagu
148 reviews
11.7 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#13 of 35 in Montagu
91 reviews
13.9 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 35 in Montagu
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Game Lodge

Address: Driekuilshoogte Pad, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: £58 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — African Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a vast valley amidst the spectacular highland mountainous scenery of the Little Karoo, lies African Game Lodge, a private nature reserve where wild animal have a future. Whether you are looking for a relaxing nature break, need to recharge your batteries or you are looking for an active holiday where you can hike & bike in natural surrounds, African Game Lodge is ideally situated, being only 2 ½ hours from Cape Town and just 30 minutes from the magical town of Montagu. Well-appointed thatch cottages, built in traditional Karoo architecture, provide a comfortable retreat where you can relax and look out over the valley, open spaces and surrounding mountains. Each Cottage is equipped with a fireplace for those chilly winter evenings, and the thatched roofs ensures an inviting coolness during the heat of summer. Awake from a good night sleep, and venture out into the healthy mountain air to choose from a variety of activities such as day hikes, short walks, self-drives, Eco & Game Viewing Drives, bird watching, nature exploring, or just sit and absorb the absolute silence and sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your African Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing