We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montagu Springs - Plettenbergs sad state”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montagu Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place has sadly really gone down :( We were told that the large Plettenbergs were being reburnished, and when we arrived were sadly disappointed, Peeling paint, unclean, i dont think a brush had been taken under the beds for months. No towels. After spending over R200 on towels we were told that we could have paid R30 deposit and got towels and no extra cost, would have been nice if somebody had told us up front. We discovered that what they are calling refurbishing is replacing bath with shower, new stove and curtains - everything else including the frying pan we couldnt use is as tacky as ever.

The security wasnt managing noise at all and at midnight we had to go out and ask people to please quiet down.

There was an additional cost to use the pool, really? and then when we went to Avalon springs we were shuffled like cattle through to a pool now blocked off from the hotel that all the day trippers use, at R50 per person.

Sadly i wont be back and wont be recommending it either!

It was my birthday and one of the most disappointing venues i have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: If you want a relaxing time away rather book into the hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooziecapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your response,

We treat all manners of feedback from our guests in high regard - Particularly if you had certain expectations as it was your birthday.

We will do a thorough investigation into the state of your room - can you remember what number it was?

Apart from that, our staff should have been more clear regarding towel allocation - this will be discussed with top management.

Regarding noise, Montagu Springs is a place for relaxation and for family fun - we will take note of guests that tend to lean more toward the latter and will make sure noise levels are kept to a minimum at night.

It sounds like our Golden Terraces chalets would have better suited your stay as they are a little more secluded.

Once again, thank you for your review - all matters will be discussed.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Montagu Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Whilst driving along the Garden Route with no intention of stopping my friend spotted a small sign for Montagu Springs which she had vaguely heard of , as we were in no great hurry we went to have a look.
So glad we did we parked & got a day ticket for 45zar & hired some towels & spent a wonderful few hours relaxing , swimming in the warm natural spring waters.It was a week day so the place wasn't crowded.
We spoke to people staying in the various types of accommodation ( hotel , self catering cabins) who said they were having a great time there.
There were activities & slides , crazy golf for children. Areas for picnics , bar-b-ques as well as the bars & cafes.
The hotel spa looked good but unfortunately that will have to wait for next time.
So glad we didn't just drive on

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babooshkaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you stopping over in Montagu and for enjoying the facilities we have available! We look forward to welcoming you to Montagu Springs on your next trip to our area - perhaps next time you would consider staying over with us.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Whether you are just wanting to retreat from city life, or planning a family holiday, Montagu Springs Resort will cater to your needs. We stayed in a Plettenberg during the Route62 Harley Davidson Rally hosted by the Free Chapter Cape Town. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and convenient. Reception staff was friendly and efficient, making our stay here most enjoyable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Tim B,
Thank you very much for the positive review. The Route 62 Rally was a huge success and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2015 for the next Route 62 Rally.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Beds are in a very bad state with a conk in the middle and this was the case for each of our beds and we rented three chalets, so can safely say that it was not a 'once off'. Stayed there in September 2013 and quite frankly neither my parents or I would stay there again. The spring was lovely and warm and that was abuot the only good thing aside from the scenery. Will spend our money elsewhere next time. Rather sad as I had good childhood memories of the resort which are now spoilt by the recent trip there.

Room Tip: Rather stay at the Avalon Springs Hotel which is adjacent to the resort and has the same owners, muc...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capetown1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Cape Town 1001,
Thank you for your review. We have recently upgraded our chalets and the relevant beds and mattresses have been attended to. We would appreciate the opportunity to invite you back to experience the refurbished units.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have just spent two nights at Montagu Springs and found it to be absolutely beautiful. The scenery is unrivalled and the chalet (Golden Terraces) was spotless and comfortable. Staff, wherever we came across them, were friendly and helpful. DSTV is provided, as well as aircon should you wish it. Thank you all for a super stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Lydia e, thank you very much for the positive review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Resort was easy to find and the drive there was splendid.
Check-in was quick and friendly. The security at the entrance at the resort is adequite but he was unable to find our name on his arrivals list...
I booked one of seven private The Villas. And I must say I was glad that I opted for the bit more expensive option. The Villas are situated very close to the Mountain, giving you a fantastic view of the Resort and surroundings. The Villa was fully catered which was awesome! Private parking right by the Villa. The Villa is very open plan and very pleasant. The fully equiped kitchen is great and very modern in design. A nice round dining table next to the kitchen counter and the MOST confortable couches by the flat screen TV. The main bedroom has a en-suite and the second bathroom has the other bathroom. Everything was neat and clean and Housekeeping are quick and efficient. They move like spies and quickly clean when your at Avalons waterslide (super Tube). I will definitely go back again. But would like to experience the Mountain Chalets that sit high against the Mountain.

Room Tip: ONLY book the Villas or Mountain chalets, I stayed in Villa 306
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you Michael for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked into a large plettenbergs. It was disgusting. Dirty,stank of smoke,very dingy. Everything old and dilapidated. We were disgusted to even stay there. They are so expensive. Just like a trailer park. We will never return to montagu springs!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Michelle...we would very much like to invite you back for a complimentary stay in one of our recently upgraded units. You will be most pleasantly surprised. Please be so kind as to contact rob@singergroup.co.za who will assist in arranging your return visit.
Many thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
1.6 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 35 in Montagu
342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Little Sanctuary
Little Sanctuary
#9 of 27 in Montagu
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Springs Resort

Address: Uitvlucht Street, Montagu, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range: £50 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montagu Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break from city life to unwind at the peaceful Montagu Springs Resort situated just two hours from Cape Town in Montagu. Select one of over 100 fully equipped self-catering chalets with direct access to hiking trails, heated and cool swimming pools, hot springs, and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Montagu Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing