We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset Lodge
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I have been to Somerset Lodge twice, our first experience being so lovely we simply had to go back (with out daughter)! Dave and Michael are both friendly, helpful and would go to the ends of the earth to make us the guests comfortable and happy. Their attention to detail, the decor, the garden, the rooms, the breakfasts nothing less than superb. You actually dont want to leave. I would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone. We had such a lovely relaxing time on both occasions, thank you so much!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
95
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

After 8 nights of sleeping at different lodges, it was a delight coming to Somerset Lodge. The place is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The owner is very hospitable and made us feel like we were at a home away from home, offering us the best possible rooms he could. The room had everything we needed an a really comfortable bed and a great shower. I was most pleased to wake up in the morning and find that the kettle already had water to make coffee, and in the fridge there was a little jug of milk. I have never found this anywhere else. There are two cute little puppies who run around and entertain you. The lodge has a pool outside the room we stayed in and it was amazing to sit outside at night by the poolside and watch the stars. If you are in Montagu, stay here!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RionaArjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

From the moment I signed the visitors' book, I knew my stay would be happy, comfortable,and cheery. David's hospitality was warm and he spared no effort in assisting me even with the challenge of my Smartphone. My suite was beautifully appointed and comfortable and my every need was taken care of ( and with a cheery smile). I can recommend this property I will visit again and again. Aideen O'Mara

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aideen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Thank you to David for his warm welcome . The room was large, confortable ans nicely decorated. the breàkfasts are really over the average, everything fresh and Very good. Quiet place in a nice garden.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great place to stay! David was very friendly and helpful! If in the area again, i' d be staying there! I stayed for one night and did not take a breakfast, so i can' t comment on this topic. i got very good tips from David on what route to drive towards Capetown! Thanks for that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoergAc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The (self catering) cottage in the Somerset Lodge is comfortable and David is a very enjoyable host. Elaborate cooking is not advisable (the electric cooking unit is somewhat primitive), but making eg a salad is quite ok. Somerset Lodge is in a quiet area of Montagu, walking distance from the centre

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rein G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erftstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

A very nice host, in a very nice house. Everything was all right. The breakfast was wonderful.
The slept very good in a quiet atmosphere .There isn't more to say, it was really okay .It was fine to have the garage nearby in the room.




  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Winfried K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
13.9 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 34 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#5 of 34 in Montagu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Lodge

Property: Somerset Lodge
Address: 4 Thomson Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Lodge is set in a gorgeous English country garden against a backdrop of magnificent mountains, offers luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Our swimming pool, situated in its own secret garden, invites guests to relax and unwind, and is the perfect antidote to city stress. We are situated a mere two minutes walk from the Montagu Nature Garden, and our garden is visited by a large variety of bird species. Our rooms are tastefully decorated with every conceivable home comfort, and our linen is of the finest 100% cotton percale. All our garden rooms are en-suite, and are equipped with Satellite TV (2 channels), Air Conditioners - a welcome tray with tea and coffee, and bar fridges. All rooms have their own private entrances and patios, with braai facilities. In the morning a full breakfast is served in our dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Somerset Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing