We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the animals and the guests are loved!”
Review of African Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
African Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spend a wonderful weekend under the stars of the Little Karoo night sky, away from mobile phones and iPads at the African Game Lodge.
Mandy and Len, Leigh Ann and Siyabonga are very kind hosts and guides that share their love for the environment and the wildlife in this conservation area, whilst catering for their guests in a genuine and no-nonsense way. Off the grid and solar powered, this lodge is a clear example how sustainability and tourism can enforce each other. Don't expect spa's and hair dryers, but recharge your personal battery in the peaceful and stress-free nature.

We met all animals but our time was too short to see the bushman paintings, so we will definitely return to visit those and to experience a night (or 2) in the Caracal Bush camp.
When you go there, check out their current projects at the 'Pack for A Purpose' website, so that you can support their activities in the local community and their animal rehabilitation and awareness center.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jolande v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for African Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We loved our stay at African Game lodge. Emma and Sadie's (the 2 ostriches) visits were a highlight, as was the mongoose. Loved the nature drive with picnic lunch. The stars were amazing here. The cottage was very comfortable and we loved braaing on the stoep with only the sound of the crackling fire and the frogs as company... Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We loved our stay the hosts were friendly and hospitable. We would of liked more time to explore. Worth the drive and road was good condition. The views were spectacular and the game dtive most informative. You felt oike you were far away from the busy world we live in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

For my birthday this year, I wanted to take a trip to cango caves. To break up the trip, I was looking for a place to stay about 1/2 way between Cape Town and the caves and after much research, I found the African Gsme Lodge. My husband and I decided to stay in the caracal bush camp for something a little different and we are so glad we did!

If you are looking for somewhere to just get away from the real world and get in touch with nature and you don't mind roughing it a bit, this is a great place to do it. If you are the kind of person who needs luxury, this isn't for you. Having said that, the tent we stayed in had a comfy bed with clean crisp linens and a hardwood floor. Outside the tent was a lovely balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the dam. Below there is a proper bathroom with a flushing toilet, a shower and sink. Taking a shower was a bit tricky as it was pretty much impossible to keep the water warm....it was either hot or cold for the most part but that just added to the experience, in my opinion! Also below is a little kitchen with a gas stove with two burners. Was a bit surprised that there wasn't a sink to wash dishes but there was a portable basin with water not too far away. There is a large fire pit with a grill basket for cooking meat and/or veg. Add some vino and voila...you have a great meal with very little effort.

The caracal bush camp is VERY secluded with no electricity. However you are provided with solar lanterns and we also brought our own. Being so far away from lights made star gazing spectacular. The night sky blanketed in stars was truly a magnificent sight to behold.

It is very quiet in the day time hours but once the sun goes down you are treated to a symphony of frogs, crickets, and birds and it gets pretty loud which made it a bit difficult to fall asleep but again, all part of the adventure!!

Our thanks to Leigh-ann who gave us a warm welcome and had a picnic basket ready for us complete with cuppy cakes and a birthday card...what a lovely surprise! Also many thanks to the kind gentleman who took us out to the camp...his name escapes me but I remember it means "thank you" in another language!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank azhootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Overall very good experience.
Far enough away from the hustle but close enough to home.
Friendly hosts
.................................................................................................

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A perfect, quiet place with big individuality, wonderful for those who look out for a peaceful, natural environment and no commercial kick. White African chalets are comfortable and spacious, meals are delicious and nature plus animals are beautiful.
We would do it again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were surprised at how far from montagu the lodge is however the road has been newly graded and much improved. We enjoyed our 3 days and spotted some great wildlife on the game drives. Our hosts, Mandy and Len were good fun, very hospitable and knowledgeable about all aspects of wildlife and conservation. We found it very restful. Janet and Geoff hudson


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoffrey & Jane... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
13.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
91 reviews
14.0 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
567 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#14 of 35 in Montagu
91 reviews
14.2 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#5 of 35 in Montagu
402 reviews
13.2 mi away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#7 of 35 in Montagu
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Game Lodge

Address: Driekuilshoogte Pad, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: £58 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — African Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a vast valley amidst the spectacular highland mountainous scenery of the Little Karoo, lies African Game Lodge, a private nature reserve where wild animal have a future. Whether you are looking for a relaxing nature break, need to recharge your batteries or you are looking for an active holiday where you can hike & bike in natural surrounds, African Game Lodge is ideally situated, being only 2 ½ hours from Cape Town and just 30 minutes from the magical town of Montagu. Well-appointed thatch cottages, built in traditional Karoo architecture, provide a comfortable retreat where you can relax and look out over the valley, open spaces and surrounding mountains. Each Cottage is equipped with a fireplace for those chilly winter evenings, and the thatched roofs ensures an inviting coolness during the heat of summer. Awake from a good night sleep, and venture out into the healthy mountain air to choose from a variety of activities such as day hikes, short walks, self-drives, Eco & Game Viewing Drives, bird watching, nature exploring, or just sit and absorb the absolute silence and sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your African Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing